We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very cute hotel in the middle of Florence” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #248 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cute hotel in the middle of Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in January for 2 nights with my family, the position was supernice, close to the station and to the Duomo. The staff welcomed us very warmly and gave us a lot of info for visiting around and places to eat. Our room was quite small but clean, and I liked the style: traditional and simple. I really recommend it if you want to stay in a Florence-style hotel without spending too much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    156
    90
    43
    27
See reviews for
64
164
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Walking distance to a lot. Breakfast typical. Staff friendly and helpful. Street view was good for some people watching. Busy street but not noisy...except for sirens of course.....would revisit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeyP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Windows were opened by cleaners during the day on a day that was forecast for heavy storms. Due to the small rooms (which there is enough space to survive) our luggage was saturated.

Thinking it wa an honest mistake and in need for some towels or similar to dry things we asked at reception, where the grumpy old man offered no apology and huffed and sighed when towels or something to dry the water was asked for.

We booked a day trip with some of the female staff who were very friendly and helpful, as our pickup for the trip was early we were told we could get breakfast early. However arriving with 2 other couples that morning we had the pleasure of the grumpy old man who would not let us eat breakfast at the previously arranged time.

There was mold/grime in the bathroom and shower and the bedroom walls could do with a wipe down.

That said Location was only 600 meters or so to the train station and buses. Restraunts and shopping just around the corner...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zekzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in Galileo few months ago.
My girlfriend and me just stopped here for one. I have to say that our stay there was really good. The hotel is very close from the train station and the staff was helpful.
The room was a standard room with the essential things for a three star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bert198723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was on trip with my family, we got a big nice room and the receptionists were lovely. Breakfast was not wonderful, but reasonable for a three stars. I think small hotels like this one are warmer and more friendly than big hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Having come from Venice, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was a pleasant surprise. They helped us find a way to break our lock after we lost the key to our bags late at night. Nothing was too much of an ask. They booked our tours and arranged for hotel pick ups. They even gave us vouchers for dinner. Breakfasts were pleasent and included in the price. Overall excellent value and a great location just near the Santa Maria Novella station.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I would not return to this hotel. We were in the middle of a heat wave and they kept turning off the air conditioners in the rooms. We returned from day tour late in the afternoon to find our room sweltering - air conditioner turned off - and the window unable to be opened. The staff were manipulating the air conditioners in the room from a computer at the front desk. I demanded the air conditioner in our room be turned back on.
The breakfast was extremely poor. The toast bread was the thinnest white sliced bread you have ever seen and stale.
The rooms were very ordinary and no linen changed. No card was left in the room to request linen be changed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#138 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#139 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#210 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#252 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#190 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#195 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Property: Galileo Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing