We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #40 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wondered what we were coming to after we climbed the stairs. Really pleasant surprise! Lovely room and excellent location. The staff could not have been more helpful and kind. They booked the palace and one of the museums for us. Breakfast was lovely too. This hotel had a very positive vibe. Our thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jood123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hey - our stairs! We talk about them lots because we want everyone to know - that if you are looking for a fantastic free daily work out - it's included in the price, and if you have dodgy knees we are probably not for you! Delighted that we were for you - thank you for taking the time to say so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    465
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
358
831
150
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro , Brazil
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's true that you have to climb up 30 steps to reach the elevator... after that , perfection... Xtremely friendly service , a huge room , new air condiotioner , new bathroom , perfect shower , safe , wifi , no noise at all.... Slept like a king... Tasty breakfast.... And location... Perfect... 30 meters from the hotel , at the corner , look right and you see ponte vechio , go left , 2 blocks and you are at Piazza de la Signoria , keep walking and in 5 minute you reach Duomo... My daughter , wife and I were just delighted... Thank you very much...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dznovaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Wow! We are not perfect, but thank you! We love that you "slept like a king!" Feedback is "king" for us - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Alessandra for four nights in July. My friend and I took the fast train from Rome to Florence (only 1.5 hours!) then a quick taxi ride to the hotel. Yes, there were stairs, but we managed to get our bags up to the hotel lobby where we were greeted by fabulous Monte! Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and cool. The breakfast was lovely- especially the happy faced cappuccinos that helped us begin each day with the right frame of mind. The location of the hotel is ideal; walking distance to everything. There are many restaurants nearby but I must stay that the “Bicycle” restaurant just down the street (I forget the name!) had the best food that I had while in Italy. (The home baked bread was excellent!) The hotel staff were very helpful: booking tickets to the museums, and for a Tuscany tour with a nearby travel company (highly recommended, I should add). They gave maps and advice and we always felt like we were coming “home” at the end of each busy day. The new honesty bar is a great touch and we loved the tiny little terrace tucked into the hotel rooftop. We bought a bottle of wine from the winery we visited during our tour of Tuscany and with glasses and corkscrew supplied by Monte, listened to the bell ring from the bell tower that we could almost reach out and touch, and watched the sunset over the river. Sigh, a beautiful way to end a beautiful day – indelibly marked in our memories. I’d like to add a special thank you to Monte. You are an absolute gem, Monte! My friend and I agreed that you were a major highlight of our trip to Italy. We hope that we can visit you, the Hotel Alessandra, and the beautiful city of Florence again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladywanderlust_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Oh wow and wow! You brought a tear to our collective eye! We love having feedback and when it is like this, it makes all the effort worthwhile! We will pass your fabulous comments onto Monti - it will make his day. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This reasonably priced hotel is right near all the sights in the centre of Florence, and an easy walk from the train station. The rooms are quite adequate, some are even HUGE! You can choose to have personal or shared en suite, according to your budget. For those who have lots of luggage, the only challenge is getting your case to the first floor so you can put them in the tiny little lift. I'm sure the friendly staff would be only too happy to help if you went up to reception first... I loved looking out over the rooftops... I could even see the Duomo! Breakfast was quite sufficient and cappuccinos were a good start to the day.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels to the north have views over the rooftops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oziMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Of course we wil help! We have done those stairs more times with heavy suitcases than you can begin to imagine. Glad we were a good solution for you -and thank you for saying so,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked Hotel Alessandra through Priceline.com, in large part because there were no cancellation fees and we were not sure when we would be arriving in Florence.

The hotel was conveniently located, our room was very clean and well appointed and large. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations and a cab to the train station. At €194 for two nights for a junior suit, we couldn't have been more pleased.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Now that we know each other next time you can book direct! We are assuming there will be a next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Before we even arrived in Florence, we had an easy time communicating with the staff about visiting the Uffizi gallery. The instructions for online museum reservations made it seem like there was no guarantee with online booking, but the hotel staff booked it for us with no trouble.

The hotel was well-located, not in the most bustling part of town, but with all the sights just a few blocks away. Right from the start the lady at the front desk had a very helpful suggestion of a place to eat lunch nearby (Hostari il desco) that was full of locals but had no trouble with English.

We opted for a room with a private, but detached bathroom. The only slight issue was that the room key was needed to turn on the lights in the room (something we experience all over Italy), but it was attached to the bathroom key. They do have rooms with the bathroom in the room, it's just up to you. It is an older building, but everything was very clean and well maintained. The rooms were very large for Europe.

The largest positive was the staff. They offered the help with the museum, a map, friendly service, and they kept our bags in a locked room for us after we checked out. They told us to continue to think of Hotel Alessandra as our home base in Florence, and we really felt that way - comfortably.

A great stay at a great value for a destination city like Florence. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the river and clock tower for a nice view (don't worry, the clock tower does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHLEY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are so lucky in space-challenged Europe that we have such lovely large rooms. And yes you are right that on a couple of rooms we have some "key-issues" which we are in the process of fixing! We love it when people feel at home with us, thank you for saying so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dourados, MS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for two nights and it was awesome! Friendly staff, good location and a great breakfast! The room is really clean and organized. Best bed I have ever slept. We certainly will return to Florence... It is a wonderful and beautiful city. Undoubtedly, Hotel Alessandra will be our choise one more time. The price is not the best, but it's worth!
P.S.: the hotel is located in the second floor, and the elevator is available just from de first floor. So one has to climb stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Lovely. Exactly as it should be. All our beds had new mattresses this winter - so glad that it met with your approval.We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,720 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing