We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accompany for our vacation”
Review of Hotel Balcony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Balcony
Ranked #109 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Extremely sympatic, friendly and helpful stuff. Perfect location: walking distance to the railway station, city center and river side. Lovely terrase with beautiful view. Fare price. The room was clean and quiet and when i found a fumigator at the bedside table my happiness became complete:) I must admit, "Balcony" accompanied our vacation in a perfect way!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Iryna_cip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balcony
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 755 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is the key; close to the train station to check in and then within sight to the Duomo down the road.
Owner helped us with the luggage upstairs since there's no lift and suggested some places to visit/eat

Bathroom is a bit tight - there's a wall right in front of you if you sit on the toilet (otherwise, use the one on the L1 landing) but nothing that bad that would stop me booking again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mightyhawks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Based on former reviews I chose Hotel Balcony for 5 nights. And I'll do it again. All places of interest can be reached by foot or by bus (very close to the main station SMN). The personal is outstanding friendly and helpful. My room was very silent, comfortably and clean (daily cleaning). It was a pleasure for me.
Alla prossima volta. Stephanie da Germania.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheruscaEtrusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night with some friends. The rooms are perfectly acceptable, nothing special but everything worked, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean with a shower that had good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful and the hotel just a 5minute stroll from the Duomo. given the location and given the usual cost of hotels in Florence we thought the price was exceptional.
They have a very pleasant large balcony where you can sit out at any time.
Breakfast was distinctly underwhelming, usual cereals, bread, cheese, cold meats etc but all of pretty low quality but I never expect a decent breakfast in an Italian hotel just an opportunity to fill up before the day's activities that way I'm never disappointed.
Would definitely recommend here if you wanted a reasonably priced hotel close to the Centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013. Great location, easy walking distance to attractions and train/bus station. Hotel staff are helpful and room is clean with all necessary amenities.
We liked the balcony overlooking the street, a nice place to have a drink (which you can buy for a modest fee) or just to sit outdoors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a few days in this hotel. Simple and comfortable, clean, very friendly staff, good breakfast included. Great location, minutes from the train station, even less minutes from the Dome.

The only thing I would change are the towels. They were made of woven fabric. My grandma used to have those. I much prefer the fluffy towels.
I was pleasantly surprised that they had an anti-mosquito device (to plug in). There are no screened windows ( are there any in Europe ? )

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location, clean rooms. The negative was the room's location to the common balcony, a lot of noise to the point we could not sleep (sat night). Advertised with A/C and soundproof rooms. A/C was not on as it was not hot enough staff told me even though we could not sleep with window open due to people smoking and socialising on the balcony at 12 am. The most frustrating part was the lack of understanding and dismissive attitude of staff when we asked for a solution.
We decided we could not stay another night and to check out after only 1 night, we were offered another room. Too late.
Then we were told we would still have to pay for the original 2 nights, very poor customer service. We refused and politely made it clear to our frustration. Walked around the corner and for 20 euro a night more, we have a great room helpful staff and a quite room to sleep in. Not too much to ask.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ureshiikylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#124 of 411 in Florence
1,510 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,790 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#158 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#96 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcony

Address: Via Dei Banchi 3/29r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#16 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#83 Family Hotel in Florence
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $57 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balcony 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balcony is located in the historical centre of Florence, very close to the Church of Santa Maria del Fiore and the Loggia dei Lanzi. The hotel occupies the entire first floor of an elegant and typically Florentine building, furnished in simple and sophisticated style. The common spaces available to guests include a large terrace with a panoramic view, from which it is possible to enjoy views of the spectacular Brunelleschi Dome. Our staff is available to help guests book tickets for museums, exhibitions, concerts and other cultural events, and to help guests organise tours through the Renaissance city and excursions to discover Tuscany and its surrounds. A rich sweet and savoury buffet breakfast, an internet point and a nearby garage with parking agreements, complete the broad range of services offered by Hotel Balcony in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing