We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Go just to meet Monti!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go just to meet Monti!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is great, perfect location to everything in Florence but the staff were so helpful and friendly!! Especially Monti, he is hilarious, so helpful and made our Florence experience even better! Great staff can add such value to a hotel and Monti did exactly that. We also had a great view of the water! Thank you hotel Alessandra!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mviss876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
You said it right. Monti is a one-man entertainment package - not only does he delight our guests but he keeps us and our team laughing all day long! Thank you so much for your comments - we do love hearing things from your side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    446
    60
    12
    10
See reviews for
345
793
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed only one night there, in a bedroom with no bathroom (there are bedrooms with private bathroom availables), but comfortable and charming. The hotel is well located and with wi-fi access, but attention with the small lift.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetestgift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
When designing buildings in the 1500s they forgot to leave a space for the lift! We have managed to tuck a tiny one into the miniscule stairwell -but yes, it's never going to hold two people and all their luggage. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay - and stay with us on facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is wonderful! The room was large - we had a double room - and clean with a private bath. The location is very convenient to Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio, and most of the sites in central Florence. If you arrive in the afternoon, you will most likely be greeted by Monti, who was amazing!! He has an outstanding personality, speaks very good English, is very helpful and really made our visit great. (Ask him to sing "I Feel Good" by James Brown if you want to be entertained!)

The breakfast buffet was typical Italian fare, with pastries and juices as well as cereals, cheese and dried ham.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a private bath if you want one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Oh dear - we are not sure that anyone would ever call Monti tuneful, but we are pleased that you appreciated it! Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fabulous location on a quiet street near the river and a short walk to the Uffizi, with the friendliest and most helpful staff imaginable (a special shout-out to the incomparable Monti!). Pleasant room with an air conditioner (wasn't turned on yet but not needed), reliable Wi-fi, and a decent breakfast. On top of that, guests could use the phone for free long distance calls, and the staff obligingly and graciously provided for impromptu tea times. Spot-on restaurant and other tourist-related information provided by a most-welcoming staff. Be prepared for a flight and a half of stairs to the elevator, which only has a three person capacity (two trips for a couple with two suitcases between them). As elsewhere, be prepared for mosquitos (electronic mosquito devices will be provided).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Spot on! You described the good and bad very accurately. We are lovely, Monti is gorgeous, we adore our guests, we have stairs and Italy has mosquitoes! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved our week long stay at the end of April in the very large suite with a beautiful view! The location is perfect, the staff is all so friendly, and the restaurant recommendations (and reservations made for us) were perfect. The stairs were good exercise after all the eating we did, and we found the breakfast a great start to our day, with everything we needed. We would happily stay here again if we returned to Florence (and we hope we will!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Wel, we hope so too. Stay with us on facebook, and give some great advice to our future clients if you can. We have a wonderful community that helps each other. Would love to have you take part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The O.C.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you want to be walking distance to all of the treasures of Florence, this is the place. Very short walks to the Uzzifi, the Duomo, the Ponte Vechio. This is a vintage property that's close to 1,000 years old. The adjacent church is from 805AD. It's staying in a piece of history.

The first night was probably in their least expensive room, smaller, shared bathroom, very rustic furniture. We never encountered anyone in the shared bathroom so not a problem. The next night we had a much larger room with a bathroom and sliver of a view of the river.

If you are expecting a luxury hotel, this is not it but comfortable and nicely maintained. A/C worked really well, internet was fast, breakfast was adequate with happy face cappuccinos.

Whatever you do, do not try and drive in this city, it is the most insane place to drive on earth. They have nice wide streets but they are pedestrian causeways and they have the right of way and taxis have to travel at 1-2mph. There's also horses to watch out for. Then there's narrow streets barely wide enough for one small car with sidewalks only 1' wide, that's where the Hotel Allessandra is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buellwinkle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We love your review thank you! We are not quite a thousand years old (over 500 though), and yes - we are riddled with history! And you are spot on - we are not luxury, we are lovely, and we think that's much better.

The shared bathroom never is a problem - and we make sure that the bathrooms are shiny and clean after each use and that keeps everyone happy.

But what we loved most is your final comment - yes, driving in this city is insane. Don't bring a car, it's just not worth it. But in defence of our fine city, and we just add that in Rome and Naples it is worse!

Thank you for making us smile :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was perfectly situated just down and one street across from the Ponte Vecchio. Value for money in the heart of Florence.
The staff were great. Every single suggestion was a wonderful experience and they helped us out a lot.
Monti - you are a special character and made us laugh

Breakfast is ok for being included and the room we had, number 26 was more than we required for the 2 of us.

Tip: take bug repellent as the Mosquitos can be trouble. But this is the same for all hotels in Italy!
Thousands of years of civilization and they don't know what a fly screen is for a window!

But no big issue really. Our room hd a reasonable view of the river as well.

As mentioned, check in guy was great, other staff friendly, have free WIFI in room or the TV room has a PC.

Would be happy to go back.

Be warned though, some stairs as the reception is on the 4th floor, the the 1 meter by half a meter lift starts at the 2nd floor. There are stairs all the way up if the lift is too claustrophobic for you.

Room Tip: Bug spray, and look for the brass plaque with the button on the street. Reception n the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaGennarini, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Glad that you loved it, and enjoyed our resident character - Monti! He is loved by one and all. Yes, Florence (and Italy in general) do suffer from mosquitoes. However, the problem is not that we in Italy have not heard of fly-screens! We have this other problem that perhaps in Australia you don't have ;-) - 500 year old buildings that are heavily protected by the law of Belle Arti (protection of fine architectural arts) which is very strict in Florence. We are simply not allowed to "ruin" a five hundred year old window with a modern fly-screen (and quite honestly we wouldn't want to).

Would love to see you again - come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#30 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#41 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing