We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel and Warm Staff”
Review of Hotel Balcony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Balcony
Ranked #94 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel and Warm Staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed for one night since it is pretty close to train station.

The owner of the hotel is very friendly. He and His son were very helpful. Since it is a budget hotel I don't have any exception before checkin. After checkin, the room were pretty fine and better that what I excepted. Bathroom and Bed were very clean.

Hotel location were great, you could start your city tour by walking. It should be taking you approx full day to finish the tour on your own.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    280
    77
    14
    6
See reviews for
115
372
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

i stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago, with my family it was what i expected small but clean,the front desk very helpful ,breakfast is continental okay
very close to every thing,i will come back to this hotel with out a doubt

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fersan2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights while on a bus trip through Europe. The room we got was cheaper then what the recommended hostel through the bus trip was offering and i found it really nice. The room was big and we had our own balcony (no view but not an issue). The bathroom was big and clean and had everything we needed.

Breakfast was included in the room and had everything you would expect to see at a typical european breakfast. The location is amazing and less then a minute walk from the Duomo and the heart of the city. You can see the duomo while sitting on the outside balcony. When you check in your given a map and the guy at reception pointed out all the main sights for us and told us what buses to catch and how to get around.

But my favourite part of the hotel was the staff!!! I had my wallet stolen in the city and the guy behind the desk went so far past above and beyond to help me i was amazed. He let me use his personal cellphone (multiple times) to cancel all my credit cards and showed us how to get to the police station. He wrote a note for me in italian for the police officer incase there was a language barrier and he even offered to lend us his bike to get there! When we got back he gave us some drinks and chips to eat while i was filing out my forms and he brought us over dinner from the restaurant next door.

I was absolutely blown away by his kindness and i couldn't thank him enough. I tried to give him a little bit of money to say thanks but he wouldn't take it. He made a really horrible situation seem not so bad.

I would definitely stay here again and thank you so much!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire_smith4597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our second time at Hotel Balcony for one night on our way home from two weeks in Monte San Savino. Again another great stay. Clean, good value, helpful and friendly staff. Great balcony too!!!! Excellent location - some 10 mins slow walk from station and minutes from the Duomo and other sights. Very quiet and excellent air con so very comfortable. We will definitely return in 2015. Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreeceLoverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked this hotel for a overnight stay in Florence as it was 2 blocks form the Duomo and a very reasonable price.
Room was small and a little old fashioned, but it had great WIFI, air-conditioning and included breakfast. The location was very quiet even though it was so centrally located.
The balcony is a great place to sit at night and enjoy a drink in a beautiful city.
Will definitely stay here when I visit again.
Owner and his son were very helpful and allowed us to leave our suitcases after check out , so we could enjoy the city before we headed to the train station.

Room Tip: Our room opened on to the balcony, but we were not disturbed and there was no city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillyfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel was not our "style" we did appreciate the welcome from the family and breakfast included. We also enjoyed the location of the hotel... Excellent! The room & bathroom were cramped and dated but for one nights stay it was suffice. Just wasn't the usual hotel we stay at but nonetheless a clean and simple stay with a sweet family.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CRISTINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

very helpful and friendly family, super location to all the important places, the room was big enough and clean, also the bathroom. we could use the balcony after our check out, good view from the balcony and nice to sit there with a bottle of wine from the hotel. everything was fine, I would spend my nights during a trip to florence in this hotel again.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#81 of 411 in Florence
377 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 411 in Florence
748 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#125 of 411 in Florence
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcony

Property: Hotel Balcony
Address: Via Dei Banchi 3/29r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#19 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#83 Family Hotel in Florence
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balcony 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balcony is located in the historical centre of Florence, very close to the Church of Santa Maria del Fiore and the Loggia dei Lanzi. The hotel occupies the entire first floor of an elegant and typically Florentine building, furnished in simple and sophisticated style. The common spaces available to guests include a large terrace with a panoramic view, from which it is possible to enjoy views of the spectacular Brunelleschi Dome. Our staff is available to help guests book tickets for museums, exhibitions, concerts and other cultural events, and to help guests organise tours through the Renaissance city and excursions to discover Tuscany and its surrounds. A rich sweet and savoury buffet breakfast, an internet point and a nearby garage with parking agreements, complete the broad range of services offered by Hotel Balcony in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing