We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for seeing Florence.”
Review of Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alex
Ranked #233 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is out of town but is just 5 mins walk to the local tram stop - which will get you into Florence in about 15 mins.

I wish we'd eaten dinner at the adjoining restaurant as it looked great (and the breakfast buffet we ate there was very above average).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexinthemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 276 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is out of town but only a few minutes walk to tram station where you can make use of this clean efficient public transport & be downtown in the thick of old FLorence in about 10mins.
The hotel itself was very clean albeit smallish room but good kingsize bed. Breakfast was adequate. Price was good at Euro63 for couple, B&B booked through Bookings.com Plenty of tourist information at reception. Found an excellent bijou cafe, Chilli Cafe nearby & Pizzeria Calypso also nearby that was inundated with locals.... all in all I would revisit this area in preference to fighting the traffic in downtown Florence

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very nice and clean hotel, nice rooms, very nice breakfast. Enjoyed staying there. It is about 10 min from train station in a tram, but we only used it a few times. Florence is very small, we always walked everywhere by feet.

Room Tip: The one we had was with windows on the street - very noisy street at night. It was 201 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milena908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October of 2009. The hotel is not centrally located. The building is quite old but the rooms are sufficiently sized in comparison to other hotels I've stayed in, in Florence. The front desk clerk at the time was quite helpful, he allowed me to check in early and was conversant in English. With this hotel you get what you pay for.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
Thank Kanini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times because it is convenient for our cause. It is nothing exceptional, just a room, most of the time clean with a ok bed and old fashioned furniture. The staff are always very polite and the breakfast is a combination of cheap pastries and cereal. The coffee for italian standards is terrible as it is made from a already mix machine. But don't despear, there are plenty of good bars around. The location is rather out of the way as far as the city centre is concerned. The area is residential with nothing really to see or experience. You can take a bus and tram that will take you to the centre under 20 minutes time. It is what it is, as an italian I'll be the first to say that hotels in Italy are always exaggerated as far as rating is concerned. This is really a 2 star hotel with no frills. It will give you a night sleep without spending a fortune. If you set your expectations low than this hotle with provide you with what most people on a budget require. In this day and age it is a rarity as Italy is becoming increasingly expensive. A note of caution having lived in Florence for many years. Avoid eating in the centre restaurants which are catered for tourists offering mediocre food at expensive prices. Thirty years ago you could have been guaranteed to eat well in most places in Italy but that is no longer the case so I would ask a local for suggestions..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amadeus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We was extremely pleased with many aspects of this hotel.

The reception/breakfast area is attractive, making a good first impression. We were very impressed with our room, which was a good size, very clean and attractively furnished. The en-suite was a good size too. Our room also has a flat screen tv, and free wifi. We were on the top floor at the back of the hotel, and our room had a balcony, and it was very pleasant sitting there having a drink. It's a shame they don't make more of an effort with the balcony though. There were just two old and dirty plastic chairs, one of which was broken, causing me to almost fall to the floor!

The hotel has a carpark, which is free to use, and the main reason why we chose this hotel in preference to a more central one. However, it is extremely quick and easy getting to the centre of Florence, there is a tram stop about two mintues walk away, and then about a 10-15 minute ride.

The breakfast was simple but fine for our purposes. It consisted of serial, croissants and rolls, with jam, cheese or cold meat. You could help yourself to ready made latte or tea, or get a fresh one from the bar. The lady serving was extremely friendly and helpful.

The only (minor) things I can fault the hotel on is the attitude of some of the reception staff. On one occasion the shutter in my room was not working (it wouldn't go down), and I reported this to the young guy at reception. He said he'd come up in 15 minutes. After he didn't appear, I mentioned it to him again, and he appeared a little impatient. He couldn't fix the shutter (which didn't really matter anyway), but it wasn't repaired during the remaining 2 days of our stay, nor mentioned at all. Another member of staff seemed impatient when I asked him to clarify the location of a restaurant that he had recommended earlier.

When we returned to our hotel one afternoon, there was a large pool of water in the bedroom! We can only assume that the person who cleaned the room had accidentally knocked the bucket over. We used one of the hand towels to mop it up, but didn't say anything to the staff as it seemed quite trivial.

At one point by partner noticed a foot mark on the ceiling!! The ceiling is about 10 feet high, and I have no idea how it got there! We guested that maybe a previous guest must have been fooling around. I suppose the cleaners don't tend to concentrate on the ceilings!

Overall, I thought it was a great hotel, very good value for money, and would have been perfect if it were not for the small things that I mentioned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I expected the worse but it was a very good and nice place. Small and friendly. We stay for 4 nights and use the local bus for travel to the center of Florence.
The restaurant in the next house was perfect. Not a romantic restaurant, but very good food.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertsve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Diva Hotel
#291 of 411 in Florence
533 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#199 of 411 in Florence
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ungherese
#216 of 411 in Florence
270 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#178 of 411 in Florence
324 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#269 of 411 in Florence
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex

Address: Via Baccio da Montelupo 18/20, 50142, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $61 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing