We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has the David!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Accademia di Belle Arti

Accademia di Belle Arti
Ranked #79 of 426 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It has the David!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

A lovely museum that houses one of the most important pieces in the art world. A must! The David is the reason you go and the first room on the right is impressive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank aamaris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    55
    18
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“11euro for 1 statue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Accademia as a whole was very unimpressive. So basically you are paying 11 euro for David. Unless you are a true artist who can appreciate religious arts.

DO NOT GET THE AUDIO GUIDE! It is so poorly done and non-informative that its basically a waste of money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One-hit-wonder, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We all know why people visit...to see David. If you want to see a superb example of the mastery of sculpture, this is a definite must-see. Seeing the Statue of David up close and in person is a moving experience. It certainly is majestic, although I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with his backside. After such a "chiseled" front I am surprised that he obviously left squats out of his gym regimen. Oh well, who am I to judge, I can barely touch my own feet.

The rest of the museum is what you would expect from an Italian museum- religiously inspired. So, for me, the statue was kinda it, a quick visit. If you forget to pre-book, either wait in the line, or do what we did and pop for the slightly more expensive ticket from the ticket office across the street and get a fixed entry time. There are lots of places to eat while you wait.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FinerThingsKlub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denair, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing sculptures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Accademia is a huge gallery of art pieces. They do not allow photos to be taken inside the Academia. So that means you have to sneak your phone out to get any pictures. The detail in the statue of David is amazing. You can see the veins through out his body. Especially in his arms and hands. Amazing to think that Michelangelo was only 25 years old when he completed the sculpture I believe. Also that it is from one solid block came this amazing sculpture.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went on a Wednesday and had no lines to get in and it was not crowded. Beautiful sculptures and paintings throughout and of course the famous statue of David. Truly remarkable in the fine details displayed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Accademia di Belle Arti also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Accademia di Belle Arti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing