We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I add?”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #42 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What more can I add?”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The overwhelmingly positive response in these reviews is well-deserved. I think the only original compliment I can pay to Andrea and his excellent staff is this:

The Hotel Alessandra family are citizens of Florence of the highest virtue. Their sincerity towards me, the way in which they took care of me during my stay, is something I'll not forget. Andrea and Monti made sure my comfort was always at its maximum best.

Their advice for restaurants was spot-on; someone I had met with no relationship to the Hotel confirmed that their restaurant recommendations were honest and straight-forward. They made me feel like a visiting cousin from another country. If I complain that they failed to teach me the language well,...that is my fault and not theirs!

I am much indebted to the people of Hotel Alessandra for my very happy 8-day stay in Florence. A big, big thank-you to all!

Room Tip: Room 7 was superb for a single person. Tall ceilings, excellent bathroom, nicely furnished. The end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much. We will be sharing this review with our staff; it's the whole team that make everything come together. And this review alone will motivate them for a long time to come!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    465
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
357
830
150
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is perfect and is within walking distance to SMN Novella train station and at the center of everything. The only negative about this hotel is that the elevator is quite small and can only load max of 2 people. Further it was located at 2nd floor, and if you have heavy luggage with you...then you're in for a workout.
Nevertheless, services are great, breakfast is very good and staff are really knowledgeable and very helpful. They've made our stay more memorable. We stayed in a room with private bath. The bathroom is spacious and beautifully decorated with fine finishings. Hotel had everything we wish for i.e. strong free wifi and guide books. Will definitely stay here again if we return to Florence.

Room Tip: Request for room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mork0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Absolutely spot on! A super workout - and it's free! And if you are not in the mood for it, we totally understand and of course will come and help carry your luggage.Glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

4 day stay in Florence was greatly enhanced by the staff at this Hotel. Knowledgeable and willing to offer assistance where needed. Housekeeping efficient and thorough. The reward of climbing those stairs is a great stay in Florence. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWatshenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Wonderful that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to say so here. The stairs are a free workout that we offer with every booking! We look forward to seeing you again one day.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really made our stay in florence all the more enchanting. We extended our stay by 2 nights and were tempted to stay longer! The owner and staff are knowledgable (great food recommendations) and accommodating; housekeeping goes above and beyond to tidy the rooms and there is everything a traveller needs - strong free wifi, guide books and free calls. The rooms are warm on a cold winter night and spacious! Not to mention great location! Will definitely stay here again if we return to florence.

Helpful?
3 Thank Charissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Do come back - there are lots more really great restaurants to try out and we know them all!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Union, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at this charming hotel for four nights in the end of December and beginning of January. I stayed alone and in the single room with a private bath down the hall. The only possible negative is the set of stairs getting to the elevator. I say possible because I truly didn't mind the stairs. It wasn't easy when I arrived with luggage but the wonderful Monti was right there when I got to the reception desk. Otherwise i took the stairs almost everytime and rarely used the elevator. I believe those stairs are the reason I didn't gain weight in Italy despite eating heavy meals and drinking a lot of vino. the location is fabulous. It is in the center of everything (very near Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery) yet its on a quiet street so the noise of the city doesnt keep you up at night. the rooms are very clean and more than adequate. The staff made my stay truly special. Of course like everyone else i fell in love with Monti. He is worth his weight in gold. He was always so genuinely excited to see everyone and did everything possible to make my stay wonderful. Andrea is great. From making dinner and gallery reservations to giving helpful tips he was always professional, courteous and very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to make a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PDinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Wonderful. We are so pleased that it all worked for you. We entirely agree that whoever uses the stairs everyday should have at least two extra ice creams a day, and perhaps a pre-dinner glass of prosecco too! We very much look forward to your return visit - stay with us via facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Why this man is working the evening shift at a modest hotel in Florence is a mystery to me. Maybe he is the owner ? Now to review the other aspects of this hotel. The room was just the right size, neither large nor small. There was a nice writing desk that I used. A very unique and useful master switch for the room electric. Use the key to open the door, then put the key into a socket inside of the door to activate the lights etc. Everything was Very clean, I only notice cleanliness if a room is dirty or very clean, salute to the housekeepers. As quiet as an Italian building can be as they all have ceramic floors and masonry walls & ceilings. The only negative was that the hotel began on the third floor of the building. I saw this often in Italy; hotels start on the 2nd or 3rd floor of a building and the elevators start at the 1st or 2nd flight of steps. So this negative is probably not considered so by Italians as this seems to be very common. The location is excellent, a short walk to all of the major sites in Florence. They had a really nice perk that I have not seen anywhere else; they give guests up to 10 minutes of calling to home on a special phone. What do I mean by a special phone ?? I mean a phone that WORKS. If you have not been to Italy yet, be prepared for a phone system that is a little better than two cans with a tight string tied between them. When I was checking out, the day manager told me that I could return later in the day to use my ten minutes as he remembered that I got the answering machine on both of my attempts. So, the day manager is just as professional and courteous as Monti but Monti has that type of personality that makes you smile when you talk with him. The price at 75 Euro was on the low side of the hotels I inquired with and the comp breakfast was the best of any I had during my 20 day visit to Italy.

Room Tip: I was happy with my room that was on the same floor as the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Monti is the best - and he is a prized member of our staff, along with all the others (some clean really well, some have great personalities and some go out of their way to help guests - we highly value each and every one).

Yes, we do offer our guests a free 10 minute call to their home country each day; we think it's a nice touch, and note that it is much appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay (even with the stairs - we talk about them a lot on our site and on our facebook page - we keep it no secret!) Come back again one day - we would love to see you.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini; courteous day manager AND owner :-) !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here in November whilst visiting my daughter who was working in Florence. This was my second visit in a a matter of weeks. The first time we stayed in Hortel David - nice but I preferred Hotel Alessandra. The location is wonderful, central for all the sights and plenty of good restaurants within a stones throw. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are delighted, and really hope to have you come visit again. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards - Andre Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
772 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,718 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 422 in Florence
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing