We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views, elegance and a real neighbourhood in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Views, elegance and a real neighbourhood in Florence!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is fabulous. Located in Oltarno, it is on the opposite side of the Arno river to the Duomo, Ufizzi and many of the museums. But, don't panic! It is in Via Guicciardini, which leads directly to the Ponte Vecchio only 100 meters away. The beauty of this location is that you are out of the main tourist crush (Florentines are starting to be concerned that their city may be wilting under the constant tourist throng), in a wonderful "real" neighbourhood and it only takes 10 minutes to walk to the Duomo area.

The hotel itself offers a very wide choice of accommodation and corresponding prices. Located in a fifteenth century palazzo, much renovation has taken place but all has been carefully done to reflect both traditional Florentine and modern Italian design. I stayed in two different rooms - one more traditional with views of the Boboli Gardens, the other reflecting a more modern Italian style. Both were great, spacious with good bathrooms. It's useful to know that the hotel is on various levels so, depending on where your room is located, there may be many stairs. However these are manageable.


Breakfast is very good with many choices of fresh fruits, a huge freshly made fruit salad bowl, cereals, great breads, croissants etc and hot and cold meats, cheeses and sausages. You can have a range of teas, make real espresso or choose from about eight options from their very good coffee machine. There is ample indoor seating, but you can also breakfast on either level of the roof terrace. This is a spectacular feature of La Scaletta. The view from the terrace lower level is of the Boboli Gardens and the Piitii Palace (practically next door) but the scene from the upper terrace gives you an unbroken 360 degree view of Florence. Hard to beat.

Apart from offering breakfast, La Scaletta has a restaurant on the rooftop garden. The food is excellent and the wine list comprehensive. It really does cap off your stay here. The hotel staff are also terrific, offering helpful advice and assistance with a smile.
The surrounding neighbourhood is very interesting. Apart from the many shops in Via Guicciardini, there are artigiani (artisan) workshops, restaraunts, bars and gelaterie in the immediate vicinity. For instance, Piazza della Passera is home to Caffe degli Artigiani, and there is a wonderful artisan gelateria on the opposite corner. Piazza Santo Spirito is also a wonderful space with at least eight restaurants spilling out onto the piazza. Then there is the Pitti Palace (much calmer than the Ufizzi), Santa Maria del Carmine, with the Cappella Branacci, and Piazzalle Michelangelo, with those fabulous postcard views of Florence -just to name a few.

Hotel La Scaletta - Via Guicciardini, 13 - 50125 FLORENCE Italy
Tel. +39 055 283 028 | Fax: +39 055 283 013
E-mail: info@hotellascaletta.it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. S.,

Thanks so much for the kind review and for the suggestions for the others guests that will come to Florence, it's always great to have a tip from people that tried restaurants and cafès.
We are happy that you enjoyed our location, rooms, breakfast, staff and terraces and we look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    427
    79
    32
    19
See reviews for
282
692
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights, 4 ladies,hotel was very good breakfast and excellent value for money, location perfect, so close to city and all the attractions, beautiful place to visit, would return, staff and
hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. J.,

Thanks so much for your kind review! It has been a pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel and we hope to see you soon.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room was very good and clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very good. All in all, perfect.
The room cost was on higher end.had the breakfast been included, it would have made the money worth.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfection_freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. G.,
Thanks for the kind review. We are glad that your enjoyed your stay. About breakfast we don’t include it in the room rate mostly for 2 reasons: to give a lower rate for the room an to let people feel free to decide where have breakfast in Hotel or in a pastry shop or in a café bar.
Hope to welcome you again in the future in our Hotel.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for a week to have ample time to explore the city. We got one of the older rooms , which although clean, could use the coming renovation. the overlaid floor prevents the window from opening fully. ( i would like to suggest a iron in the room, things get out of the luggage fairly wrinkled). so here is the bottom line, the hotel is a great value for location, historical immersion, very nice people but the room is fairly basic, not a bad thing in itself,
the front office staff was unfailingly polite and welcoming, Monica, Sara and Sylvia were terrific! the views from the Terrace are amazing! the bar was closed for the season as it was a bit chilly, but no bother, it's a great place to relax,
Yes the lift is small, but i was thankful it was there!, sure there are many stairs, but the Hotels name should be a clue to that. think of it as a built-in Gym to work off the fabulous food you're eating.
i would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzaelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. A.
Thanks so much for your kind review and for the suggestions. We just began to restore the Classic rooms of the Hotel so we hope that you’ll be back to find out the new amenities that we’re going to put in there.
A big “Ciao e alla prossima volta” from Sara, Silvia, Monika and all the staff!
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed in a superior room during mid October with my wife

+ Location: very central and essentially beside the Pitti Palace and Ponte Vecchio. It had a perfect balance of being far enough from tourist hordes but close enough to join them for nightly walks. It is walkable from the train station although I wouldn't recommend it with luggage. The hotel also has an ideal location for restaurants and shopping

+ Hotel service: hotel staff were great and accommodating. Rooms were cleaned daily. Before my stay, I had asked the staff to help me get reservations for the Uffizi, Accademia and restaurants and they took care of it before I arrived which was great.

+ Amenities: Breakfast buffet for $7 was a great deal and the free wifi is always a plus. They supply soap and shampoo, but no conditioner. One issue though was in the shower - there are no shelves to put said items so you either need to put it on the ground or on the toilet seat which was a bit annoying.

- bed: depends on your preference, but I found the mattress too hard to be liking.

- Stairs: I know it cannot be helped but after a long day of walking, climbing up stairs is probably the last thing you want to do, but it was only a hindrance when we were checking in and out. Even with the lift, we still needed to carry our luggage up and down more stairs. I certainly was wishing I had packed lighter!

- Restaurant/bar service: One late afternoon, my wife and I bought wine from the bar and went up to the rooftop terrace to take in the beautiful view. There was no one else up there and it was too early for dinner. We sat down and five minutes later, the waiter angrily told us there was a reservation and we can't sit down. The reservation was for two hours later..... I told him we were only going to be for a short bit and he said the bar has their own viewing area and if we don't order food, we can't sit down. This is all contrary to what we'd been told by the hotel staff and bar person. Obviously a moment ruined by a waiter without any sense of service and who needs to be re-educated. I was planning to have dinner there during my stay but if he's the only waiter (they only have 3 tables), I'd rather eat where I'm welcome.

Note: be careful when you open the door to your room. Part of the door frame which you'd expect to clear when you unlock your door doesn't, and you will end up hitting your fingers when you enter. Did the first time and careful after that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Mr. J.,

Thank you for the review. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, room, service and breakfast.
We apologize for the inconvenience that you had with the waiter and we’ll do our best to improve that service too.
For the mattress I inform you that tare all new and for this reason they can seem “hard” but as you wrote some people like the hard mattress and some people don’t, we prefer to change them every time we need new one to have always the best quality.
Hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel is near everything: Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti and the old center on the other side of the river. Our room was big, with a big bed and a tile floor which did not look 100% clean, but the receptionist kindly asked the chambermaid to clean it for us. The room had old painted furniture, but missed a writing desk and a safe. The lift is small but we could manage. We appreciated the free wifi and the kind staff. The breakfast was great and plentiful with good choice of everything. We were told that the rooms will be refurbished so we can recommend the hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorka274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. D.,
Thank you for the kind review. Yes the works to renovate the rooms already began and will end in March 2014.
We really hope to welcome you again the future and we wish you
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is very close to Ponte Vecchio, and walking distance to the Duomo, Galeria Academia and the staff was helpful in obtaining information and transportation for us, but I really did not appreciate that there were far too many stairs. One has to go up, and down, and up again to get to the room. In between the many stair trips, you ride an old-style elevator that can only take 2 persons at a time. An option is to use the stairs all the way up to the reception area which consists of 97 steps. On our last morning, it rained and there was a leak coming in from the wall. The staff had to put a towel to stop the leak from seeping into the bedroom. Some rooms are already renovated but some are still old.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly - renovated room. The staff was apologetic about the old room we had (while our othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_RTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. R.,
Thanks for your review. Stairs are the caractheristics of our Hotel as written in many review we can't change the nature of our Hotel because it's located in a XV century palace and also for this reason lift is small and can fit only 2 people...better than walk up and down the 97 steps everytime....
Anyway next monday we'll start to restore the "old" rooms of the Hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future to show you the differences.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing