We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #130 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Don't be put off by the building when you first enter. The hotel is on the second floor. After a dreary main building entrance with a small elevator for one person, we received a warm welcome to the hotel itself which is located on the second floor.The hotel management was very friendly and extremely helpful in pointing out attractions and places to eat on a map and offering suggestions to avoid initial lineups with the Florence card. The hotel.is well- located with a five-minute walk to the Academia Gallery which houses David and another short walk to the Duomo de Firenze. We booked this hotel based on reviews in Fodor's See It Florence and Tuscany and Trip Advisor, and we were not disappoionted. The room was large, bathroom quite new, the air conditioning was great. Breakfast was good with meat, cheese, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, etc. Cappuccino every morinng was a nice way to start the day. Florence is a city where you walk to see everything, and this hotel is in a great location to do that. If we return to Florence, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    213
    44
    18
    4
See reviews for
211
297
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Well positioned hotel about 12-15 min walk from the centre. My husband, 16 year old son and I stayed for 3 nights in July. We had a room on a floor to ourselves up a short flight of stairs. It was very quiet and we felt like we had a separate wing. The room was comfortable although a little old fahioned. Staff were extremely helpful and we witnessed this on many occasions. A selection of Dvd's to borrow made our son happy. Breakfast was very good with plenty of pastries. The hotel were very quick answering our emails about parking and then sorted it out for us when we arrived. The staff were the best thing about the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TJDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We can't say enough about this hotel. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and the location is convenient. Breakfast was excellent- lots of fresh fruit, rolls, meats, and great cappuccino. The owners were great about giving us tips on places to visit and directions for the easiest ways to get there on foot. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay here! Booked on the basis of TA reviews and were not disappointed. Thanks to Marco and Luca for all their helpfulness booking tours for us and giving us ideas on where to go, what to see, where to eat. Also very centrally located. It is right near the main sights and the station - Florence is a walking city so once you come to terms with that, the hotel is exceptionally well positioned. Wifi works exceptionally well, rooms were big and spacious and the bathroom spotless and decent with great water pressure in the shower. Breakfasts also great with nice fresh fruit variety and excellent coffee made by M. Nothing was too much for them - they went out of their way to help us and even helped us plan the next part of our trip from Naples to Positano. Great for kids too as they have a whole host of dvds, playstation games, puzzles, toys etc available. Considering what they have to work with in terms of the old building and space, Marco and Roberto have made this into a beautiful hotel that considers all the needs of its guests and strives to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible. Would definitely stay here when in Florence again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tokyostar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days here. The owner was delightful and full of recommendations and advice. He helpfully marked up our map telling us where to go. He even gave us a lift to the train when we left! Our room was huge and clean, it was a quad overlooking the front door. It was quiet. Breakfast was European and fresh and good and they were happy to let us take breakfast back to our layabed teenager. Its a bit of a hike from downtown, especially to come back to change and then go off back near the river to dinner again. But not so far as to need a bus or cab. The wifi was inconsistant but it never actually cut out. A great visit. It was almost like staying with a local friend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The room and bath were good size, and very comfortable; the location was a bit of a hike into the city center, but the bus was very close; the staff was more than helpful. All together a good place to stay in Florence

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We felt very much at home at this Hotel. The Management and staff were genuinely helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast in a delightful dining room. Comfortable room and bed. This is an older style hotel, entry of which is by the first floor. There is an elevator. Location is excellent. Furthermore, upon preparing to leave the hotel for the train station, we were unexpectedly and pleasantly surprised by the Manager (or owner) offering - and in fact taking us together with our luggage to the station in his own vehicle. Upon offering to pay for the ride, I was told "No! This is free." We had not experienced such kindness above the call of duty from a hotel before. Beautiful people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#176 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#123 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#111 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing