We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job nicely”
Review of Hotel Merlini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Merlini
Ranked #226 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Chosen largely for its proximity to the railway station, Hotel Merlini provided what was needed - a comfortable clean room to sleep in after a tiring day trekking around Florence. I'd call it more of a pensione than a hotel, in that it's on the fourth floor of a block that has other hotels on each floor, and it's family-run, but who cares really!

The family are very friendly and helpful, and different members appear at various times of day - gran does the day shift and lets you in, but probably best not to ask her too much about the wifi! Apart from gran, English is no problem.

The room (number 3) was quiet, though in the summer an open window might have been a prob as there was an aircon unit out in the courtyard giving off quite a drone. Beds were very firm, but we slept ok. Bathroom a bit cramped but fine, and everywhere really clean. Probably not a room you'd want to spend much time in during the day, but I guess you could always watch TV if you've had too much culture in the city.

The free wifi worked fine and is a bonus based on experiences elsewhere in Tuscany.

Breakfast was fine for 5 euros - not much choice, but fruit, pastries and cereal, and good coffee.

Hotel Merlini is in the same street as the Trattoria Nerone, which does good food at decent prices - handy to pop out to, especially if it rains.

Finally the price was reasonable - Laterooms rate was about 90 euros per night including breakfast.

I'd definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Dome, if that matters to you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewForestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Merlini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 332 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Beyond my expectation. Everything was just perfect. The host Rosario and his family are always ready to welcome and help you with the biggest smile on their face. We booked a voluble room for three nights but they gave us a family room with 3 twin beds with no extra charge. The room is huge and authentic, super clean and the beds are firm and supportive. The breakfasts are included in the price with in a buffet format.

It's also close to everything. We walked everywhere even we all have back problems. But be aware, the Google map locates it wrong! It's on the opposite side of what the map shows! The hotel is on the top floor of the building. Although the outside of the bldg doesn't look too appealing, however, it doesn't matter anyway!!!
We would like to call it our Firenze home. We keep talking about the sweet smile from Rosario, his son and his mom. We just left, but we are already missing it there!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyctian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

the hotel owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and bright. The location was perfect for walking to the train station only 3mins.
Really recommend Hotel in florence.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecile725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Hotel Merlini was our favorite hotel of our 10-day Italy trip. The owner was very friendly and tremendously helpful with everything from directions to Internet connection to restaurant suggestions. The room was spacious, clean, and bright. The location was perfect for walking to and from the train station and for easy walking to the sites. The 80 some stair steps didn’t bother us at all. My husband and our 11-year-old would break out singing “High Hopes” at the second landing where the rubber tree plant stood. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Merlini again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Loved the hotel. The place and the people were charming. From our room, we could open the shutters and see El Duomo and hear the distant murmurs of life in Florence. It's the perfect place for those that want to stay in comfort, but avoid sheltered 5 star hotels that keep you from feeling close to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spillihpnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We're in our upper 20's and didn't want to spend a fortune on hotels while in Florence. Hotel Merlini was an excellent find. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station and within walking distance of many attractions. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are bigger than most we stayed in on our trip. The family owners only speak a little bit of English, but are VERY friendly and will help you however they can.

If you are picky, then beware of the following things. You will have carry your luggage up 3 flights of stairs to get to the hotel. You may hear minimal noise in the hallways and from the water in the pipes. There are no room keys, so you have to ring the bell to be let in any time you leave. This also means there is a curfew at night, which I think was 1am. None of these things were a problem for us. There is an extra charge for breakfast, but there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby which I would suggest going to unless you prefer the convenience of eating at the hotel.

If you want reasonable accommodations at a good price, then I strongly recommend Hotel Merlini.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abe_Froman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My son and I really enjoyed our recent stay at Hotel Merlini. The rooms have a lovely character and charm, the family who run the hotel are very helpful and friendly, especially Rosario who doesn't hesitate in carrying your luggage up the stairs and makes a great coffee for you at breakfast! The location is wonderful, being a quick walk to the railway station and only a few minutes to Il Duomo. There are many cafes and restaurants closeby the hotel. The value for money was excellent and I will certainly stay again on future trips to Florence.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#169 of 411 in Florence
431 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#184 of 411 in Florence
699 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#166 of 411 in Florence
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#141 of 411 in Florence
1,031 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#167 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#125 of 656 in Florence
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlini

Address: Via Faenza 56, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $73 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Merlini 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Barbera Palace dates from 1700. Inside this lovely building one can find the Hotel Merlini which has been there since the end of W.W.II. The Hotel is located in the heart of the old city of Florence, a short distance from the Central Station Santa Maria Novella. It is also very close to Piazza del Duomo and the Palace of Congress. This favorable position will permit one to visit the old city on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merlini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Merlini Hotel
Albergo Merlini Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing