We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall not very good”
Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #246 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Lisboa
1 review
“Overall not very good”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Good things: very well located right in the centre of the city. No need to use the bus, everything is at walking distance. People in the hotel are very friendly. Bad things: The smell of the hotel was terrible. The bathroom was not properly clean. Some rooms are big but others are very small. The breakfast is one of the worst I have seen.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiziLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    170
    97
    48
    29
See reviews for
69
181
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and couldn't wait to leave.
The room we had was on the second floor on Via Nazionale and I can best describe it as depressing. I didn't have any problem with the noise from the street as I could not hear it over the noise coming from the airconditioner. The breakfast room was small and the selection was poor.
The only redeeming quality was friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Galileo for four days. The hotel was a good value and the location was very convenient (walking distance to all attractions, close to train station, safe location). The service at the hotel (Barbara at the reception) far exceeded our expectations. It was the great service that made our stay at Hotel Galileo so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were impressed with the size of our room, particularly its spacious bathroom--including what seemed like a luxurious bathtub (compared to other places I've stayed in Europe). The staff was friendly and very helpful--the front desk even helped us call ahead to our B & B in Cinque Terre to get directions, info, etc.

We were able to roll our suitcases there from the train station (a bit annoying on the very narrow sidewalks in Florence, but do-able), and found the location practical--particularly since Florence is small and easy to get across on foot.

My only complaint would be the oddly dingy bedspread and covering on what looked like a fold-out futon in the corner (which we didn't need/use). For the most part, this economical hotel was clean, classy and comfortable, so it was weird to find shabby accents in our room--but it didn't impact our stay or anything.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjlovelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I booked this hotel after finding it in Rick Steves' Florence book. I contacted them online and was able to reserve rooms easily through e-mail.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Santa Maria Novella train station, on a busy street. Because of this, the noise at night, even with the windows closed, can be a little much.

The area of the hotel is safe, but not very picturesque. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, and the staff was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was just okay - nothing special, but a welcome meal at the beginning of a day of sightseeing. You can have an espresso made for you, which is a nice touch.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend a lot of time in the area, or to relax while in the hotel, but it is a good place to stay if you're traveling in and out of the city by train.

  • Liked — Location to train station and market.
  • Disliked — Noise and busy neighborhood.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GotABigDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I booked 5 rooms in this hotel 6 months in advance of the date( Nov) I wanted to stay there. When I was booking the hotel they resonded to my emails quite quickly. I verified the cancellation policy and provided them with my credit card. The trip had to be cancelled a few weeks later( April) and I emailed them to cancel the reservations well within the guidelines provided to me by the hotel to cancel at no charge. I was unable to get a response from them. I emailed again 4 days in a row with no response. I know that they were receiving and reading my emails as I have a "read receipt " from my email but they would not provide me with a cancelation confirmation. I find their refusal to respond or provide me with a cancelation confirmation a suspious business practice and would not advise anyone to provide this hotel their credit card number. Now I will have to be sure to watch my credit card bill 6 months from now to make sure they are not charging me for these 5 rooms.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Galileo in Florence during March 2008. We found it to be in a great location----------we could walk to everything. The hotel was very clean which is always important to me. It's a basic hotel and the morning breakfast was a nice way to start your day. The price was very reasonable and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a clean, basic place to stay that's within walking distance to everything.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a little noisy at night because we kept the window open --we couldn't adjust the heat
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#239 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#293 of 420 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#129 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#135 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#194 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#195 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Property: Galileo Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing