We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brilliant hospitality & Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #131 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant hospitality & Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Florence was the second stop of our trip through Italy. We arrived at Hotel Giglio mid-morning & were welcomed by a friendly & extremely helpful member of staff. We were shown to our room which was ample in size for our stay & the bathroom was huge! Both were spotlessly clean. A map was provided & the tourist locations highlighted for ease of use. This map was well worn when we left. All of the sights were within walking distance & we marvelled at the beauty of Florence as we took various paths through the city.
The breakfast provided was delicious & varied to account for many tastes.
The most amazing & surprising service provided was the trip to the station. We asked the front desk to call a taxi for us. There wasn't a need as the owner took us in his van & assisted with our luggage. No payment, gratuity needed. In fact, it was refused. This left us speechless.
We would highly recommend staying at Hotel Giglio not only because of the great accommodation & location but the little touches that make travelling feel more like visiting friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJA674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    201
    43
    18
    4
See reviews for
197
290
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Florence and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were amazing and even offered to drive us to the train station on the morning that we left which was a nice treat. The hotel also take care of booking a trip for use to the Tuscan wine country as well as making reservations for museums and anything else we required. Breakfast was great and the staff were more then willing to make any kind of coffee you wanted. Rooms were quiet and we got a room that backed onto the garden area in the back, with a small balcony which was a real treat. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Florence that want a nice friendly hotel with a bit of a traditional feel to it. Bit of a walking distance from some places, about 20 mins from train station, so if you are planning on walking places keep that in mind, we did not find it hard to get anywhere however.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent customer service. Clean and top notch amenities. Good location. Accompanying breakfast with variety.

All staff working there were extremely friendly and helpful. When we first arrived the staff was extremely warm and friendly, got the room ready and gave us lots of advice. He brought our bags to the room, showed us how to open the ceiling to floor windows and gave some advice about Florence sights. The other staff were just as friendly and helpful, whether we needed to book a restaurant, arrange a trip or get to the airport.

Place was clean. TV+DVD, wifi everywhere. Washroom was also really nice. What you expect from a 4 star hotel.

Location - brisk walk to where you needed to go yet still quiet place for accomodations.

Breakfast - lots of variety, free and they make you coffee etc.

If I ever go to Florence again this will be my #1 place to stay.

Nothing negative to say about this.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great Location, was our third city of our holiday, and was the only city where we never used public transportation. We just walked to everywhere. (So no need to but those public transportation passes as you will not need them, unless you hate walking - but then again you will miss all the beautiful sights if you didn't walk around). The people at the desk are all very friendly and helpful - restaurant suggestions, tour suggestions and events in the city during the time we were there were all given to us.

This place had the most food for breakfast that we stayed at for our entire trip, although for me (a bit of a health nut though not so bad when on vacation), it was too much of carbs and sugar - pastries, bread, cereals, NUTELLA :) cake and fruits - but still it was buffet style and you can get as much as you want if you wanted to.

About a 20min walk to the main train station, pleasant 10-minute walk to the Duomo / Mercato area.

Rooms very basic and simple but was ok. I liked the huge windows that made it feel like a was really somewhere in Italy :) (picture attached)

Only thing maybe is that the rooms farther from the front desk had very weak almost zero wifi.... but then once you are in the common area/ breakfast area, wifi was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinziWinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A bit on the outskirts, but not too far out. Only a 10 minute walk to the Accademia where the statue of David is located, for example.
It's a very quiet hotel and quite safe. The staff is most pleasant. It's nothing fancy, but it has all the basic amenities (wifi, breakfast, TV, hair dryer, air conditioning, heater, dvd player). For 70 Euro a night, I think it's a good deal, and I can spend the money I saved on hotel on some nice Italian shoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a great stay in this hotel, the staff were friendly and very helpful - recommended some great restaurants and even drove us back to the train station. The room might be a little basic, but it was clean, everything worked and the shower was great. Breakfast was lovely and included some very yummy cakes! The reception area of the hotel had a computer that is free to use for guests and a selection of DVD’s (the rooms have a TV and DVD player)
The hotel is in a great location too, the Duomo is just a 10 minute walk down the road. I will stay here again when returning to Florence!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Pros:
1) The owners were really nice, they were genuinely interested in us and even drove us to the airport.
2) The room was clean and functional.
3) We arrived very late and check-in was quick and easy.
4) Well located, near the major museums, cathedral and train station.
5) There is a public computer.

Cons:
1) Could have had more choice for breakfast.
2) Staff were generally nice, however, staff were more helpful and nice when the owners were around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#185 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#101 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#135 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing