We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic hotel that will serve all your needs.”
Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #220 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I didnt stay there during high tourist season, and hence, my room rate was really reasonable. Its a hotel that will serve your basic needs....my room was big, though the windows opened up to a rather nondescript view of the ventilation system. The toilet was extremely spacious. Loved it

Breakfast was really basic. Just cereals and some breads and some other stuff. My father did open a cup of yoghurt to find that it was already spoilt and watery. Which was a turn off but i guess it did not bother me.

The hotel is clean and comfortable, though there is a slight musky smell. Nevertheless, you could say it has a charming atmosphere. Its location is great too. Next to the san lorenzo leather market and near the train station. Dragging your luggage to the hotel from the train station is possible, despite the narrow sidewalks. Its about a 5-10 min walk so long you go by the quickest route. Area is safe and there are plenty of restaurants and shops near by.

Staff too are really friendly, especially when compared to the average italian that i encountered.
Overall, it was really value for money and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangetaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 443 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 28, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Good things: very well located right in the centre of the city. No need to use the bus, everything is at walking distance. People in the hotel are very friendly. Bad things: The smell of the hotel was terrible. The bathroom was not properly clean. Some rooms are big but others are very small. The breakfast is one of the worst I have seen.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiziLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and couldn't wait to leave.
The room we had was on the second floor on Via Nazionale and I can best describe it as depressing. I didn't have any problem with the noise from the street as I could not hear it over the noise coming from the airconditioner. The breakfast room was small and the selection was poor.
The only redeeming quality was friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Galileo for four days. The hotel was a good value and the location was very convenient (walking distance to all attractions, close to train station, safe location). The service at the hotel (Barbara at the reception) far exceeded our expectations. It was the great service that made our stay at Hotel Galileo so memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were impressed with the size of our room, particularly its spacious bathroom--including what seemed like a luxurious bathtub (compared to other places I've stayed in Europe). The staff was friendly and very helpful--the front desk even helped us call ahead to our B & B in Cinque Terre to get directions, info, etc.

We were able to roll our suitcases there from the train station (a bit annoying on the very narrow sidewalks in Florence, but do-able), and found the location practical--particularly since Florence is small and easy to get across on foot.

My only complaint would be the oddly dingy bedspread and covering on what looked like a fold-out futon in the corner (which we didn't need/use). For the most part, this economical hotel was clean, classy and comfortable, so it was weird to find shabby accents in our room--but it didn't impact our stay or anything.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjlovelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I booked this hotel after finding it in Rick Steves' Florence book. I contacted them online and was able to reserve rooms easily through e-mail.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Santa Maria Novella train station, on a busy street. Because of this, the noise at night, even with the windows closed, can be a little much.

The area of the hotel is safe, but not very picturesque. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, and the staff was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was just okay - nothing special, but a welcome meal at the beginning of a day of sightseeing. You can have an espresso made for you, which is a nice touch.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend a lot of time in the area, or to relax while in the hotel, but it is a good place to stay if you're traveling in and out of the city by train.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotABigDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#166 of 410 in Florence
1,065 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#265 of 410 in Florence
614 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#132 of 410 in Florence
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#181 of 410 in Florence
1,275 reviews
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#255 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
Select Hotel
#337 of 410 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $68 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing