We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here over and over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Residenza
Ranked #275 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would stay here over and over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Absolutely loved La Hotel Residenza in Florence. The accommodations were perfect for a family. We stayed in a two bedroom Family Room and were very comfortable. Our room was convenient and clean with a private bathroom. The location was fantastic. They were waiting for us upon arrival and could not have been more welcoming. The staff was extremely helpful with transportation, reservations etc. I loved the rooftop patio, a quiet place to enjoy a glass of wine while looking out at beautiful Florence. We were lucky to be here on Easter morning and enjoyed watching the Easter celebration pass right by the hotel. I know I will stay here every time I isit Bella Firenze!

Room Tip: If you have children, ask for a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    91
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
42
100
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Level Contributor
255 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel is a couple of blocks from the river in the heart of luxe shopping - Gucci, Chanel, Bulgari, Dior, Armani, etc whose doors we didn't darken but it was fun looking. All major attractions were in easy walking distance. Very much a 3 star hotel; helpful staff, huge room, good bed, average breakfast. They have an arrangement with a garage to store your car while you're there - not cheap but not outrageous either; but it would be impossible to park it yourself nearby; they pick car up on your arrival and bring it back when you check out. Location is so good, you won't need it while you're there. If we went back to Florence, we'd stay here again and also recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I just returned from a weekend in Florence, where I stayed at La Residenza. The location couldn't be better: it was roughly a five minute walk from the train station, two minutes from the lovely Arno, and five minutes from Piazza della Repubblica and the Duomo. The interior of the hotel has charm, and the staff seemed friendly and helpful. I stayed in a single room on the top floor at the end of a hall, and it was wonderfully quiet. However, as a petite 5' 3"/160 cm person, I found the bed tiny (I kept crashing into the wall whenever I moved in the minuscule single bed) and the shower almost too cramped to use. I literally had to bend backwards over the toilet while I was showering. I cannot imagine anyone larger or taller than me being able to stay in this room. The bed itself was clean but the walls and carpets were dirty, there was no soap in the bathroom, and though there was a mini-bar menu out, there was no fridge in the cabinet. There were mosquito pads provided (hmmm) but when the mosquitoes appeared, I found no place to use the pads. And breakfast was mediocre... watery, Tang-like OJ and coffee one step above instant. I find it hard to believe this hotel was given three stars. At this time of year, I could have stayed in a spacious double somewhere else for less.

Room Tip: Avoid the single room(s). I imagine the doubles must be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

The location is great. Easy walk from the train station. The room was simple and clean. The room had air conditioning. Breakfast was included and they had a pretty good selection. They are located within walking distance from pretty much everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livin_In_the_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Found ourselves here after the hotel we originally booked had messed up the dates!
Situated centrally and within easy walking distance of all sites.
Comfortable & clean, some rooms are more quirky than others but this is an old building and has a lot of potential if restored. The original lift is fabulous!
Breakfast good with a lot choices although nothing hot . Staff were friendly and attentive.
Would recommend as a good 3* Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Remember.... Location, Location, Location! La Residenza is in the HEART of Florence, convenient to the train station (7 mins walking), Pitti Palace, Uffizi Museum, the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio (6 mins), you get the idea. The rooms are quaint and very clean, but the lift only goes up to the third floor, and walking up stairs is required. But if you want to be in the middle of the chicest area of Florence, this is the hotel for you. Located at street level are Armani, Dior, Save the Queen, Ferragamo, Versace, and others. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to help. Breakfast is continental with many choices, including hot items and cold items. There is a bar and a common room to meet, have a drink, or just hang out. Around the corner are some very good restaurants and bars. Yes, you will walk everywhere you want to go, so why not stay in a convenient hotel. Try it, you will LOVE it!! We plan to go back for another stay. We thought it was a fabulous place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarathetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed in this hotel 19 years ago on my own, remembered it being nice enough and very conveniently located so thought it would be fun to stay there again with my husband. It was pleasing to learn it is still owned by the same family, with the then-owner's son now running it.

As requested we had one of the rooms with "i mobili fiorentini e il pavimenti in cotto" (as advertised on their website) and were delighted with it - it was quite large, with a high ceiling, lovely furnishings and a huge bathroom. (There are some rooms on the top floor with terraces which might be nice, but I got the impression they would be smaller and would not have high ceilings.) The airconditioning was just about OK, but it was 34 degrees C outside so it may have struggled a bit. Breakfast was a decent continental spread. The hotel is only about 5 minutes from the Uffizi and perfectly situated for walking to all the sights. The roof terrace is a lovely oasis to settle down with a drink before or after dinner. The rate was very reasonable for Florence. We would definitely stay there if visiting Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline_venezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#63 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#200 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#178 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residenza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Florence
Residenza Hotel
La Residenza Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing