We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Ranked #252 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Gelli R.C.T
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location and nothing else”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Apart from the terrific location I cannot really find anything positive to say about this hotel. Everything ran smoothly when we checked in we were in room 316. When we opened the door my heart sank, 3 single beds where we had requested a double, no bath or proper shower, it was like a wet room if you had a shower you had to paddle to use the toilet (See photo) The second day we were there we asked the lady receptionist where the bus stop was, she pointed with her finger and then immediately carried on her conversation with another member of staff - really ignorant.
Breakfast downstairs was adequate but it would have been nicer if the waiter replenishing the food was dressed more appropriately than jeans and a tee shirt, I can't recall any other hotel where the dining room staff have not worn a shirt and trousers.
All in all a great holiday just spoiled by the accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid room 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelligirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    177
    130
    66
    47
See reviews for
105
177
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and was amazed to find it so well situated. The piazza in front looked as if it could hold hundreds of people and was surrounded by the Acadamia Gallery, a museum and a church facing the duomo!

Room was cleaned daily and staff helpful. Breakfast was plentiful.

Suggest you keep window closed as a mosquito will keep you awake for ages!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived with a pre-paid reservation for 2 rooms, family of 5, for 3 nights. Upon arrival it was discovered that the reservation was not pre-paid & there were no rooms available for our first night, which was a Friday. The owner of the hotel promptly contacted our travel agent & found out where the mistake had been made. The owner then found us rooms at another hotel. He paid for the rooms as well as two taxis for us & our luggage. He was totally professional & handled the situation wonderfully. the next two nights we returned to the hotel & enjoyed it very much. Le Due Fontane is small & personable. Most important, caring & professional staff. Great location & breakfast is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElkaPoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were travelling with another couple and stayed for 4 nights from 18th Sept.
the staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms were very clean and the location was
excellent we would definately stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanta_dicorato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from 10th Aug2013. the location of hotel was only 5 min to the dumo. the staff was friendly , responsible and helpful. You can use free internet from Lobby.it is really near center of Florence and all historical sight.breakfast was good and also they serve fresh fruit. the room was clean . the air condition was working properly. from train station you should take bus no.6 or 4 to get the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojtaba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is in a GREAT location, really close to the dome which is basically at the centre of the city. We had rooms overlooking the pretty square that the hotel is situated in, which was an interesting view. The breakfast was really lovely, lots of variety, and there is a really nice Gelateria (or ice cream shop) downstairs, which is handy. The rooms are clean and spacious, and we had no problems with mould or cracks like some of the other reviewers have had... and we had three different rooms as we travelled as a group. There are lots of stairs, however there is a good lift available for floors 2-5. The first floor has no lift, though, so if you don't want to walk up any stairs then make sure you get a room on the 2nd floor or above.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a very good views. If you cannot/do not want to travel up any stairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were moved here for our first night in florence due to a problem with our room at a hotel around the corner, the staff were very friendly and helpful unlike the original hotel we had booked and made our stay in florence more enjoyable after a bad start. We were lucky to get a room with a balcony overlooking the square and just wish we could have stayed here for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 88NicH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#174 of 412 in Florence
178 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#201 of 412 in Florence
649 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#141 of 412 in Florence
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#241 of 412 in Florence
416 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#154 of 412 in Florence
448 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#278 of 412 in Florence
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Due Fontane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Due Fontane

Property: Hotel Le Due Fontane
Address: Piazza della Santissima Annunziata 14, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Due Fontane 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le due fontane is a three star hotel in the real historical center of Florence.Between museums and shop s you can walkig everyvere, we waith you Next time you visit Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Due Fontane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Due Fontane Florence
Le Due Fontane Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing