We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location but ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mario's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mario's
Ranked #70 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice location but ...”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recenly and had somewhat different experience than other travelers have had.

The hotel is very close to Firenze S.M.N and very convenient for traveling. The best thing on this hotel is the price. However, I had a lot more negative impressions than positive ones on this hotel.

The room we stayed did not have a bathroom with it. The hotel staff did not explain that to us when we checked in. The bathroom was three doors away. So, I had to get out of the room every time I need to go to bathroom. It has an old-fashioned lock and when I lock or unlock, it makes a huge squeaky sound. The bathroom itself is very small and does not have bath tub, which disappointed me. The wall is thin and I heard loud TV sound from the next room. There was no safe box, minibar, nor complimentary coffee/tea. Morning buffet was OK, with bread, ham, cheeze, and some drinks but nothing fancy. A toaster was broken and they coud not fix it.

I would not recommend this hotel to couples or lovers. Singles and business travelers would be fine with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    204
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
79
279
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff at hotel Marios were very accommadating, the room was clean, the breakfast was definately worth the five euros, and the location was perfect! If you are entering Florence from the train terminal it is a five minute walk and is close to the center of town. The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlorenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful, as they say they want you to feel like you are at home. Close to most things, within walking distance. Reasonal price. We had a double room and single room that was like a suite except that we shared a bathroom.

Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EdoardoHM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mario's, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

We are pleased to see that you found our location convenient – this is a re-occurring theme amongst all our reviews and it is a major benefit of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are quite basic although clean. They could do with some updating eg we didn't have a shower curtain around the bath so the floor was soaked every time we took a shower!
Breakfast was simple, and could benefit from some more choice, but the staff were very attentive and friendly.
Location was good, although it was quite noisy at night (but we did stay on a Friday and Saturday so not sure if that's the same during the week).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is close to the train station (but not uncomfortably close) and only a few minutes' walk from Piazza del Duomo. The rooms were spotless. The bed was a little lumpy, but I slept very well thanks to the great air conditioning unit in my room. The room was definitely worth what I paid for it, and I wouldn't hesitate to return. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank px1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This lovely B & B is right by the train station for easy travel, but on a street that takes you right into the heart of Florence with a 5 minute walk. Leonardo is a delight, and loves Florence. He will get you tickets to museums, tell you where to eat and shop. He was always filled with smiles and a warm welcome. The rooms were small but well appointed with WiFi and a good en suite bathroom. I overlooked a little courtyard that was pretty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanwiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is an excellent hotel. Home away from home. The location is excellent within a walking distance to all important sites. It’s nearby the train station making it ideal if you want to go for day trips. The staff is friendly and very nice and always ready to give you advice. Everybody meets you with a smile. The rooms and the bathroom are spotless. Breakfast is satisfactory. Free Wifi with an excellent connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#75 of 421 in Florence
1,001 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
873 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#76 of 421 in Florence
340 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#52 of 421 in Florence
466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#61 of 421 in Florence
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mario's

Property: Hotel Mario's
Address: Via Faenza 89 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mario's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mario's welcomes its guests in an atmosphere of ancient Florentine private house. A classic tradition of hospitality for this exceptional family run Florence hotel with charm and simple elegance. Located few steps from main train station in a building of the seventeenth century in the prestigious Via Faenza, an ancient road dating back to 1200, which still retains the medieval appearance. Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mario's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marios Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing