We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #136 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i chose this hotel after reading many positive reviews on trip advisor. We found the staff extremely helpful with given us directions around the city (provided maps etc) and the room very clean. It was also located in walking distance to all the sights and restaurants etc. The WIFI was excellent - and breakfast was adequate. Apon check out, the owner drove us to pick up our hire car and was very helpful which saved us some euro for not having to catch a taxi. If there was 1 thing that we were a little unsatisfied about was the bed. The bed was not so comfortable and a little hard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    220
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
216
301
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really, the people staff could not be more helpful and gracious. Our room is fantastic, charming and not at all generic, and much larger than I had expected (although not LARGE). The breakfast is varied and copious, with a wonderful fresh fruit salad. Florence can feel a bit like a consumerist theme park, and this hotel is just close enough to be able to visit everything easily and just removed enough so that you can remove yourself from the tourist frenzy. PS As part of a gay couple I felt completely welcome here; one never knows.

Room Tip: room A was lovely; up a flight of stairs that takes you ONLY to this room. A bathroom that is far e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasurepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed the personal service and advice of the owners.Although we had been to Florence before we were pleased to find new places away from the crowds,as suggested by Marco .The hotel room we had was spacious if basic but was a pleasant change from the usual hotels on offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

It really depends what you are after? Staff were fantastic, friendly, there was a kids play area with play station and DVDs for the room. However the rooms were VERY noise sensitive, almost unbearable especially at night. Clean for sure and beds comfortable. But wifi didnt work in our room at the end of the corridor. Sheets and doona had old stains and marks. Breakfast was appalling -hard stale bread, old fruit, no milk was even put out. However if you're young backpackers or young family maybe this is great! But other than that I would not recomed it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becjvallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival, this hotel was a little daunting since the front desk is located on the second floor. There is a tiny (one person) manual service elevator to use to load your luggage in order to avoid lugging it up the stairs. There are no signs when entering from the street level, but the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the city center and the Accademia and all of the other sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from_texas_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Located on a second floor with a tiny elevator, the rooms were spacious and breakfast each morning with owner Marco was a delight. Close enough to the city center to be a short walk from all of the sights and activities without the overwhelming crowds. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Italy vacation and it was the highlight of all our accommodations. We absolutely loved this place! The staff was the friendliest people you will ever come across. Very welcoming. The breakfast was great. A great quiet location close to the heart of Florence. I would never stay at another place if I ever get the chance to visit Florence. You won't find a better place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#134 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#112 of 411 in Florence
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#81 of 411 in Florence
376 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#92 of 411 in Florence
386 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing