We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Toscana heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza La Torricella
Ranked #418 of 662 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a wonderful, clean, family run hotel with friendly staff. Relax, enjoy a bottle of vino under a peacefull starlight Tuscan night sky and enhale the fragrance of a century old Wisteria. In the morning stroll 3 minutes to Gallozzo and take a short bus journey to Florence. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyLangerOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 55 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

My wife fell in love with La Torricella -- I had stayed there once before with our children about 2 years ago and was glad to see it was still the same warm and wonderful place it had been. Very caring staff/owners have done a eonderful job keeping this place up and caring for their customers. As indicated by my wife, we will be back in the summer to enjoy the tranquility -- this last trip was about the museums and shopping, next time it's about the bliss of doing nothing... (food and drink excepted of course...)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

i have been there for 3 days ,the place is amazing,swimming pool beautiful view.....big rooms....the breakfast is good and the owner is very friendly,you fell like you're home......

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selvaggia_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

La Torricella is a great place run by a great couple. The property is located on the outskirts of Florence and you will need to walk 10 minutes to a bus stop to catch a bus for a 30 minute bus ride to the city center. At night the route to the bus stop gets eerily deserted. But, for the price and for the setting, it could be worth it - depending on what you are looking for.

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2007. We arrived late at night from Milan and we took a bus from Florence SMN station. We got confused and we got down at a bus stop which was quite some distance away from the place. However, the husband of the lady who runs the place drove to pick us up. And we were given a great room on the ground floor with a small kitchenette. The lady gave us freshly squeezed orange juice for our little daughter upon arrival. Very nice small gestures.

The breakfast is sumptuous. The place has good views. All in all a very pleasant stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

This was a great find and a fabulous place to stay when wanting to visit Florence yet stay in the Tuscan hills. Lisa and her family were warm and friendly with a great attitude. Upon arrival our family was welcomed warmly and the gracious Lisa happily upgraded us to their apartment as it was not taken for the two nights of our stay. The rooms were spacious, very clean and had views of both private gardens and of the Tuscan HIlls. A nice place for peace and quiet after the tourist jam of Florence.
Breakfast is average, but forgiven once you immerse yourself in the tranquility.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Me and my husband went there for a romantic week-end.
we had a great time, our room was superb with a wonderfull four-poster and a terrific view on the countryside .
The beauty of Florence is just a step from there, the bus stop is not so near almost 500 meters but for us was not a problem we liked to a have a little walk .
Breakfast was superb the owner cooked a cake just for the two of us thank you Lisa :-))))
We will certainly return there in summer 'cose we want to try the pool !!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bisaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We are a family of 5 and all had a fantastic holiday in Tuscany. La Torricella was perfect for us, Stayed a week there in their apartment. Our days were as follows:- breakfast at 10am, down by the pool by 10.30, relaxing and reading until 3pm, then went into Florence for 3 to 4 hours! Hotel was very clean, people were lovely, enjoyed a fantastic meal on our last night (we cooked it - had a cookery lesson!). We had the place to ourselves, most guests like to go out for the day - their lost..Slight problem with the mossies.. need lots of spray. We did hire a car for the week, and went to Pisa and Siena - both worth the trip. Will return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dorset000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza La Torricella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza La Torricella

Address: Via Vecchia di Pozzolatico 25, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 662 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza La Torricella 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Torricella is a Renaissance dwelling located in the hills surrounding the city of Florence.Set in a rural area just a few minutes away from the Historic Centre of Florence, La Torricella is the ideal place for anyone who wishes to enjoy the beauty and quietude of the Tuscan countryside within easy distance of Florence's monuments and works of art.Each room has a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza La Torricella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torricella Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing