We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, but Too Much Street Noise”
Review of Hotel Nuova Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nuova Italia
Ranked #97 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is in perfect location to anything you want to see in Florence, only a 5 minute walk to the Duomo in 1 direction, and 5 minute walk to the Accademia in the other direction. The hotel interior was modern and arty, a nice change of pace from traditional, "stuffy" feeling hotels. The only problem is the street noise outside. I was on the ground floor and heard people talking out on the street late into the night. Then early in the morning, I began to hear trucks and carts making deliveries to shops and restaurants. If you can deal with that, or request a room on a higher level, this hotel would be great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerBR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest "Britanny R",
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your nice review on our HOTEL NUOVA ITALIA. We enjoy your words of appreciation and understand that early moving in of the market
is not the best thing to have. Although our "airport " windows do buffer most of the outside noise, sometime an imperfect shutting or a real loud peak of noise can make you jump.
We are looking forward to your next visit and remain,
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 889 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for four nights in July 2013. The main station in Florence is a 5min walk away max, and the hotel is 5 minutes from the centre of Florence. Although there could be a bit of noise, it was convenient being close to both a supermarket and a laundry.
The breakfast in the morning consisted of juice, a hot drink, croissants, bread, fruit, cereal and yoghurt. The staff were incredibly hospitable and we certainly felt very welcome.
The room was simple, a double bed and a bathroom but was perfect for our needs. Although the Internet could be a little temperamental, we had a very comfortable stay and would certainly do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StreeterA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest "StreeterA",
Fantastic!! That is what we like to hear from our guests!
We are not commenting your review, we are just keeping it for a rainy day.
Please come back to our fantastic HOTEL NUOVA ITALIA when you will
visit Florence again.
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights before my study abroad program started. As I was looking for my program headquarters I stumbled across the Duomo which was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel! As a woman that was traveling alone I felt very safe in this hotel. The room was very clean and had a small tv (which was a good size for a single room), and air conditioning. The bathroom was very clean and looked newer/renovated. Both the size of the room and the size of the bathroom were comfortable for one person. They also offer a complimentary continental breakfast. There is no elevator which is almost always the case it Florence. The husband and wife who worked there were very friendly as was the rest of the staff, including their daughter (?). The husband and wife both speak English well as the daughter speaks English very well. They were very accommodating and allowed for an extension of my checkout time. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilquis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest "bilquis a",
Thank you for your review!!! It is very rewarding for us all at the HOTEL NUOVA ITALIA to get a nice feed back about the hotel. We do work hard to make our guests have a very good stay and when
we succeed we feast!
We hope to have you again at our estabilishment some time in the near future and until the we remain,
Sincerely yours,
Luciano Viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here in early June for the1 night. We found the staff very helpful and the accommodation to be very good. The breakfast was a good way to start the day. The only fault with hotel is the noise of the market carts at some early hour of the morning. Overall we found the stay pleasant and for the1 night the noise was bearable.

Room Tip: Book rooms at the rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest "tezza5",
We thank you very much for the nice words your wrote abour our HOTEL NUOVA ITALIA!
Your advice for our future guests to ask for rooms facing the back of the hotel is very good,
althought our "airport windows" - when shut properly - buffer most of the outside noise.
Please come back to us on your next visit to Florence and do not forh+ìget to book a room ..........facing the back of the building!!!
Until then we remain,
Sincerely yours,
Luciano Viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed our stay. We had initial doubts about the room which overlooked what appeared to be the back of a laundry, but we had asked for a quiet room and we realised that in this old town, unless you book somewhere expensive, or out of town, you’re either going to be looking out on the noisy street, or onto the back of someone else’s house. The room was fine, breakfast was good with excellent coffee, and the family and staff are really warm and welcoming. They have a great art collection. Location is also excellent, within easy walking distance from the railway station, near the wonderful Basilica Santa Maria Novella, beside the Basilica San Lorenzo and a leisurely stroll from the breathtaking Duomo. At €99 a night for a double room we thought it excellent value in this expensive city.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SkeffIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest SkeffIreland,
We were very pleased to read he very nice review you wrote on our HOTEL NUOVA ITALIA.
The girl at the coffe machine thanks you a lot!
We do work hard so that our guests may have a comfortable stay and a feed back like yours is very rewarding for our EGO(!!!!).
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Florence at our estabilishment in the near future and until then we reamain,
Sincerely yours,
Luciano viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Nuova Italia, the location is perfect in between the main train station and the centre of town (5 minute walk either way) which was very handy.

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable (what is expected from a 2 star hotel). It can be a little noisy at night, which didn't wake me but woke my girlfriend a couple of times.

Breakfast in the morning is a nice extra. This is the only hotel we have had on our travels that makes you coffee to order at breakfast (cappuccino, expresso, ect). This got me VERY excited!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbloom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Manager at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest Tbloom5,
Our breakfast girl Serena was very happy to hear that you got excited about her coffee in
the morning. She actually makes one of the best cappuccinos I have ever tasted and a
big cup of it!
Anyway, we thank you for your review and hope to have you again at the Hotel Nuova Italia next time you come to Florence.
Sincrely yours,
Luciano Viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Centrally located -near to Santa Mariia Novella station(all tours pick-ups and train trips to Milan/Venice/Bologna)and sightseeing places nearby.Happening street with plenty of places to eat and plenty to shop.Also cheap shops.No need for pick-up /drop off taxis just drag your baggage and reach station.
Hotel is 2star with BF.All required amenities available -rooms size just ok, good shower,hot n cold water,closet-hangers,soaps,clean white towels,daily cleaning.We hardly felt any noise(2nd floor) as the windows are thick,TV. Wifi only in lobby.Internet, skype, forex, tours all nearby.(1euro=30minutes)
I went with my daughter-16yrs/and son 22yrs on 20th-25th June and they enjoyed it.Eateries are varied-plenty of choice.
We slept well ate well and had good time. Liked Franco at the desk and also one lady there-she was very helpful.She guided us about wine-shipping and post-office.
What more does one need ?

Room Tip: if young go for 2nd floor if senior go for ground or 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUVI50123, Owner at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest MedhaD,
We thank you for the very nice review you wrote on our HOTEL NUOVA ITALIA .
It was very nice to read your words of appreciation for ourplace.
May we reassure you that our WI-FI system is now working perfectly and is still free-of-charge.
Please come and stay at the Nuova Italia when visiting Florence again!!
Sincerely,
Luciano Viti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#103 of 409 in Florence
916 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
#117 of 409 in Florence
473 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#122 of 409 in Florence
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#94 of 409 in Florence
591 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 409 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#162 of 409 in Florence
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuova Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuova Italia

Address: Via Faenza 26, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#132 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $56 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nuova Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location within walking distance from train station, all museums and sights. Shopping is at hand. All rooms with new bathrooms with hairdryers, air conditioned, sat-TV, telephone. As part of our services we make museums and tour reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nuova Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Italia Florence
Nuova Italia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing