We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, welcoming, comfortable, well situated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #137 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel Palazzo del Borgo is very conveniently situated for all the sights in Florence, but in a quiet area so not noisy at night. The building is full of character, with a lovely open courtyard for breakfasts and drinks. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean, and even had its very own 'view'. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. And breakfasts were amazing. Overall, couldn't have wanted a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW1234057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad you evnjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you again at Palazzo dal Borgo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 751 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, only about a 10 -15 min walk south of the main Termini in Florence. We were a little early for check in, but the staff went out of there way to accommodate us. They offered us water and coffee while we waited. Once our room was ready, we immediately wanted to shower and unwind for a few. The room was beautifully decorated. There was a fresco with angles and heaven scenes on the ceiling and the walls were an antique white washed yellow. The room had this lovely ambiance and being in it transported us to old Florence. The hotel staff was super friendly, spoke very good English, had no problems with the wifi and the breakfast was awesome.

As others have mentioned this hotel is centrally located, close to the Duomo and close to the Ponte Vecchio. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaid96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Jaid96,
thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers. It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we hope to see you agaiin at Palazzo dal Borgo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dal Borgo in early October 2012 for 4nights. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Florence on foot, as it is only 5-10mins walk from the Duomo. The hotel has 3 floors of rooms, and we were on the top floor. Our room (68) was large, with a lovely bathroom and a separate lounge area (with sofa bed that we did not use), a fridge, and from the window we had a view of the top of the Santa Maria Novella. The room was kept clean and tidy. The breakfast was a simple affair, and the weather was good enough to allow us to sit in the relaxing courtyard of the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - they offered advise on places to visit,booked tickets for us to go to the Uffizi and to Gallerai Academia (essentail to avoid long queues), and recommended some restaurants (all of which were good). Florence can be quite expensive, but we booked the hotel a few months early, and managed to get a deal that we felt was good value for money.
There is so much to see in Florence and 4 days was barely enough to cover even the major attractions - take comfortable shoes :o)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartynO175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear MartynO175,
thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We were very glad to have you here and we really hope to see you again at Palazzo dal Borgo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love this hotel and their staff. This was our first trip to Italy and our family of 5 were booked into this wonderful hotel for 5 nights. We were celebrating our Mom's 80th birthday. The rooms were large, beautifully decorated and the beds were comfortable. The daily breakfest was wonderful and included a varity of foods including eggs, bacon and sausage. There is a beautiful outdoor garden area which was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a cup of cappaccino, beer or wine. During our stay, our Mom had a medical emergency, the staff was so wonderful and assisted with having a doctor come to the hotel immediately, He was very attentive & kind, arranging additional medical evaluation at the hospital clinic. They were so very supportive during this diffcult time and cared for us as if we were their family. Sadly her trip was cut short as she had to return to the states. We will never forget how amazing the entire staff was and we are so thankful. This is a wonderful hotel and we highly recommend it. Thank you for your thoughfulness and compassion.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the garden area, it was bright and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khutch830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Madam,
we all remember your lovely family and really hope your mother is getting well.
Thank you for your kind words, the most pleasant thing is you have felt at home with us.
Hope to see you again in Florence at Palazzo dal Borgo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved this Hotel for a number of reasons! Huge room, great breakfasts, friendly staff, centrally located to Santa Maria Novella Station, free wifi and very pretty. We will definitely revisit this Palace.

Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile reception at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Tracey P,
thank you very much for your kind review.
We will be very glad to welcoming you again in Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff at this hotel was amazingly friendly and helpful. They really went out of their way to ensure we were happy. Our room was quite big and very pretty, as was the garden where we took our breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Madame, your review is
a beautiful postcard of our staff
Thanks for everything, we look forward to welcoming you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been at the Palazzo Dal Borgo for a week, ans it was a perfect choice.

Only 5 minutes walking from Santa Maria Novella railway station, and just a few steps from Santa Maria Novella's Church, really not far from any attraction. (Florence is not very big and everything is in a walking distance)

The building, yes, is old...but how you can imagine to stay in a 15th century building and have something different?! There are some "graffiti" on the front side of the building and part of them, saved from the fine arts, are inside. We suggest everybody to take a look of all the floors: it's amazing when you recognize that these walls are part of Florence history and you are staying between them!

Girls at reception are very kind and helpful, they are always smiling, and even if they are very buisy they alwas find the time to ask about the day, to book our museums entrances, to suggest dinners or things to see.
Also the Manager, she is very nice and she suggested us a very good restaurant for dinner: the best stake we had!

Our room (#16) was lovely, not very big, but enough for us and the Jacuzzi made our evenings every day! Mattress and pillows were very comfortable, which helps when you walk all the day.
And the most important thing is that they are very clean!

Breakfast in the morning is served in two frescoed rooms and the courtyard: lovely! Both of two guys are masters of Cappucinos, and the buffet is good enough.

We definetly will return at the Palazzo, also to have a coffee in the morning with the owner, who is a true florentine and can recommend things to see, you have never read about in you guides!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrangipaniFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guests
all our staff remember you with a very pleasure.
We waiting of your prox visit,
See you soon............Warm regards
Lucia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 409 in Florence
1,669 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#148 of 409 in Florence
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#98 of 409 in Florence
814 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#209 of 409 in Florence
384 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#127 of 409 in Florence
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#83 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $127 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo dal Borgo is an elegant privately owned boutique hotel, converted from the renaissance palace that belonged to the Medici dal Borgo Family and it’s one of Florence’s historic monuments. Located within sight of the church of Santa Maria Novella, you can experience the charm of an historical atmosphere in an ancient Medici’s palace of the XV century. In the hotel lounges, Florence tells its story. The cosy lounges are elegantly decorated with antiques and original paintings which create an intimate and stylish ambience. The frescoes that decorate the ceilings of all common areas make of Palazzo dal Borgo a 4 star hotel, unique and endowed with the most typical florentine charme. A selection of art books is available to guests for a relaxing break before the visit of Uffizi, Duomo or Ponte Vecchio. A small secluded courtyard garden offers an inviting and relaxing atmosphere. Do not miss the morning breakfast served among tuscan terraccotta and lemon trees deeply absorbed in the peaceful garden with view of Santa Maria Novella Cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing