We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Albion
Nearby Hotels
$278
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$256
$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$327
$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$378
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$518
$478
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$425
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$188
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$650
$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
154
99
25
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
99
25
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily ownersrooms are clean and spaciousquirky hotelwithin walking distancearno riverthe main train stationhotel staffvisiting florenceold buildingmassimotuscanysculptorrelaxationearplugsfurnishingschurch
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 299 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. It is quite close to Santa Maria Novella station. It took me about 5 mins to walk to the hotel.

The staff are fluent in English and are very welcoming. The room was quite large and was very clean. The Air Conditioner worked perfectly.

The best hotel I stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh7912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbionFirenze, Responsabile reception at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear josh7912,
thanks a lot for your review!!! I'm happy to hear you had a nice stay in our house !!!
I hope I'll see you again in Florence soon,
ciao ciao a presto,
Sara Ravalli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had the room at the very top of this hotel. Third floor. It is an old building that has been turned into a hotel. Everything very clean and nice. The whole hotel has a nice rustic theme to it. There are no lifts (elevators) but the staff carried our luggage up, no problem.

The front desk people are all family and extremely friendly and helpful. The break fast was OK but will carry you till lunch.

The location is very convenient with walking distance to almost everything Florence has to offer.

Very satisfied with the stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Albion for a week. staff, especially Sarah, the manager, was very friendly, helpful and assisted us with all of our needs; tourist information, and responded to all of our questions and concerns in a timely manner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpls55405nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbionFirenze, Responsabile reception at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear npls55405nl,
thanks a lot for your nice words...specially the ones about me!!!
I'm happy you had a good time and our advises worked well for you!
Even if you stayed one week I hope you still miss something to see in Florence...then that you will be back!!!
Grazie grazie ancora and see you soon I hope,
Sara Ravalli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Albion hotel is a small, family-run place, where they make you feel immediately at home. The owner is passionate about Tuscan painting and therefore all along the breakfast room, staircase and corridors you find lots of late 19th century and contemporary Tuscan landscapes, portraits etc. The rooms are spotless, the facilities are those of a small hotel, which will always try to help the customer in a constructive way. The rates are also very reasonable for a hotel so near the Church of Ognissanti, with its Giotto and the magnificent Last supper in the cloister. You can walk along the river and in less than ten minutes you reach the Ponte Vecchio. If you go there once, you are likely to choose the same place again, and again. I highly recommend it. It is a place with a great soul.

Room Tip: Maybe an internal room may be preferable in summer, because traffic can be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diago_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbionFirenze, Responsabile reception at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Diago_34,
thanks a lot for your nice words!
I hope we will have you staying with us again and again...
ciao ciao a presto,
Sara Ravalli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Albion last week. We had an excellent experience there and we would say it was the best place we stayed out of the 4 places we stayed during our vacation in both Italy and France. The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast atmosphere than a hotel. If you are on a budget, it is a great place to stay. If you are looking for excellent service and wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful hosts, this is the place. The location was excellent for visiting most of the big sites in Florence and is very near the train station.

The hotel's decor and facility is rustic and without frills, but is very charming. There is no elevator and the rooms can be very noisy at times due to the noise of the street where the hotel is located. Ear plugs are a good idea.

The room was by far the largest we stayed in on our trip. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The hairdryer in the room is ancient and will not be one most people would use. The towels seem odd at first, as they look like dish towels, but actually work extremely well.

The buffet breakfast is simple, but typical of the european breakfast buffets. The coffee service in the morning was excellent. The cappucinos were the best we had in any place!

The hotel albion is about 80E per night and we felt it was well worth the price. We were very happy to have stayed there and it was our favourite place of the 4 hotels in which we stayed. Sara and her father, Massimo were excellent hosts. It was the least expensive hotel we stayed in, but was the best by far.

If you are expecting the North American Hotel experience, you will not find it in many, if any, of the European Hotels, unless you are paying 500E a night and staying at the Westin or some place similar. If that is what you want, be prepared to spend a ton of money a night.

The few people that have complained about the hotel really seem to have expected the North American hotel experience and this is just simply unreasonable in Europe.

We really enjoyed our stay and we would highly recommend staying with Sara and Massimo, who were the bests hosts we stayed with, by far!

Room Tip: If possible, try not to get a room that is directly on the street corner.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews