We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #59 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed May 15, 2004

Pensione Albergo LaScallatta is in a great location, between the Ponte Vecchio & the Pitti Palace. The layout is very interesting - the place is like a 3-D puzzle. My roommate & I had a room with a bath down the hall, the bathroom flooded every time she took a shower - I did not have the same problem. Some of the staff was very welcoming & helpful, but some of the other members of the staff were particularly unpleasant.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.,

thanks you your review.
I inform you that the Hotel management changed in 2005 and we improved the Hotel a lot.
We hope that if you'll back to Florence you'll stay again with us or you'll come to see the differences done in 10 years.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2004

I recommend this place to all my friends. I stayed in a 3 person room in 2001, it was very sizeable and charming. I felt like I was in an authentic Italian apartment. Great location. The rooftop view remains in my memory today as one of my most beautiful sights.

3  Thank DJChicago99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Mr. D.,

thank s for your review.
I'm writing you to inform you that the management changed in 2005 and we really hope that if you'll back to florence you'll come to visit us again.
All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2004

We were in Firenze July 4-18, 2003. My wife and 2 small daughters had to stay in a different room in a different level; we were charged 150 euros for these 2 rooms. The rooms were on different levels with half staircases to go over (like a bridge). The archaic elevator was claustrophobic, jerky and dark. The elevator had 2 doors, an insider and outer door. If someone forgot to close the inner door, the elevator would not come when called, so enjoy carrying your luggage up 4 floors.
My wife slept with my 2 daughters in a queen size bed with weak springs. The shared bathroom was down the half stairs and up on the other floor. Scary to travel to bathroom in darkness. At least her room had A/C. My room had no A/C, noisy cheap fan, huge shutters that were broken, and a noisy view of Via Guicciardini which partied all night. I slept only a few hours to be awaken by a street cleaner truck. The madame/hostel was rude and had the audacity to charge us 16 euros for stale toast, milk for the girls and coffee for us. The roof-top breakfast spot was closed for cleaning. A very large rat was seen on the main floor outside courtyard. The sign outside rated this place as 2 stars; I would rate it 0.5 stars. One night was plenty for us; got out ASAP. In Canadian funds, one night cost me $278.00; for this price stay in the Tuscan hills to the south.

3  Thank AnthonyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Mr. A.,

Thanks for the review and sorry for bad stay you had, also if we were not running the Hotel during it. If you'll be back to Florence we hope that you'll find a minute to come to visit us so we'll show you all the modified that we did to improve our Hotel and maybe next stay in Florence will be again to Hotel La Scaletta.
Now we can only wish you "Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
12
Reviewed November 28, 2003

Terrible! The room was dirty. There were dust bunnies the size of cats under the beds, especially frustrating if you have allergies, or drop something. We had to ask for a TV and a blow dryer. They were given with an attitude. Not the most customer service oriented place. Yea, it was cheap, but now I see why. Use discretion! This should be your last and only choice!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thanks for the review! A lo of changes have been made to our Hotel since your stay, starting from the management, so we hope that you'll give us another chance to change your opinion on our Hotel.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
CT
15
Reviewed September 16, 2003

My second experience and enjoyed it again. Roof top garden view is amazing. Staff is friendly... even Madame after you get to know her and get her to smile. Great location... a block from Ponte Vecchio and stone's throw from Pitti Palace. On the "quieter" side of the Arno.Highly recommend!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for the review! Hotel La Scaletta's management is changed at the end of 2004 so we hope that if you'll be in Florence you'll choose again our Hotel.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed July 20, 2003

We were referred to this Hotel via Rick Steve's. We may have had a non-standard room, but it looked like a kitchen that was transformed into a room. The air conditioning unit had a hose that was suppose to go out the window to release the hot air, however, they had it stuck out the window with the shutters closed so it was blowing all the hot air back into the room. Then in the middle of the night it broke. We probably just had a bad experience, and may not be the norm, but we were scheduled to stay there four nights and after one, we were glad to get out.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sirs,

I inform you that the mangement of the Hotel La Scaletta was not ours in 2003 but I hope that in case you'll be in Florence you'll stay with us or just come to have a look to all the modifies that we did and maybe choose our Hotel for your next stay in order to leave you a good souvernir of Florence, our Hotel. At the moment I can ny wish you a Merry Christmas!
All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jessica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,138 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,169 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#42 of 411 in Florence
2,759 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $116 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing