We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent service and comfortable rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giglio to your Saves list
Hotel Giglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and comfortable rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay here for 3 nights. We were offered coffee during check-in, which was a nice touch! The room was comfortable with air con which actually works (coming from Scotland it was still pretty warm in October for us!!) An issue with our toilet flushing continuously was attended to immediately when reported. We were accompanied to the train station following check out to be shown the fastest route, which was above and beyond what I have experienced at any other hotel. When you leave the hotel, you only have to walk for about 8 minutes in a straight line to reach the duomo. Having stayed in other areas of Florence previously, I would say that Hotel Giglio offers the best value for money in terms of service and location in the city. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen15111511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    201
    43
    18
    4
See reviews for
195
290
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel was great- you could not ask for better service. One morning the proprietor took us to the train station instead of us having to call a cab. Every morning Marco would ask where we were visiting and would offer suggestions, all of which turned out to be very helpful and spot on! He clued us in to a great neighborhood for local restaurants, and we had great meals every night. I would absolutely stay there again. Not to mention, a good location - close to the attactions, but just far enough way to not be crazy crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October. Rooms are nice although a little dark. Very friendly and helpful staff and fantastic location. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals, pastries etc and great coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough but just a block or two too far from the sights. Given how expensive Florence tends to be, this hotel provides good value. The breakfast is good and the staff great. They gave some nice restaurant recommendations as well. Try to get a room with a terrace!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jdwyer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved this hotel. Staff was great! We came in wet and got settled in our room and went to the lobby to use our computers and relax there. We got tea offered and not expected! They could not be more helpful with anything we asked. It was close to restaurants and we found the night market near bye too! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were a group of 5 ladies with a load of luggage, and on arrival had some concern about getting it up to the 2nd floor lobby. However staffers immediately came to our aid, and that was only the beginning. This performance was repeated the following week on our return visit, and additionally they provided translation, had the splendid breakfast out in advance for our early departure, and even brought us coffee hours before check in, while stowing our baggage during that time. Our rooms on both visits, (not the same ones), although not luxurious, were quiet, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The baths were large, and functioned perfectly, with plenty of hot water. The location was convenient, and we had no difficulty in walking to good restaurants and shopping. This will always be my first choice when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Florence at this great little spot. We were dragging around about 50lbs of luggage each so were very excited to find an elevator as check in was on the second floor. Our room was beautifully appointed and everything worked including the shower. When we checked in, we asked them for suggestions about restaurants and they gave 6. We went to 3 of them and they were fantastic. Mimmos, Titos and La Burrasca. The hotel breakfast was incredible and they just kept bringing out more goodies. They had hard boiled eggs, meat, cheese, many different pastries and breakfast tarts. Great cappuccino too. The hotel was definitely within walking distance to the main historic areas. We loved our stay and would highly recommend. We also used the wireless daily and had no issues Face Timing back to the states.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#188 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#77 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#91 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#70 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Florence
#82 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing