We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, price, service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pugi

Pugi
Ranked #532 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Marco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, price, service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for quick lunch after seeing David. Some of better take away pizza and sandwiches we had here, plus it was served to us by a friendly, happy person!

Helpful?
Thank hockeyed96
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    116
    40
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited at lunch time when it was really busy; packed with locals. It took us a while to work out the system – you take a ticket on entry and wait for your number to come up on the board at the back of the shop, then order food and take it to the till. We enjoyed a variety of bread/pizza from here and returned for a second visit. Made for a very good value lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
368 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“I wish I could eat here every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Don't know whether to first discuss the amazing food or the incredible value. Two of us ate for 5 euro, and that wasn't the best part. This focaccia is out of this world. Tip: you pay by the weight, so order 4 skinny pieces so you can try many flavors! What a shame to get one fat piece! Get several thinner ones!! We thought the onion was the bomb, but there are so many wonderful choices. Seriously, I will eat here every day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
293 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Great pizza, breads and pastries served with a SMILE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

As an American resident of Florence, one of the things I miss most about the States is being greeted with a smile when you enter a shop, even if they don't know you. While there are many positive aspects of living in Italy, friendly customer service is not a priority here - unless they know you. It's unfortunate that Florentines often seem rather jaded. I enjoy going to PUGI because everyone who works there is so pleasant and customer service is clearly a priority. But even if that weren't the case, PUGI would still get my vote because their pizza (by the slice or a whole pie), breads and pastries are all first rate. Their prices are reasonable and there's always a rush of customers so you know it's going to be good. Be sure to grab a number as you enter for faster service. PUGI recently opened another location in Gavinana on the other side of the Arno. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice fresh pizza slices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great place to pop in and select from pizza slices, pastries and other reasonably priced food. A few seats inside or stand and use the shelves

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ParlettDott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pugi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Pugi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing