We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in their Flat”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bond Head
1 review
“We stayed in their Flat”
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We actually stayed in the Florence Flat that is operated by Andrea of Hotel Alessandra and we couldn't say enough good things about it!! There were four of us and the flat was spacious, clean, centrally located and excellently equipped but it was our host who made our stay so memorable. He was absolutely amazing. This man goes above and beyond to make your stay the best possible. We had luggage that never arrived from Lufthansa and Andrea kept on that for us over the three day stay - totally above and beyond! he meets you at the flat and gives you tons of info on the area, books any museum tickets that you want at no extra charge - tells you where to eat...what to see...he's simply fabulous!
You contact Andrea at [--]. There is a bedroom with king bed and a murphy bed in the living room which is very spacious and you don't even notice the space that the murphy takes up. They have a guest book at the door that has tons of excellent tips from others who have stayed before you and not a single person has a bad thing to say - it gets a 10 out of 10 every time!!!!

  • Liked — the host!
  • Disliked — no balcony
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We am so overjoyed that we could be so helpful to you on your stay in Florence. This review is really music to our ears, you all are fabulous guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you so much for staying at Hotel Alessandra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    472
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
367
843
155
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Our room was quite large and airy, and the location of the hotel couldn't be better...but the genuinely friendly and helpful staff outshines everything else.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Shared bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We love you love the location as much as we do! Close to the beautiful Ponte Vecchio and many other historical sites in the city - all within walking distance. We are glad that our staff could be of help to you as well, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, ID
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Although there were "technical difficulties" with our stay (and we only ended up staying one night instead of two), the staff went out of their way to do everything possible to resolve the problem. Just before we arrived, the air conditioning failed in 3 of their rooms -- of course our room housed the a/c machinery. They were able to rebook us into another room for the first night but they were totally booked the second. Not only did they give us a huge discount on the huge room that they moved us to but they couldn't have been nicer. It all worked out in the end.....we decided to get out of hot and humid Florence and head to Lucca a day early. This hotel is VERY clean. The hike up the stairs to the elevator reminded me again that I should've packed lighter :)

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — the hike up to the elevator
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sunvalleyjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Very disappointed to hear about the a/c (but it has recently all been replaced with new units), we are glad to see that you still enjoyed your stay anyway. Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Alessandra, and the next time you decide to stay with us our a/c will be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvannia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

Hotel Alessandra was a great place to start our trip. It's location was wonderful, our room was very comfortable and the Hotel staff was very helpful and informative. Florence is a large city that was quite relaxed so it gave us time to get our bearings before moving on to Rome. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we travel back to Florence!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lemontreelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Very happy that we started off your trip in a positive way, hopefully the rest of it went just as smoothly. Thank you for staying with us - and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We booked this hotel based on the location, price and air conditioning. we were planning on staying in Florence for a week and using it as a home base for when we traveled to Pisa, Tuscany and Cinque Terra. It was a great find. Be prepared to walk up a few flights of stairs! the rooms are big and clean. TV has a few English stations. The hotel is located right near Ponte Vecchio and some rooms have a great view.
The staff was very helpful in planning excursions with a tour or on your own helping you figure out train schedules, etc. Breakfast was wonderful! It definitely held you over through lunch. I highly recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a great Florence visit:)

  • Liked — location! location ! location!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time it took to write such lovely things about our hotel, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

I spent two nights here and was very pleased with the hotel location, which is really close to piazza della Signoria and Uffizi museum.
The bedroom and the bathroom are both wide and pleasant, the bed is comfortable, the breakfast is rich and the staff, depending on who is at the reception, are either friendly or elegant.
I slept very well here and would recommend this place; the only (big) drawback is that, on departure day, they will only keep your luggage until 2 pm.
Other (smaller) drawbacks are: there's a 1 a.m. curfew and (for those carrying big luggage) you won't find an elevator right in front of the entrance, but will need to climb some stairs first.

  • Liked — the location, a stone throw from the Uffizi
  • Disliked — on departure day, they wouldn't keep your luggage throughout the day
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We were here on honeymoon for 2 nights at the end of June. Location wise, this hotel was excellent. Just off the river and a few blocks from the major sites of the Uffizi and Duomo, and tonnes of upscale shopping just outside the door. Of course, Florence isn't too big anyways, but the hotel is central, which is great. To get to the front desk you have to go up stairs just to get to the elevator. This would be a hassle if you had heavy luggage. If you don't want to wait for the elevator, it's a few flights up. Our room was in a corner far away from the common areas, so it was very quiet. The TV remote was not working so the TV couldn't be turned on at all. It took a day to get us a new one that would work. The room and bedroom were large and clean and nice. The bed was comfortable as well. The room was well air conditioned, so it was very cool, which was great considering the temperatures were in the high 30's every day. Breakfast was a good selection of bread, cereal, fruits and juices and coffee. The front desk helped us big time, by finding us an available hotel for an unexpected extra night in Florence. There is a common area with a computer for internet use. You have to buy internet time from the desk. The computer is old and the connection is slow. (There are lots of internet cafe's in the area though with much faster connections) The hassle of giving up your keys to the desk whenever you leave, and getting up and down the stairs might not bother you considering the location, value and room condition are all above average.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bside_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Congratulations and we are so pleased that you chose our hotel to stay in for your beautiful occasion. Since your stay our router has been updated and the connection is superfast and free! but are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us anyways. Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Alessandra as your destination for your honeymoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,721 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,303 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#46 of 412 in Florence
805 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing