We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel, possibly a two....”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #384 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Reception staff on front desk were young and inexperienced and had to check any queries with senior staff I a rear room. Lounge was very small. There were four steep steps leading to reception and no ramp or anybody to help with cases. The room was very small, pokey and claustrophobic but clean. Window shutters were jammed three quarters of the way down and could not be opened. There was no shower only a bath. Restaurant staff and breakfast were just about acceptable. There was a TV in the room but only Italian channels available.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is claustrophobic. This is at best a two star hotel - d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryem894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 579 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely and depressingly filthy and outdated.
No internet other than in the 60's style museum that passes for a lounge.
Mostly rude staff. Clerk insisted U settle uo front for visitors tax the moment I checked in for a 5 night stay.

Far from EVERYTHING !

I truly regret not having checked other traveller reviews but my trip was arranged in a rush.

Does not merit 2 stars, let alone 4.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We came here around 10 pm and we quikly had a room. With a free parkingplace. It was hot and the airconditioning didn't work. The room was old, but clean. Bathroom could use an update. View was nice, staff also and the breakfast to. No 4 star hotel, but we didn't pay that much either and you only have to walk for 20 minutes to get downtown. Wouldn't recommend it, but for only 1 night we were fine with it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clau1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Well, location is excellent, that is probably the only 4 star thing about this hotel. Rooms are not that bad , but they are not clean at all. Breakfast is ok, staff in restaurant and in hotel is also 3 star, not 4 definetly, on pictures there is a nice terase on top of hotel, but to be true there is nowhere to by drink, bar is not working. And also the terase is not as on the pictures, in reality there are 5,6 old plastic chairs , two tables ( one with the hole in middle).
Anyhow i would stay again.
remember
location location location

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boris023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Awful, rude service and dirty rooms. Dated furniture. And really awful night manager. We came in late one night and before we made it through the door, the man at the desk was shushing us furiously, even though we knew to be quiet. As we were getting our keys, one of the girls in our group made a joke with a curse word in it. The man stared at her and rudely said "Very lady-like language" with a glare. I would never stay here again for how awful we were treated.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolak116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We decided to book this hotel as the rate was competitive for a Hotel that was 4 (?!) star. At the end of our stay we were charged extra quite significant amount as it turns out that you pay supplement per person per night for each star a hotel has - this one was 4 (?!). Filth, blood or poo on the bathroom door, no internet, mold and toilet you want to forget. I don't have words to describe this dirty hole but please check pictures that I took in our room before you will decide to book. And just don't. you will be better anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was in Florence for a school trip and the tour company booked this place. We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest it was an okay stay. The staff was friendly. Although the rooms were small and outdated they were pretty comfortable and clean. We were staying 3 to a room and there were 3 twin beds. 2 were quite comfortable, while the other one wasn't. The room also included a desk, a TV (which only played Italian channels, but was quite new), two nightstands, and a closet which included a safe. The bathroom however was really small and had no shower curtain, meaning that when you showered, water would spray everywhere. Another thing to note is that there aren't many outlets and about half of them were broken. The wifi isn't that great and can only be used in the lobby. Breakfast was quite nice, but it only consisted of two types of pastries, meat and cheese, yogurt, and for drinks there was juice, milk and a coffee machine. Overall I would say that this is the place if you're only staying here 1-3 nights and on a budget.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the back, otherwise a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Masaccio
#272 of 410 in Florence
186 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#233 of 410 in Florence
592 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#170 of 410 in Florence
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#308 of 410 in Florence
47 reviews
Hotel Airone
#335 of 410 in Florence
16 reviews
Diva Hotel
#291 of 410 in Florence
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: Lungarno Cristoforo Colombo 22/a, 50136, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $45 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing