We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Amazing service and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and was so glad I did. Location is excellent. Near most major attractions. Easy walking distance from the Santa Maria Novella Station. Streets are very narrow in Florence, so the smaller amount of luggage you can bring, the better. This is also helpful when you arrive at the hotel. You have to go up many steps before getting to a small elevator. I only used the elevator upon arrival and departure. There is a reception area immediately after you enter the hotel. The owner and his staff were amazing. All speak excellent English and really knew how to provide great service. They went beyond the call of duty to assist.
I booked a room with a separate private bath. They were great. The room was large, though a bit dark. The window opened. There was a king bed and a desk & chair, a good sized closet and a sink in the room. Next door was a separate, large bathroom that was solely my own. Inside a large tub with shower, another sink and toilet. It took me awhile to master the keys going from my room to the bathroom, but it was no problem.
Each morning a good breakfast was served in a sunny room near reception. Excellent warm croissants and a good choice of other foods. The breakfast staff was always helpful.
The hotel also recently added a terrace that provides a nice view of the Arno. I sat there one day as the sun went down enjoying the weather and the view.
This hotel was charming, a great value and provided a very friendly, helpful staff. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Florence has very narrow streets. Don't bring a lot with you in terms of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
This is an essay, not a review! It is so great for us to hear your feedback in so much detail, and we really do appreciate the time you all take the write these reviews (as we are sure other tripadvisor users are too!).

So happy it worked for you - and like yout tip about travelling light. We agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    452
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
348
817
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at Hotel Alessandra, and really, we can heartily recommend it further if you are planning a trip to Florence. The room was nice and clean, as well as a toilet and a separate shower room had just been renovated. The breakfast was delicious and the service as a whole commendable. If ever we return to Florence then this hotel is a solid choice. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pertti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
And thank you for staying with us! We’re so glad you appreciated our new renovations (you should have seen the dust!) and thought our service and breakfast were great as well! Hopefully you’ll come back and stay with us before we’re forced to renovate this old 500 year old building again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband ,son and I stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Alessandra and we enjoyed every minute.
The location was perfect, and the staff were very attentive. The building is very well looked after and we enjoyed the stair climb as it helped us work off some of the calories from all the amzing food we ate.
Breakfast was servced in a very quaint room and it was well mainatined and a great way to start the day.
We would stay again. Thank you Anna and your son and all the other fantastci stafffor making our stay memorable
The roof top patio was also a nice getaway - for sipping wine and reading a good book .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
You understood the added value of our stairs! Basically it means you can eat as many icecreams as you want!

Delighted that you all three had a good stay in Florence and that we could be part of that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

From previous reviews, emails with the owners and the fact, my granddaughter's name is Alessandra, I had been looking forward to my stay here beginning March 19 for 8 nights. It is everything everyone says and more. Andrea arranged for my day tour to Siena, wine country and the highlight of my trip, cooking classes at "InTavola," a brief walk across the river. I loved every minute from my morning cappuccino with the smiley face, wine up on the new small roof top terrace, the location and the great shopping advice to purchase a small gold heart at the best price for my granddaughter. Andrea's mother referred me to where she purchases her jewelry where I paid half what other jewelers on the Ponte Vecchio were asking. Monti the weekend and night person was so sweet. Also, I was traveling solo for the first time and felt perfectly safe in this location and really, throughout Florence. I cannot wait until I return in 2 years!

Room Tip: My single room faced a wall, but I didn't care!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
And we can only say that your granddaughter has an absolutely perfect name! Nothing makes us feel so good as when single travellers say how safe and cosy they feel when staying with us - we really take that as a big compliment.

The countdown is on for your return in two years - looking forward to it already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I wish I could give this hotel six stars. It was wonderful. The location is perfect, right in the old town a quick walk from most of Florence's amazing sights. The hotel is run with efficiency and care. The family running the hotel provides warm hospitality and a quality experience. Our room was freshly renovated, spotless, and comfortable. The delicious breakfast is efficiently and seriously run by a nice woman who offers hot drinks made to order and keeps the buffet ship-shape. They have a small terrace with a view of the river and a bell tower; they offer cold beverages for a reasonable price that you can bring to the terrace. The hotel seems to be run with the comfort and enjoyment of the guests as top priority. I hope we can stay here again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecsftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Well we hope so too! Yes, you are right. If we can make our guests feel good, then we are satisfied too and work becomes a pleasure instead of a chore. And that makes for a motivated team! So happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 days at this hotel in March. We had a very large room overlooking the river Arno and the neighbouring bell tower. The bathroom had been recently renovated and although needing towel rails, it was well appointed
The staff are lovely, warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were also very good and special mention needs to be made of the croissants which were the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Towel rails (and a couple of other left-over details) coming up as we speak! If you follow our facebook page, you will know we totally traumatised ourselves with FIVE new bathrooms this winter, plus some other major rennonvations, and there are always some details to finish off. But we are well and truly done now! Glad you loved it, and the loved the bell tower too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Myself, my friend and her daughter spent 4 nights at Hotel Alessandra beginning on March 13. I really can't add much to past reviews because they are all true. Everything is close by within walking distance. Andrea is a gem and Monti is an asset and lots of fun to boot! Wonderful service by all from restaurant reservations and recommendations to where to buy items.
I'll be staying there whenever I visit Florence and I'll recommend the hotel to anyone who asks without hesitation. Charlies' Angels salute you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We LOVE our Charlie's Angels! Fab having you to stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this. Come back one day and we can do it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing