We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Start”
Review of Hotel Villani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villani
Ranked #233 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After a lot of discussion, we all planned a 10 days vacation in Italy and decided to visit Florence city first. The city is very beautiful and Hotel Villani the place, which we booked for accommodation, was - just superb!! It is an elegant hotel appointed with all the luxurious amenities and is very close to the major attractions of the city. Room which we got was spacious, clean and had a great bathroom. One of our friends had some issues regarding mattresses, the staff immediately changed it. They really value their guest. We had a great time there and would definitely recommend this place to our other friends and family members.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews found here. We got to the hotel to find it smelled horrible, there was a man passed out in the lobby and a very dirty space. We asked to see a room and found it to be unacceptable so we thanked the man at the desk and found a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank MeredithFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This gem of a hotel is one block from the Domo, and a quick walk from the metro station. (Get good directions from Erminio and you'll definitely find it). The location was perfect. We spent 3 nights there in October 2012. Request a front room with a view of the Domo. There is also a really nice roof-top terrace. The only thing we didn't like was the shower in the bathroom - it's really small, similar to cruise ship showers. Other than the shower, we loved this place and will definitely stay there again. It's a great value for the price. The best gelato place in Florence is right across the street from the Villani. The owner/host, Erminio, was very helpful and hospitable. A car is definitely not needed. Florence is a wonderful city to experience on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view of the Domo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are many choices for accommodation in Florence. I am really happy to have settled on Hotel Villani. I wanted convenience to attractions, clean, reasonable comfort, a reasonable degree of quiet, and breakfast with coffee to begin each day. Hotel Villani delivers on all counts, plus, as everyone raves about, the rooftop terrace with a view directly onto the Duomo, and Brunelleschi's incredible dome. It was definitely exhilarating to sit there, having a glass of wine, listening to the church bells, and feeling the magic of Florence seep into your pores. Breakfast is taken indoors with another direct view of that amazing dome. Erminio serves gigantic croissants and large cups of cappuccino to start your day ... if your routine requires fruit, bring your own. This hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and Erminio will email you excellent directions so that you don't get lost. He will also help you book reservations for museums, and can direct you to the best gelato at Vivoli's, the oldest pharmacy, or anything else you have a desire for. I booked rooms for myself and 6 friends here, and all of us feel the same about Erminio and his hotel: We MUST return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodmigrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel Villani is a hidden treasure in Florence that has the most magnificent view of the Duomo. Situated on the 4th (top) floor, it also has a lovely terrace where you can look over the rooftops of Florence as well as the historical landmarks.
The owner Erminio makes the best cappuccinos with breakfast of fresh croissants. The rooms are spacious, clean, with bathroom and air conditioning. Downstairs is a superb gelato shop that has people queuing at all hours of the day and night. Recommended by a friend, Hotel Villani has a view from its front rooms that defies description and was one of the highlights of my trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimM1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is located a few steps from the Duomo. Really!!! It is that close! Which is great. But, it was very difficult to find, even with GPS!!! I do not recommend driving there. For me it was an absolute nightmare (though my husband, the driver of the car, thought it was fine!?).

When we eventually found it, we had to wait at least 30 minutes in the street for someone to take the car to a parking garage). And of course when we left, we had to again wait, probably close to an hour, for them to bring the car back to us. As I said, driving is not recommended!!!

The rooms are basic (but clean), which are to be expected for a 2 star hotel, I suppose. The star of the show, however, is the roof terrace. Wow!!!!!! It is magical at night. It feels as if you can touch the duomo. This alone made the stay worthwhile and is responsible for the hotel scoring at least another point or two.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilzedewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

eminio villani's small hotel on the 4th floor of via del oche, 11 in florence is a fantastic place to stay. the views from some rooms are of the duomo unobstructed(!!) and others have great views of the towers and spires leading to the arno river. i have stayed at hotel villani with students many times and it never disappoints us. its old world charm and ultra cleanliness add to the ambience of this outstanding value. erminio consistently serves the BEST cappucino i've ever tasted anywhere. another bonus for travelers who don't speak italian very well is erminio's excellent command of english. the view from the top floor of hotel villani is INCREDIBLE!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenn128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#222 of 410 in Florence
529 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#205 of 410 in Florence
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#202 of 410 in Florence
301 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#175 of 410 in Florence
408 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#60 of 410 in Florence
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villani

Address: Via Dell'Oche 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $49 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villani 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing