We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flash and Elegant - No, Warm, friendly and feelgood - Yes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nuova Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nuova Italia
Ranked #99 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Blackhall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flash and Elegant - No, Warm, friendly and feelgood - Yes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Recommended budget hotel. The thing with the Nuovo Italia Florence is its obvious accent on friendliness and family atmosphere which is what it's like - a close-knit, cosy, typical Italian no frills hotel. The rooms are what you might expect from a budget hotel, it ain't luxurious but for the amount of time you actually spend in your hotel room? This place does what it says on the tin. The breakfast room is a quaint and endearing affair and the whole shebang is just the job if you are counting the pennies - it's close enough to the Ponte Vecchio et al as far as location goes and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Generally the staff can't do enough for you and are far from distant like in a lot of hotels. The ownwer Sabina has previously lived in the Orkneys which was an obvious talking point for me being from Scotland (not that I've ever been near the Orkneys!).

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastwood0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    382
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
326
123
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

Clean, comfortable, great location and wonderful staff.

  • Liked — friendly and helfpul staff
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgbleuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Nuova Italia for 3 nights while in Florence on vacation. The hotel was very conveniently located only a short distance from the major train station.

The hotel staff was very pleasant and spoke great English. Our room was by far the largest we stayed in in all of Europe. The bathroom was also large - the only drawback that there isn't a "shower" per-se, as much as just a faucet on the wall and a drain in the floor with a shower curtain. We take everything in stride, so we just thought it was comical!

The breakfast was nice, not huge, but just enough to get you by for a morning running around and hold you over 'til lunch. The only drawback to the hotel in general is that there was no lift and we were on the 4th floor - it took the two of us a good half hour to drag all of our luggage up those steps!! But once we were in our room, it was only a short walk to San Lorenzo and the Mercato Centrale and there were lots of little "convenience stores" and restaurants in the vicinty.

  • Liked — Great location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No elevator!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

We found this dreadful hotel in Frommer's Guide. Obviously no one from there has seen this place in years. There are lots of stairs, room was totally devoid of any charm or pleasant decor and there were flies in the window. But we really couldn't open the window anyway after discovering the noise from San Lorenzo market carts which were shuffled down the street at midnight and again at 5am. It would be difficult to really describe how bad the noise was. The entire staff smoked and the breakfast room reeked of smoke. As another poster said, the NI is ugly. We stayed at another hotel in Florence that was lower priced and was, in fact, quite charming. We won't count on Frommer again. We left very early the next am for a flight to London and the only courtesy we got from the staff was a call for a taxi. As someone mentioned, this place may satisfy backpackers but it is really a pit.

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — horrid noise from market carts on street below
  • Tips/Secrets — check reviews of accommodations carefully
  • Stayed May 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chatelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall. west Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

we came to celebrate my 50th Birthday and enjoyed it . Its so clean and tastefullu decorated and the staff wonderful. This was the third time if visiting. You can keep your big unfriendly hotels. This is central and we love it. roll on next year!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank sueandjez_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2006

We stayed at the Nuova Italia for three days in March, 2006. The bottom line is that you really can't expect much. While most of the staff is friendly, it is barely worth the money. There is no elevator, so if you have a room on the third floor you had better not have heavy bags; they say is it "not their job" to help you. Also, the shower floor is the same as the bathroom floor so when you shower the entire bathroom gets wet - and often the bedroom. I won't go back.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MilitelloVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2005

After having spent considerable time in two stars hotels through out Europe, people, let me tell you, this is it. This isn't the land of Holiday Inns. What does two stars in Europe mean? Generally: your own bathroom and clean facilities. People being upset because there isn't a lip in the shower? Get out and travel! This ain't america. That isn't a plumbing standard. I bet the bidet really through you for a loop.

I found this hotel to be excellent for a two star; EXCELLENT location and the friendliest staff (also, exceedingly helpful with sites/tourism). If you want a Ritz, you're simply going to have to pay for it. And look for four-five stars. Europeans don't just hand them out like we do--they have meanings.

That said, for my future travel: I would only stay here when I have children. I fell in love with a three star (Beacci Tornabuoni) for adult travel. But with children, this location would be ideal. (I ascribe to the first class or with children school of travel). And a little bit of a stretch for backpackers!

  • Stayed September 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuova Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuova Italia

Property: Hotel Nuova Italia
Address: Via Faenza 26, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#132 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nuova Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location within walking distance from train station, all museums and sights. Shopping is at hand. All rooms with new bathrooms with hairdryers, air conditioned, sat-TV, telephone. As part of our services we make museums and tour reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nuova Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Italia Florence
Nuova Italia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing