We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal, friendly attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nuova Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nuova Italia
Ranked #100 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal, friendly attention”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nuova Italia is a family-run small hotel in an excellent location: an easy walk from the train station and from the major sights of Firenze. The father-and-daughter owners are very pleasant and helpful with questions of any sort; both speak good English. Included breakfast was a bit more than a 'continental' one but not a fully-loaded buffet. The interior is nicely decorated with prints, posters, and artworks collected by the father; and a small reference library of left-behind books helps plan your travels. The rooms on the outside can be a bit noisy because the hotel is one short block from the famous San Lorenzo street market; another short block puts you at the Central Market and several small but good restaurants. Ristaurante Guido up the street towards the center is especially good. The rooms are one and two floors up the staircase–no lift–and have the usual ameneties including AC, window screens, and shower curtains. This is a warm, welcoming place to spend your days in Florence and I will return without doubt in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    382
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
325
123
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The fact that is a family run establishment is a big plus!!. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and so are the ensuite bathrooms. I heard complaints about been noisy, but that was not my experience. Breakfast was good and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. They love what they do and love to help!. The hotel is close to the train station but on a pedestrian street which keeps it away from car noises. Even though is close to busy S. Lorenzo market, noise what not an issue. The best of all is that is close to Piazza del Duomo and that the street where is at is full of restaurants. Good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_Amado61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This a good hotel in a good location in Florence. Close to the train station, less than 5 minutes away. The room size is the average size for Italy. The bathroom is small, you have to take care not to flood everywhere.

The best thing on the hotel is the breakfast. The staff will prepare you a fresh and good coffee,

The staff was always friendly and they make the effort to communicate, not all of them really speak english, but I could communicate with a mix of englis-spanish-portuguese. It was enough for them to let me know that one of the best pizzas in Florence was close by at Nerone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oswaldoneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located at a excellent location, 5 mins walk from Firenze SMN train station. Small toilet and shower area. Note that there's no air-con available during their cold season even through it's quite warm during my stay. Luckily a standing fan is there to safe the day. Breakfast is nice but limited variety. Nice restaurants around the corner. Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatEscape60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luviflorence, Proprietario at Hotel Nuova Italia, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you a million for having stayed at the Hotel Nuova Italia in Florence and for having taken the time to write such a nice review in Tripadvisor.!
We hope that you will be able to replicate your trip in the near future and we are taking this opportunity to with you and your loved ones our
VERY BEST WISHES FOR A VERY HAPPY HOLIDAY SEASON AND FOR A FANTASTIC NEW YEAR!!!
Sincerely
Luciano Viti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is in a PERFECT location with walking distance to the Duomo, train station, and many other great shops / restaurants. Our room was decent sized (not huge) with a great big window looking right out to all of the action. It's a bit loud in the morning with all of the vendors close by - but it wasn't too bad.The bathroom was pretty small but very clean and modern.

The front desk staff was great! All very friendly, and welcoming throughout our trip. It was nice to have breakfast served every morning as well, and any type of coffee made to order.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Florence. It's a perfect location for the perfect price. I'd also definitely come back!

Only con: No elevator

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cochranlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel have fantastic personal, great location (be prepared for very small noise behind window almost whole night because this is centrum) and clean but a bit small rooms. If someone would ask me then i would recommend this hotel to him: Perfect! value of money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hotel Nuova Italia in Florence is a no-nonsense, functional, clean, secure, and reasonably-priced lodging. It is a 5-minute walk from the train/bus station and from the Duomo, just as they advertise. Don’t expect air conditioning and romantic views, and there is no elevator so you’d better be fit if you get a room on the third floor. It’s quiet in the back. Breakfast is served in a cheery, sparkling room, and offers fresh rolls and brioche, butter, jam, packaged cheese, yogurt, cold or hot cereal, cake, orange juice and scrumptious custom-made coffees and chocolate. And the best part of the hotel is the staff. Daniela is charming, efficient, helpful, and multilingual, and her staff strives to understand and satisfy guests’ needs. We would gladly stay at the Nuova Italia when we visit Florence the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
873 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
718 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 421 in Florence
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#114 of 421 in Florence
442 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#76 of 421 in Florence
340 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#52 of 421 in Florence
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuova Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuova Italia

Property: Hotel Nuova Italia
Address: Via Faenza 26, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#132 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nuova Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location within walking distance from train station, all museums and sights. Shopping is at hand. All rooms with new bathrooms with hairdryers, air conditioned, sat-TV, telephone. As part of our services we make museums and tour reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nuova Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Italia Florence
Nuova Italia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing