We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hotel, exceptional service, wonderful garden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Ranked #97 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Splendid hotel, exceptional service, wonderful garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Situated in the heart of historical Florence, this family-owned hotel is one I find easy to recommend! I have stayed here on more than ten occasions and never stay anywhere else when in Florence. (Have brought friends, family and business guests here)
It has a beautifully maintained rooftop garden which leads from the cocktail lounge.There are large comfortable public rooms on each floor. Staff are always obliging and willing to assist guests.
The breakfast room is large and offers a wide selection. At times a light evening meal is also offered.
If you like to stay in historical places and in the heart of town, then this lovely hotel is definitely one for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    298
    98
    30
    19
See reviews for
184
338
47
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I recommend this hotel Because it is in a good location nice breakfast and average service. The negative side is all they recommend is 'Harrys Bar'.

Room Tip: 219 or 218 are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieVikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I recently stayed in Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci in Florence. We had booked the hotel with miles and was not sure of what to expect. The minute we got there we were amazed by the good service. The people at the reception desk are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in an old palazzo which is historic. The elevator is extremely small but was a very nice change because we had stayed in several hotels with no elevators and hauling the suitcases has a nightmare. You do have to carry the suitcases for 1 floor but there is always someone to help you carry them.
The room was very small but nice and clean. The only thing I would say is not great is the breakfast. The buffet is very simple and not many things to choose from but at least it is included. The bar area is very nice and quiet if you want to sit and enjoy a book while sipping a good glass of wine. It has a beautiful little terrace where you can enjoy an amazing view of the city. It is located a couple of blocks from Ponte Vecchio and next to many shops. Would definitely recommend staying!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyedoc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We've got a double plus room at 3rd floor with a nice view in Piazza Santa Trinita. The hotel has a very friendly personnel and a nice breakfast were you can choose from espresso - to american coffee or original cappuccino. Try the terrace with a splendid view over Florence. Heard the pigeons give some hard time in summer but we were here from 16th to 20th November.
Look for the history of the Palace , there is a huge book with all fameous buildings in Florence at the 3rd floor.
Don't be afraid of the old style furniture if you're looking for a historical hotel.
We will be back for sure in Florence and if there is a good deal rate , back to Tornabuoni who has an excellent location for visiting and shopping.

Room Tip: look for the professional photos on site and generally go for more than double standard who might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alin sergiu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We found the hotel quiet and loved the roof garden where we had breakfast and our evening drink.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I really like the location of this hotel, within quick walking distance to most everything and right next to the bridge across the Arno. Like all hotels in Florence, the entry is small, a narrow hall that leads to a tiny desk at the base of some imposing stairs. There you will be greeted by the desk clerk. Angelo is usually who greeted us, a very kind and personable gentleman. There are 3 tiny elevators available as well as the stairs to get up to the rooms.

Recently they have added 30 more rooms by taking over the lower floors of the bldg, whereas before one had to go up to the 4th floor before reaching the hotel check in desk. We stayed on the 4th and 5th floor which are the older rooms. I asked a woman that was staying on the 3rd floor if she liked her room and she said it was nice, however, I never had the chance to see one.

Our room was very elegant and spacious, #20, as was #30 above us. The two windows afforded a pleasant view over the city and being on the back side meant we were not subject to street noise. The bathroom was small, but had a tub instead of a shower stall. The wardrobe had extra blankets and pillows stored for use. There were about 10 hangers for clothes and plenty of drawer space. A small refrigerator was in the room, but I never opened it. There was plenty of lighting as well, which is sometimes a rarity in Italian hotels.

There is a very nice rooftop terrace with different cozy areas for sitting aside with friends. It's a wonderful atmosphere for sitting to read, relax, or have drinks before dinner. There is also an inside bar with comfortable places to sit for reading or having tea. The breakfast room is on the same hall (on the 4th floor). With the doubling of their room capacity, it makes for a cramped breakfast room. The breakfast was adequate and actually had more offerings than the usual Italian hotel; bread rolls, croissant, yogurt, whole fruits, fruit compote, cakes, jams and nutella, meats and cheese, bottled water (still and gas), with coffee brought to your table upon request. The hotel staff did not seem to speak much English but we were able to get along just fine since everyone seems to understand the word, coffee. The hot chocolate is nice as well.

For some reason we had trouble with housekeeping restocking one of our rooms with the shampoo bottles and toilet paper. Angelo was prompt to call housekeeping for us for the issue to be addressed, however, the same thing happened each night.

If you do not like stairs then you should make sure you are not on the top floor, as the elevator does not go to the 5th floor. You must weave your way through a maze of narrow hallways and up a flight of stairs. It was not an issue for us, as I like to use the stairs instead of the elevator for exercise, but for some people this may be a concern of which you need to be aware.

The location, elegant room, and charming rooftop terrace all make a nice combination for me. I don't think it's a good choice if you're on a budget, but otherwise I recommend it.

Room Tip: newer rooms are on the lower floors, while older rooms are on the top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnbikegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Tornabuoni was recommended by friends who live in Florence, and we couldn't have been more pleased with its location and authenticity. Our room (#8) was next to the bar, but quiet, spacious, with a large bathroom, antique furnishings, a too-firm Italian bed, and a terrific view of the rooftops and distant hills. Breakfast was a treat, especially on the terrace with great views. The location of the hotel can't be beat. We walked comfortably to all of the major churches, museums and sights in Florence. The hotel is also on the main upscale shopping street in Florence, but guess what -- we have most of the same stores with the same merchandise in Boston and New York, so we weren't tempted to do much shopping.

Room Tip: Try No. 8 for a spacious room near the terrace and restaurant and with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwshark$
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Duomo
Calzaiuoli Hotel
Calzaiuoli Hotel
#64 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Property: Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#100 Business Hotel in Florence
#126 Family Hotel in Florence
#152 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing