We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best overall!!!”
Review of Hotel Merlini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Merlini
Ranked #233 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2012

100% happy with everything!! Best hostel in Italy. Yes, Book here! The cleanliness is super. Great baths. The breakfast is like a restaurant. Fresh cut fruit! Very charming! Close to everything!! Train station and all the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msaccamango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 332 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

+helpful and friendly owners - family Puzzo :-)
+pitoresque surroundings
+nice and clean rooms with historical athmosphere /furniture, ceilings/
+close to railway station, historical center /S.Lorenzo, .../, central market
+good choise

/-/hotel is on the 3-th floor withouth lift - no problem for us

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Is the first time in my life that at I write a review... But, the owner of the hotel is so kind that I didn't have any choice!!!
The italian breakfast is a very sweety brekfast. My wife likes salty breakfast. She asked the owner, if he has something salty. The owner answered very politely that not. After 2 min, he arrived with a dish of italian cheese that he took from his own fridge!!!
That is the secret of this hotel! They do everything in order that the customer will be happy!!!
Furthermore the hotel is in the heart of florence and 5 min walk from the train station.
I hope that you will enjoy your stay as we did. Ciao!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colombiano1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a great stay at Hotel Merlini in the centre of Florence. It's close to the market, friendly owner, clean rooms and always willing to help. Great place for young and old people. I will definetely come back there. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Signore Rosario and his wife and son, and grandmother host you in the lovely, historic Merlini...close to the city center and railway, with a view of the duomo from many of the bedrooms. Terrazo tile, marble, gracious breakfast room newly refurbished, and beautifully tiled bathrooms are the newest additions to the place. The hallmark, though, of the experience is the kind and helpful family to see to your well-being! I have enjoyed seeing improvements to the rooms over the years...screens allow fresh air, or on hot days, use air condioning.
If you can walk up the stairs and enjoy an authentic family-run place, Merlini is a fantastic value and a delightful accommodation, close to everything. If you need an elevator or a mint on your pillow, keep looking.

Room Tip: See if they have a room overlooking the duomo side...if not, the garden school side is nice, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yippeiokiyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place caught us off guard at first - although it's very close to the train station it was a little hard to find. We were looking for an obvious hotel sign like the other hotels, but because it just small and on the fourth floor, it's an inconspicous sign that says 'Albergo Merlini'. We walked all the way up and when we arrived and rang the bell we still weren't sure if we were in the right place. A little old lady who didn't speak English greeted us and immediately gave us a room key without even asking who we were. We thought that was very odd. Later in the day there was a guy who spoke English who did take our information.
The room was simple, but we did have a balcony with a nice view. The hotel is quiet and in a very convenient location walking distance to the train and all tourist areas. We were only one block from a laudromat to do some laundry. The breakfast room is beautiful and the owner will make you fresh cappuccinos or espressos right there. He told us how he built that room himself and it took him 10 years!
A couple things to beware of - our room was close to the family living quarters, and the grandma does smoke; we could smell it wafting into our room. We were room #4 and the shower is not separated from the beday/toilet, so I found showering very awkward.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilliannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hotel Merlini is a great place to stay. It is run by a family and Mr. Rosario is especially very helpful. He gave us useful travel advice about places / times to visit and also made a few phone calls to tour operators on our behalf. The only minus point is that you have to walk up three floors to the hotel and if you have a lot of luggage, that could be a problem. For us, Rosario even offered to carry one of our (three) suitcases up! Free wireless internet, clean toilets and a comfortable bed in a great location. I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6; it has an attached bath and toilet; and a view of the Dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#167 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#193 of 410 in Florence
701 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#163 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#165 of 410 in Florence
273 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#225 of 410 in Florence
749 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#124 of 657 in Florence
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlini

Address: Via Faenza 56, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $71 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Merlini 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Barbera Palace dates from 1700. Inside this lovely building one can find the Hotel Merlini which has been there since the end of W.W.II. The Hotel is located in the heart of the old city of Florence, a short distance from the Central Station Santa Maria Novella. It is also very close to Piazza del Duomo and the Palace of Congress. This favorable position will permit one to visit the old city on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Merlini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Merlini Hotel
Albergo Merlini Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing