We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I Absolutely Loved This Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I Absolutely Loved This Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I visited Hotel Alessandra in June 2014 with my 18 year old daughter and my sister. The three of us had the nicest room with a great bathroom and everything was super clean and just lovely. Prior to my arrival I shared in an email that my daughter was a recent high school graduate and the staff had a beautiful note in the room that said something like, "The beautiful City of Florence and Hotel Alessandra welcome Jillian, recent high school graduate...." Such a nice touch and it is a letter she will keep always. They also had three little brownies waiting for us - such a sweet treat. I loved the staff, especially Monte!! (Miss you Monte). Everyone was very helpful and the kitchen staff was excellent at breakfast and quick to get you what you wanted. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again. I was coming from the U.S. and wondering what I would find and I couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. EVERYTHING was great. I loved loved loved it. So, if this is your first visit to Florence...stay here!!!

Room Tip: I think room 21 overlooks the clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeboraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
That is really what it is all about - creating some truly great memories, and hopefully that is just what we have done. Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    448
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
345
800
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can sum up our stay in three words, "Service, Service and Service." Yes, there are stairs, yes, parking is crazy, and yes, your navigation system will have a fit finding the place (secret to our success, drive north of the hotel, and your navigation system will do fine heading back south).

The staff of the hotel kept us laughing, and excelled at arranging a last minute pizza and gelato cooking class/dinner for the kids.

Room Tip: Would definitely stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeRoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Well thank you, thank you and thank you! Loved having you to stay (that's the secret - we enjoy our jobs!). Fab hearing back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good value hotel in expensive city. Rooms were very clean if slightly old-fashioned .Breakfast was good but most importantly all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Quiet location just a couple of minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio. As stated many times before by reviewers, if you have mobility issues it's not for you, otherwise I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citybreaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
And we thorougly agree! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Ok, the staff here is one of the friendliest and helpful I've run across. The place was clean, clean, clean. The location couldn't be better....seriously. Excellent value....why spend a lot in Florence when you can shop a lot instead :) Its as good as any hotel in the area but much less expensive. We had room 26 which is one of the better rooms. Had a view of the river and the bell tower right next door! Breakfast was excellent and included. Very comfortable bed not some old saggy matress. Do stay here.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms were like but 26 was an excellent value. Nice deep bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indmomBequia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Well thank you thank you thank you! Come back and sink into a deep tub anytime you are in town. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. Please take into account the stairs and the fact that this hotel is run the way that the family have always run it, and you will have an enjoyable stay. If it is a little old-fashioned in terms of decor it is also a little old-fashioned in terms of service i.e. the staff are willing to do seemingly anything for you! Any reasonable request is met politely and efficiently. Florence is an exhausting place to visit in summer and visitors will appreciate a location that facilitates a rest break during a day's sight seeing. Very well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are not sure whether to laugh or cry. Is our service so old-fashioned as to be out of date? Has trying to make people's stay the greatest experience ever gone out of fashion? Well, we have been doing it too long this way to change now, so sorry people, we are just going to carry right on!

What a fabulous read - thank you so much :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Love the location. But. Don't stay if you can't walk up and down two flights of stairs. We could, but not ervybody can. Pick you room carefully. rooms 26 and 27 are great, quiet rooms. But 20 and 23 can be noisy. Beds are hard, but I've found 90% of the beds in Italy are hard. They don't know what a pillow top is! AC is average. You can't adjust it. Just a little warm for our liking. But, it's a 2 star hotel. What can you expect. How high this hotel rates compared to all in Florence tells you something. There's a lot of old, quaint, hotels with issues. If we return I'll be willing to pay more and check into noise, Air Conditioning, bedding and access a bit more.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietist room. 26 was, 20 and 23 were not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPTXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks so much for writing here. As ever we do appreciate feedback. All of it!

Yes, you are probably right. 90% of beds are hard in Italy for north Americans, but just right for most Europeans. And we are in Europe and buy our mattresses (all new just 18 months ago) in Europe. And yes, in Europe we know what pillow tops are, but they are just not part of our culture. You probably know what a bidet is, but don't have one at home! It's what makes travelling so wonderful - new countries, new flavours, new cultures, new traditions. If it were the same as at home what would be the point?!

We won't be seeing you again, and we are sorry about that. We wish you an "issue free" stay in the next hotel of your choice here in Florence (there are lots to choose from), just bear in mind perhaps that cultural differences are not necessarily issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had driven from Venice to Florence and despite having read the instructions on the hotel website and had the hotel address in our sat nav, we drove around for a couple of hours before parking the car and walking to the hotel for help! Be warned sat nav does not work in this part of Florence. The hotel is located very close to Ponte Vecchio, however many of the streets are closed to traffic, or one way and this was not picked up on the sat nav. When we arrived at the Hotel, (reception on the 4th floor) they were incredibly helpful and arranged for the parking garage to come to the hotel, take me to my car, drive me back to the hotel to deliver luggage, and them took the car for parking. Our hotel rooms were enormous and very comfortable, (we had 3 rooms). All had ensuites - some newer than others, but very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful, and the location couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a river front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Now there is a reason why we say DON'T bring a car to Florence. Just don't. It's a awful form of self-torture, guaranteed to bust the strongest marriages, and might put you off our city forever. It's not vehicle friendly. Just getting to our hotel in a couple of hours was not bad - much much worse has happened.

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay (we are so lucky and unique with our big big rooms). Perhaps you might come back one day - BY TRAIN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing