We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
915
498
92
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
498
92
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boboli gardens pitti palace rooftop terrace ponte vecchio great location small elevator third floor the hotel staff your luggage family room exploring florence wonderful hotel gelato reception area junior suite hotel is situated room was large
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2008

I forget how we found this little gem, but we loved our stay here in October. Two blocks from Ponte Vecchio, down a narrow street, up 92 steps (or a small elevator), the room was generous for Italy. Our room had a large room between the bedroom and the large bathroom, which was nice, but kind of odd.

The terraces were wonderful, particularly at night. We had a great view of the Duomo and of Florence in general.

The breakfast was light, but all we needed.

The staff were very helpful and kind. Close to several bus stops, we took the bus back to the train station.

I would not recommend this if you have trouble with stairs, even after taking the elevator, you still have to negotiate narrow stairs to get to your room. But otherwise a great find. I would definitely stay here again.

Bob T

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Racer042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

The Hotel La Scaletta was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were very spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel has a lot of old world charm. The breakfast was very good and it was great to have a minibar in our room. The staff was also very helpful. Have them book your museum reservations when you book the room. Otherwise you will wait for hours to see the Uffizi and Accademia galleries.

The two rooftop decks were spactacular though and the reason why I booked this hotel. The top terrace has 360 degree views of Florence and the main patio has a small bar and great views of Pitti Palace and Boboli gardens. You will truly feel like you are in a fairytale!

The hotel is a little hard to find as it is tucked away off the main street, but the location was very convenient and quiet. There is also a great restaurant near there called 4leoni just past the hotel away from the Ponte Vechhio and to the right. Look for the sign that says WC and you are going the right way. Make a reservation though, as it is BUSY, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

This hotel is a great value. Its 2 blocks from the Ponte Vecchio and 1 block from Pitti Palace (Boboli Gardens). The staff was very friendly and the hotel had free internet access.

The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was big.

We loved the roof top decks, the views were amazing especially at night.

A great value would recommend hotel to my friends.

You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hazelpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

La Scaletta is a great value - right on the center of things only one block from Ponte Vecchio and one block from Palazzo Pitti. The name is a hint - be ready for lots of stairs! We loved our night here and wished we had a longer reservation, especially since the rate was a great value. We enjoyed wine on the rooftop terrace - great views! Staff was helpful (not very friendly, by American standards) and breakfast was minimal -- cereal, juice -- but included. This was the only place in 10 days (Rome, Florence) where a hotel provided free wireless internet - that was awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annalitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

The roof terrace at La Scaletta is absolutely stunning. We walked in off the street and the roof terrace convinced us to stay (pity it then rained so we didn't get to enjoy it). Friendly staff who booked the Uffuzi and Academia for us so we could avoid the queues. Large room was bright and clean. We enjoyed CNN after 3 weeks without English TV. Double window so even though we faced the street was pretty quiet. Lots of stairs to climb to reception (or very small lift) and quite a few stairs within the hotel too. Breakfast was average, I would skip it next time and go to the cafe on the corner by the Gold Bridge which does great coffee and scrambed eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews