We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Giglio is a gem!”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #166 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Marco and Roberto’s Hotel Giglio lived up to its Tripadvisor hype, and then some! By way of background, my husband and I spent our first three nights in Tuscany in the small town of Fiesole, on a hilltop about seven miles outside of--and overlooking--Florence. We are not city people, and wanted to have a quieter experience in the evenings for our first three nights, after spending the days seeing the sights of Florence.

We took the #7 bus from Fiesole daily into Florence. On our fourth morning, we simply exited the bus a few yards from Hotel Giglio, since the bus’s path through Florence took us straight down Via Cavour, right in front of the hotel. Perfetto!

The hotel is in an historic building, and the public areas and guest rooms have been beautifully refitted to high modern standards of functionality while maintaining the ambiance and charm of an earlier time in the history of Florence. Our room was very large, with 20-foot ceilings, a spotless modern bathroom, and furnishings in keeping with the hotel’s Florentine past.

Breakfast was served buffet style beginning at 7:30 a.m. and was tasty and substantial enough to power us up for a morning of sightseeing, allowing us to postpone lunch until around 2:00 p.m. Selections included four types of dry cereals, sweet rolls, breads, ham and other cured meats, sliced cheese, fruit juices, yogurt, and a lovely bowl of cut-up fresh fruit--apples, oranges, kiwi, pineapple. You had but to request cappuccino, hot chocolate, espresso, coffee, or tea and it would be brought to your table, freshly made.

The morning of our departure, Marco drove us to the airport! Hotel Giglio is a mere 15-minute walk to the Duomo, and 5 minutes from the Academia’s David. It is a lovely oasis, on a major street, but still quiet at night, and an outstanding value for the money. My husband and I highly recommend Hotel Giglio.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 736 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

This was a great base for sightseeing in Florence. Everything was walkable though there were buses too. The chap on reception was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and had some great tips for sights and restaurants, with 10% discount at several nearby. The buffet breakfast made a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This hotel is rated a three star but has a five star staff! The only draw back, if you are at all fragile, is the walk up to the second floor to get into the hotel. Other than that, the entire hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast far beyond my expectations and the staff and owners (who are onsight constantly) are welcoming, accomodating, friendly and helpful. I would never stay at another hotel in Florence because I now consider this my "home away from home". Right on the bus line, with the Duomo within walking distance and Marco offering us rides when we needed them most it is very evident that the staff wants you to have a great time in Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awbraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We just returned form Florence and spent four nights in Hotel Giglio (three continuous nights and one single night with a trip ti Venice in between). The two brothers that own the hotle are fantastic, and they and all the staff speak excellent English. When my wife and I were a bit late on our way the train station for our trip to Venice, they insisted on driving us to the train station despite my inssitence that we would make it on time. On our second stay they again insisted on driving us to the train station.

The hotel location is only about a 10-12 minute walk from the Duomo and 5 minutes to Accadamea (unless you do the local crawl), so the location is gret; far enough to be away from the hustle and bustel but close enough to walk. The hotel is a great value and super clean. There can be some noise from other customers, mostly because the marble floors tend to amplify the sound, but it is not a big problem. Breakfast is quite good and plentiful, at least by Italian hotel standards.

There is no doubt we would return to this hotel on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highdesert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Giglio with two teenage grandsons. We had a very large quad room with adequate bathroom. The owners and staff were very hospitable and the service was first class. The breakfast was very generous and more than adequate, There is a libarary of books and DVD's and free computer usage for guests. We were given a pot of hot water to take to the room whenever we requested. The position is in a quiet area, 10 minutes walk to the Duomo and the rest of Florence. It is a short taxi ride from the train station but the morning we left the owner took us there. A real gem of a hotel. I stongly recommend the Giglio.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Until the Hotel Giglio, I had never experienced such warm hospitality and kindness when staying at a hotel. Mere words just don’t do justice to the wonderful atmosphere and family-feeling the owners and staff manage to create. The way in which they embrace their guests is unparalleled.

Our room was spotless and the bathroom was better equiped and more modern than many I have seen in the States. Breakfast was good. There was a nice variety, the dining room was cheerful and sunny and the staff makes hot drinks to order. My sister, daugher and and I felt very safe in the heart of Florence. The free internet came in really handy.

Marco, Roberto, Manuela and Elisabetta treated us like family. I hope we return someday.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in a quad room and enjoyed our stay... i find it easier to list pros and cons so here goes!

Pros:
- staff were incredibly friendly and did everything they could to recommend things we asked for, local restaurants etc... very helpful
- breakfast was pretty good with free hot drinks, decent selection of yoghurt, fruit, cereals, pastries etc
- beds were quite comfortable
- free internet in rooms... fairly fast
- bathrooms were very clean, as were towels and sheets
- the nicest part was as we were leaving, we asked the hotel to call a taxi for us as the train station is a bit of a trek with luggage, and they just said ´dont worry, we will drive you´!!! So they didnt ask for any money or anything but we tipped them as a thank you... incredible! I have never known a hotel to do that for guests

Cons:
- hotel is definitely not in a prime location... very far up on the north end of town and takes about 30 mins to walk to the old town
- the hotel was incredibly noisy at night. We were on the first floor with reception and could hear absolutely everything, esp at night when noisy drunk ppl stumbled back to their rooms. That was the only thing that really annoyed us... the incredible noise through the doors and walls

In all, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget but would definitely make sure they were aware of the hotels location on a map so they didnt think they were booking something super close to the action

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#161 of 410 in Florence
209 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#95 of 410 in Florence
269 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#153 of 410 in Florence
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#83 of 410 in Florence
447 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#90 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#156 of 410 in Florence
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $78 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing