We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Ranked #124 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fabulous location, beautiful hotel. Perfect service. Fantastic roof top terrace with panoramic views. Rooms vary a great deal as expected in a palace conversion. Some bathrooms are minuscule. And yes, you may be several staircases away from reception (though most rooms are near the elevators). But each twist and turn reveals a delightful surprise . . . Common sitting rooms, bar, dining room, vistas, art, maps, doorways, tiled hallways, etc. If you want typical mod con, there's probably a Holiday Inn near the airport. If you want to relax and experience the essence of Florence, stay here.

Room Tip: Views are best on one of the top floors. Let them know if stairs are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arborglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 822 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have just returned from a week in Florence,staying at this lovely and very comfortable hotel.
The room was huge with some lovely features and overlooked the square... Perfect.
Breakfast was a feast,great coffee and lovely pastries. The staff were helpful and very friendly .
The position couldn't be better for restaurants, views and a perfect location from which to explore this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently visited this hotel after a long absence; in fact I had lived there during the year of 1977, when it was under the direction of its impeccable creator and founder, Signora Lensi Orlando Beacci. I discovered that not only have none of the originally charming features been altered, but that it looked just as impeccable, comfortable and cosy as it did then, including its rooftop terrace, but that additional floors in the building have been incorporated, with the same style, comfort and elegance as the original. Angelo Lemmo, who was 34 years ago a young waiter, and contemporary of mine is now expertly managing things along with his lovely wife, Patrizia, and the owners are the same who took it over from Signora Beacci many years ago. It is nice that once in awhile good things never change, as rare as that is!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hws_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel has no front desk to speak of and no concierge
Cramped entry hall, no main floor sitting area
I had to go up and down 26 steps to reach my room, which was adequate but as I am 74, I was not happy with the steps
Coffee at breakfast was undrinkable, and this in coffee-obsessed Italy!
Location superb. Roof terrace pleasant but I was told I could not eat my gelato, bought next door, on the terrace which seemed unfriendly.
I would not return

Room Tip: Ask about steps to the room so as to avoid climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We were with a tour so did not select this hotel, but would return. Location superb, bed comfy, bathroom nicely appointed, plenty of space, love the roof terrace. The shower has yuk key grout issues which needs help. The closet space is huge but several of the doors ( there were 6!) did not work. Breakfest was good altho' there was nothing hot ( scrambled eggs and bacon were cold). They got slammed so there was a re supply issue for popular items & coffee. Go early. Small issues, really. Great spot to sightsee from.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FarmorB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is ideally located! The staff was friendly but the cleaning staff really needs to use bleach in the bathrooms as the mold is out of control. We had two rooms, one of which was absolutely beautiful, tastefully decorated and boasted a new bath but still had serious mold issues in the shower. The other room was not lovely. It was dark, old, dirty, the shower was extremely moldy, tiles were chipped, walls had holes. Considering we were footing the bill for both rooms, it was a bit disappointing. All in all, we spent very little time in our rooms, the roof top patio is delightful. If the mold issue is corrected and the older rooms brought up to par, it would be a real stand out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spbge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A short walk from the train station brought us to this lovely palazzo filled with antiques and artwork at every turn. And I must say there were many turns in getting to our rooms, but they were charming. Breakfast was certainly adequate. The location was excellent, not too far from anything we wanted to visit. We were not interested in all the upscale shops surrounding the hotel; but if that's your thing, you'll be in paradise here! I did resort to earplugs for sleeping, as I am no longer accustomed to city noises. All in all, a wonderful base for our exploration of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia39090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#84 of 410 in Florence
1,874 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 410 in Florence
424 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#137 of 410 in Florence
835 reviews
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#108 of 410 in Florence
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#102 Business Hotel in Florence
#152 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $109 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing