We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the very best hotels in the whole wide world.”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“One of the very best hotels in the whole wide world.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It is world-famous for the unbelievably good service.

The family owners are incredible. Monti, your Manager, is a legend in Florence.

Even though the price is incredibly low for Florence, it is much better to stay here than any of the palace hotels in Florence !

It is your dream of a small, family-run hotel, perfect location, spotless, elegant, charming, stylish, with perfect service.

Normally "great service" and "family service" and "you feel like a family member" are just clichés. In the whole world there are only a few institutions where this is true.

So, it is just as good as the reputation, it is the only place to stay in Florence, it is unbelievably good value, Monti is a legend ...

so here below, I will merely give useful info for the future traveller!

Location - it's the street to be on in Florence. This is Florence, the rooftops, the stone. If the Alessandra is full, seek one of the other two or three boutique hotels on the street. Leave the hotel and turn LEFT, walk a couple blocks are you are in the part of Florence with the amazing shopping. Leave the hotel and turn RIGHT, walk a couple blocks and you are in tourist Florence. Of course, you are only 100 meters from the Ponte Vecchio - but there is no tourist nonsense on the street.

Parking - as everyone knows GPS does not work in Florence, because they often change the 1-way system. however IT IS VERY EASY to get to the Hotel Alessandra IF YOU PLAN CAREFULLY. Simply look at a map of Florence. Note the Ponte Vecchio, the most famous landmark. Look at the river. Don't forget, the hotel is JUST AT THE RIVER (one street back) and JUST TO THE LEFT (West) of the Ponte Vecchio. if you could drive over the Ponte Vecchio (!) you would just drive over it, turn left, drive 50 meters and there is the hotel. IT IS JUST THAT SIMPLE. So very simply: approach Florence from the south (where the river is). Cross one of the bridges to the LEFT of the Ponte Vecchio.

Remember that Borgo Santi Apostoli is - quite simply - one street back from the river. Couldn't be easier. Keep going and you will find Hotel Alessandra on the south side --- in other words just to the left of where the Ponte Vecchio is.

Simply park out the front (on the sidewalk or whatever), unload your bag, tell Monti you've arrived - great day! - and the man from the parking garage (it's a block away) will come and park your car, tip him 5 euros.

If you come by train, get a taxi for a few Euros, don't bother to walk.

Don't forget all the cool hotels in Florence just have a brass plaque out the front (like a doctor's office) - there are no neon signs etc. So just find #17, you will see the brass sign Hotel Alessandra, and in you go.

It's the sort of hotel in which they would make a film about Florence. We met guests there such as a scientist from the states, and a TV personality from asia. Again even though the hotel is incredibly reasonably priced, it's just so right. Monti, the whole family misses you, see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Wow! We are not so sure about world-famous, but hopefully at least our past guests, and maybe their family and friends know about our service. We all love our jobs, we love meeting people, we love helping people better understand our city and our culture. We want people to have a life experience here in Florence, not just in our hotel, but everyday, everywhere they go. Monti, and all the others in our team, live here, and are great points of contact for insider information!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a detailed review.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    457
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
351
823
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend based on past reviews here. Everything was spot on! Nice quiet street and excellent location. The rooms were nice and clean. We had two bedrooms, one for my son and daughter and one for my wife and I. Good value as we went "European" and shared a bathroom down the hall. The rooms were clean and comfortable; my wife said the children had a better room! :-) Anyway our host, Andrea was great! He arranged a full day in Tuscany, with a tour group, for us, which I highly recommend. And then there was Monti! What a delight...he had a great recs for "local" dinner places and advice on the leather market and such. Good resource to help with your Florence stay. The breakfasts too were very good. Would stay here again! Also as mentioned earlier...some steps to climb to get to the level of the hotel...but it kept you in shape. The building I believe was built in the 1500's...so plenty of history too. We took a taxi to the hotel when we arrived...but after we got our bearings in Florence we walked to the train station with our bags. No big deal and it only took us 15 minutes. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
So please that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Alessandra. It's always good to read these reviews and better understand your experiences. We hope to see, and your children, here again one day.

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We spent only 2 nights in Florence but would love to come back and stay at Hotel Alessandra! The location is very good, we walked to and from the main train station with suitcases with no problems, and it was a great base to explore from being just off the main street between the Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo.

We had a room with a bathroom and the shower was good, the bed was firm, and it was quiet - perfect! There is even a small lift to get your suitcases up all the stairs. The staff were so friendly, always greeting as you come and go, and active on their facebook page too.

Highly recommend this hotel, you wont be dissapointed!

Helpful?
Thank jccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed it! We have really begun to have fun with our facebook page over the last year or so - a great meeting ground for past, present and future guests, for exchanging tips, keeping in touch and just chatting! Do come back on day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
seattle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were a little hesitant after locating this place after a 10-15 minute walk with our bags from the train station, but it was a great location with very nice employees. The shared bathrooms were down the hall, but I'd stay here again just to be so close to every thing. The rooms were very clean, and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
What a shame we can't talk to you here on tripadvisor. We would love to understand what made you feel "hesitant" and what we could have done to make you feel assured! We are delighted that it all worked out for you in the end! Perhaps you would like to join us on our facebook page and help us improve?

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 3 nights here in November. The staff is outstanding-all very kind and pleasant. A nice little surprise is they permit you to make a 10 minute call to the USA without any charge each day. Andrea went out of his way to make all of us feel comfortable while offering us suggestions to make our trip more enjoyable. It is close to everything and you really do not need a taxi (except to take yourself and luggage to and from the train station, since it is difficult to get down cobblestone streets with baggage, but it is a short walk). They made all of our reservations for us for museums and did not complain when we asked them to change the dates (you need reservations during busy season for the Uffizi and Statue of David).
Our room was roomy for 4 people-much larger than expected. The only negative is that the lift is very tiny, so we used the stairs. Andrea met us at the door when we came in and carried all of our bags to our room, so that was not an issue. There are tons to do in Florence, so we did not spend much time in our room, so we really only went up to our room at night.
Breakfast was typical European with the kindest woman working breakfast. The coffee would have smiley faces in the foam-just a little nice touch. they knew we were visiting a relative who was studying abroad, so they also extended an invite for her to join us for breakfast at no charge.
This is a nice little place where you can feel safe in Florence. It is obvious that it is family run and that the staff are treated like members of Andrea's family, since they do appear to enjoy working here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihave2manychildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review - we much appreciate it, and indeed are so pleased that you chose Hotel Alessandra for your time in Florence. Perhaps one day we will meet again!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it!! We were welcomed by smiling and helpful faces at the front desk and it stayed that way for our entire trip! Each and every time we left or arrived the staff greeted us and chatted with us easily about our day and our plans. We truly felt like we were staying with friends at Hotel Alessandra! Our room was perfect and had everything we needed, the shutters kept out any sort of street noise and light. The breakfast was lovely, eggs, toast, fruit and even cappuccinos with cute little smiley faces! And then of course there was Monti, the most lovely person with bang on restaurant recommendations and a lively and extremely helpful personality! We were so lucky to get to know him a little bit over our 4 night stay. The location couldn't be beat, the service was perfection and the staff were amazing...we'll be back and so will many of our family and friends!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Goodness! Well, we are so pleased - a bit nervous that you made us sound too perfect! But the best bit is that you will be back - with lots of family and friends! Can't wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in Florence for one night of our two week honeymoon and I'm so glad that we spent it at Hotel Alessandra! The location was incredible, super close to the river and the Ponte Vecchio, we were even upgraded at the last minute to a room with a river view, which was beautiful and the room itself was very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful, and they recommended an incredible restaurant for dinner. All in all, if we return to Florence we will definitely stay longer and we will make sure to stay at Hotel Alessandra.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Alessandra, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We very much look forward to that event, and we give you some other names for great places to eat!

Kind regards - Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing