We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #138 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late April, and we had a wonderful stay. The room was was excellent, and the staff at reception were very helpful. They booked a tour for us to Cinque Terra, which was at their recommendation and I'm glad they did, as we had a great time. Rooms are very clean and tidy, nice and modern too. Location is great as its a 5 minute walk to the train station, so you are close enough to do some day trips, but far enough away from the crowds and noise. One suggestion, get a room at the back of the hotel to take advantage of the spectacular views of the duomo. Overall, a great hotel and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Tripadvisor readers.
We thank you especially for your words of appreciation for our staff's courtesy: we take great pride in the service we offer so we are really happy when it's appreciated. We hope to see you at Palazzo dal Borgo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 742 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel during our time in Florence. It is very convenient to most of the sites and very convenient to the train station and bus to the airport. Our room was very pleasant and quiet because we requested a room overlooking the inner courtyard. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed sharing some wine with friends in their lovely courtyard. The staff was very friendly and spoke English well. They had recommended a restaurant nearby which was very authentic, with excellent homemade pasta. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollyanna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words, we are pleased we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff's friendly service. We are happy you enjoyed our courtyard, it certainly makes a difference to be able to sit and relax with a glass of wine after a busy day sightseeing. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel appears small from the street but opens up once inside. We had a room at the back overlooking terracotta roof tops, the Santa Maria Novella and the Tuscan hills. it was a convenient location, good restaurants within easy walking distance, it was quiet and very comfortable. All we needed for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your warm review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, particularly the view over the rooftops to the hills, this is really something special to find in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was not a good experience,. They have the smallest elevator and with baggages, its hard to get in and when we were at our floor, up and down the steps makes it more difficult. Very challenging just to get in our room. When we hot in the room, big surprise!!! smallest room ever and the bathroom got flooded because water coming out from the bathtub when taking shower. I will never again stay in that hotel. Thers a lot more better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralph q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
we really surprised and disappointed to read your comment as your words both during
your stay and at the moment of checking out gave us the impression that you were happy with your stay.
Ours is a very old building with all the advantages and disadvantages of a 15th century building, among which a small lift introduced with some difficulty. But with loads of old world
charm and an atmosphere that is appreciated by so many guests who prefere it to that of a touristy anonimous hotel. Rooms come in all sizes and yours, although not very large, certainly does not lack for comfort, overlooks the garden and has a fantastic view of Santa Maria Novella.
However it's a great disappointment to us when a guest is not completely satisfied so, as there is always room for improvement, we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is not too great. The front desk staffer was not very friendly and I witnessed her being disagreeable to some tourists who came in to ask directions. Our room was spacious but plain. The bathroom was not too good. It is on a busy street so there is a fair amount of noise with ambulances and trucks all night long. The elevator is extremely small for luggage and people. The breakfast was punk. The photos online are misleading. I would not return or recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms because they are loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are sorry your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing it with us.
However we believe it would have been more constructive if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction directly to us. The room allocated is very nice and spacious with a very modern
bathroom, as a matter of fact it's photo will shortly be posted on our website with photos of other rooms taken recently. However, if wished, we could have changed you to a room on the quiet side, of which there is a wide choice. Concerning the lift: ours is a 15th century building, with a specific charm, and some modern conveniences such as the lift have had to be introduced according to the structure and under the strict supervision of the Italian Fine Arts Commission, limiting possibilities.
We are surprised at your mention about our desk staff, tripadvisor readers' comments on this and following pages show that our staff's friendly courtesy is one of our strong points. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future so that we may prove our hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this small romantic hotel with +500 years of history. Great view to Santa Maria Novella on the north side. Convenient location away from the noise of the town center but within walking distance. Great service and friendly staff eagered to help with reservations and recommendations. Calm breakfast in patio. Will certainly return ....

Room Tip: Room to the north on the third floor with a view to Santa Maria Novella tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomarix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. It means a lot to us that our guests appreciate our staffs' friendly service and the atmosphere we aim to create.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The palazzo was built in 1460, so it's an historical stay. While the room decor is simple, they are very clean and bathrooms up to North American standards. Staff were very helpful with directions and breakfast was excellent (both hot and cold choices). Very central location, easy to walk to all the sites. The only down side: Florence is a big city and busy, and there's lots of street noise, even late at night. We had two stays at this hotel, and the second time we had a room at the back of the hotel and it was much quieter. Patti and Gord, Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you for a lovely detailed review. The fact that you have chosen to stay with us again says it all. We look forward to welcoming you a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#208 of 410 in Florence
383 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#109 of 410 in Florence
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 410 in Florence
833 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#94 of 410 in Florence
863 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#169 of 410 in Florence
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#83 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $140 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo dal Borgo is an elegant privately owned boutique hotel, converted from the renaissance palace that belonged to the Medici dal Borgo Family and it’s one of Florence’s historic monuments. Located within sight of the church of Santa Maria Novella, you can experience the charm of an historical atmosphere in an ancient Medici’s palace of the XV century. In the hotel lounges, Florence tells its story. The cosy lounges are elegantly decorated with antiques and original paintings which create an intimate and stylish ambience. The frescoes that decorate the ceilings of all common areas make of Palazzo dal Borgo a 4 star hotel, unique and endowed with the most typical florentine charme. A selection of art books is available to guests for a relaxing break before the visit of Uffizi, Duomo or Ponte Vecchio. A small secluded courtyard garden offers an inviting and relaxing atmosphere. Do not miss the morning breakfast served among tuscan terraccotta and lemon trees deeply absorbed in the peaceful garden with view of Santa Maria Novella Cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing