We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Balcony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Balcony
Ranked #81 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked this hotel for a overnight stay in Florence as it was 2 blocks form the Duomo and a very reasonable price.
Room was small and a little old fashioned, but it had great WIFI, air-conditioning and included breakfast. The location was very quiet even though it was so centrally located.
The balcony is a great place to sit at night and enjoy a drink in a beautiful city.
Will definitely stay here when I visit again.
Owner and his son were very helpful and allowed us to leave our suitcases after check out , so we could enjoy the city before we headed to the train station.

Room Tip: Our room opened on to the balcony, but we were not disturbed and there was no city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillyfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    265
    70
    11
    4
See reviews for
109
341
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel was not our "style" we did appreciate the welcome from the family and breakfast included. We also enjoyed the location of the hotel... Excellent! The room & bathroom were cramped and dated but for one nights stay it was suffice. Just wasn't the usual hotel we stay at but nonetheless a clean and simple stay with a sweet family.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CRISTINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

very helpful and friendly family, super location to all the important places, the room was big enough and clean, also the bathroom. we could use the balcony after our check out, good view from the balcony and nice to sit there with a bottle of wine from the hotel. everything was fine, I would spend my nights during a trip to florence in this hotel again.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well located hotel only 300m from the main station close to all the main sights. Older style rooms with stairs. Nice balcony overlooking street below. Rooms quite large for a city centre hotel. Given our luggage overload situation the receptionist was kind enough to give us a room with least stairs to manoeuvre. Breakfast was only simple. Our biggest issue was not with the 5 Mosquitos I managed to slap but with the ones I couldn't. Florence is an expensive city and given a peak season scenario this hotel matched our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkadiusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this family run hotel. Very easy walking distance to all major sites (and train station). The Duomo is 2 mins away. There is a lovely roof deck with a view of the Duomo. Small room and bathroom, but clean. Very helpful owners!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night only, but it was just what I needed.
The location is great because it is walking distance to the train station without having the "train station crowd". And, its about a 5 minute walk to the Il Duomo Cathedral, and all the main tourist sites.
The rooms are definitely dated and quite "krickety". All doors and windows make sounds when opening or closing them, the shower/bathroom is very small and dated, but all in all, it's a safe and clean place to stay.
The breakfast is sufficient and the hosts are very willing and helpful.
The hosts, son Guido and father, along with the mother/wife, are extremely helpful and very friendly.
When I attempted to get tickets for the Galleria Dell Accademia to see the David statue, I encountered some problems with my credit card validation (out of country purchases), and Guido immediately offered to purchase it with his credit card, in order to not lose the ticket entry the following morning, which he was booking for me online! Naturally, I replaid him upon check out, but I found this to be so very sweet and thoughtful!
What a great team to run this hotel.

Wifi works perfectly.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia21868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lufthansa strike, flight from Pisa to Munich got cancelled. My revised flight detour via Florence. I needed a place to sleep near the train station at minimum cost possible. I reserved Hotel balcony and pleasantly surprised with their service.
Pros:
a) Walking distance from the station as well as all touristic sites
b) Inexpensive
c) Cleanliness
d) Wonderful service and behaviour of the duty manager
e) Minimum outside noise given the fact its location

Cons:
a) Noise within the hotel, you can hear noise from neighboring room and slightest noise )door opening) within the hotel corridor was very loud. Poor insulation
b) Smell in the cupboard
c)Tiny room

Room Tip: If you want to avoid outside noise, ask for room facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraAula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcony

Property: Hotel Balcony
Address: Via Dei Banchi 3/29r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Florence
#35 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#83 Family Hotel in Florence
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balcony 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balcony is located in the historical centre of Florence, very close to the Church of Santa Maria del Fiore and the Loggia dei Lanzi. The hotel occupies the entire first floor of an elegant and typically Florentine building, furnished in simple and sophisticated style. The common spaces available to guests include a large terrace with a panoramic view, from which it is possible to enjoy views of the spectacular Brunelleschi Dome. Our staff is available to help guests book tickets for museums, exhibitions, concerts and other cultural events, and to help guests organise tours through the Renaissance city and excursions to discover Tuscany and its surrounds. A rich sweet and savoury buffet breakfast, an internet point and a nearby garage with parking agreements, complete the broad range of services offered by Hotel Balcony in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing