We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful home away from home!”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #157 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

It is a bit unusual when you arrive to the hotel since it's located on the second floor, but once you enter, it is a wonderful home away from home hotel. I would recommend a cab from the train station to the hotel when you arrive as we were a bit warm after walking about 20 minutes with our suitcases.

There is an antique lift that is small but worked just fine. The lobby had a great selection of information books about Florence and other books and movies, and free Internet.

The hotel was well located for walks into the city center, about 6 minutes to Accademia and 15 minutes to Duomo and we were happy to not be in the noisiest part of the city.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful (with fresh cappuccinos and espressos) and we appreciated the fruit salad and chocolate croissants, meats and cheese, pastries, yogurts, etc. It got us off to a great start each day.

The best thing is the wonderful owners and staff! They were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to answer our questions, recommend restaurants, and help us have a fabulous time while in Florence. They were incredibly generous with their time and hospitality. They drove us to our Florence walking tour and to the train station on our departure.

We thank you Marco (and everyone else) for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 728 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

We just got back from an 18-day trip to Italy, and, of the six hotels we stayed at, this was our favorite hotel! As other reviewers have mentioned, it's a bit odd when you arrive to the hotel since it's located on the second floor, but once you enter, it's a beautiful, lovely hotel that is more like a small pensione. Everything is brand new, the rooms are tastefully decorated, the breakfast is delicious and plentiful (with fresh cappuccinos and espressos) -- but the best thing is the wonderful owners! They were incredibly helpful and went out of their way to answer all our questions, recommend restaurants, and ensure that we had a fabulous time while in Florence. They were incredibly generous with their time and hospitality. We stayed at the Hotel Giglio for five nights, and could easily have stayed there for five more. Lovely, lovely hotel and people!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancophileLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were on a whirlwind one night stop in Florence. We arrived early (to try to get the most out of our day). Although our room wasn't ready, we were allowed to leave our bags and they were delivered to our room for us! We also received a complimentary beverage upon check in and a recommendation for a local pizza place for lunch. It was great!

We didn't know about the secret elevator until we were leaving, but luckily we had light bags as the climb up the stairs is a long one. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was clean. It took us a little while to find the air conditioner remote (it was in the desk drawer) but once we did, it worked great!) The wireless worked well and they had a computer available in the lobby. The shared bookshelf saved me since I was out of things to read. They had a lot of books, guidebooks and magazines.

Breakfast was excellent with many choices. We too asked for a taxi and instead were given a ride to the train station. I wished we could have stayed longer and gotten to know our hosts. If I'm ever in Florence again, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jddorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The best hotel I have ever stayed in. That statement says it all really!
The room was very spacious, bathroom massive with whirlpool bath as well!
Breakfast was sublime, could not be bettered.
Location was just outside the centre, less than 15 minute walk to the Duomo, around five minute walk to the Accademia for the David statue.
Free wireless unlike any of the other italian hotels we stayed in!

The thing that made this hotel so great was the service. The staff of this hotel could not make the stay any better, they simply did everything we could think of and made our stay perfect. They even gave us a lift back to the station, they wouldn't even entertain the idea of us calling a taxi.

There is a reason why this hotel is rated so highly, go there yourself and see what we are all talking about!

One thing to add, make sure you go to the Ristorante da Mimmo which is on the Via San Gallo, the street parallel to Via Cavour where the hotel is. The meals were fabulous and we booked for the next night immediately after our meal was finished. The local chicken on hot bricks was superb!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is very helpful. The walls in the rooms are very thin. You can hear everyone walking in the hall way or talking in their rooms. The breakfast was very good! (loved the fruit salad). The hotel is on the second floor. If you have heavy luggage there is an antique lift in the hall. (good luck with that!) The lobby had a great selection of tourist books and movies. I would stay here again. (although not a great location)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

otherwise very plain hotel. Good place to stay if you are in running on a low budget and don't have a lot of expectation about ameneties.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drica_nogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We too, chose this hotel based on other reviews on this site and were not disappointed. We arrived on a very hot day after being caught up in a national transport strike that made us two hours late. We were welcomed by their friendly staff and complimentary drinks, which I could not have been more grateful for!

Our rooms were clean, had modern decor and provided our family of four with space as well as genuine beds (ie, no fold-out, flip-out ones) for all of us! My children were delighted with the dvd collection which helped them wind down after a big day of sight-seeing and were thrilled with the staff member who gave them a big bowl of chips to eat while they watched movies. My son was also grateful for the wi-fi connection that, for once, was easy to access on his ipod!

The breakfast was wonderful....fresh fruit, cereals, toast, antipasto type meats and cheese, pastries, yoghurts, etc etc. Very filling and tasty and got us off to a great start each day.

The highlight of the hotel beyond what is mentioned above, however, has to be the attitude of the staff. We too, were incredibly grateful to Marco for dropping us off to the train station on two different days (the thought of walking in the searing heat was not a pleasant one!). One every occasion, the staff were pleasant to deal with and offered us helpful advice.

On reflection of our trip, our family was discussing why we loved this hotel so much. The answer was easy....they made us feel like their place was a 'home away from home' for the short time that we were there. And for that, we were truly grateful!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissiemum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#126 of 410 in Florence
439 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#102 of 410 in Florence
404 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#195 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $83 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing