We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with loads of character and truly amazing views from roof”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #54 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the Brown Room in the Uffizi guest rooms. We loved the huge room, bed, sitting area and bathroom. The lighting in the bathroom was a bit dim and the one in the shower did not work but it wasn't a problem. We would recommend you putting a wall mirror up somewhere in the living area. I-pod dock and speakers in the walls were very much appreciated. We didn't really watch any TV but it was a nice big one with very good picture. There was no view from the room but it didn't really matter as the views from the roof terraces overlooking beautiful Florence we're stunning - you really should promote this aspect of the hotel more. We had lunch soon after we arrived - the pasta with mushroom and truffle flavour was delicious. The service was a little slow but we just enjoyed relaxing on the roof terrace. Reception staff very pleasant and welcoming.
Overall we had a memorable, very comfortable stay - it wasn't cheap but all considered we were glad we paid the extra than originally intended for our fabulous time in a great city.

Room Tip: We loved the whole modern style in the Brown Room of the Uffizi suites. Don't know what the La S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Mr. G.,

thank you for the kind review and thanks for the suggestions we’ll change the lights in the rooms to let them be more light full and I agree with you a big mirror is useful in particular for women.
Glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, breakfast, terraces, room and staff and we hope to see you again.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were looking for a reasonable hotel in a good location and we came across the Hotel Scaletta on tripadvisor. Reading previous reviews and looking at previous customer photographs, we felt that the Hotel Scaletta best met our needs.

The booking process with the hotel was very slick and efficient with excellent communication with the hotel staff whose command of English was extremely good and put me to shame as I don’t speak any Italian.

So, hotel booked and all other aspects of our week break arranged all that was left to do was arrive.

On arrival, you’re greeted with a large entrance to a foyer off which is a narrow corridor leading to a stairwell and lift. The hotel reception is on the second floor and beware as there are 96 steps so take the small lift.

The reception staff were very friendly and check-in was completed very efficiently.

The first thing you notice is the quirky nature of the hotel, as on leaving reception to go to our room we go down to the first floor of the building. This in our opinion gave the hotel a certain charm.

Anyway our first impression of our room was very nice, tastefully decorated in a modern minimalist style. The room benefited from views over the Bobili Gardens and the Kaffeehaus.

After settling in, it was time to venture forth into Florence, and well, the hotel is in a magnificent location some 200m from the south side of the Ponte Vecchio Bridge, fantastic.

For those who wish to explore Florence this hotel really is an excellent base location.

As our week progressed and our love of Florence grew we were able to reflect on the hotel, noting some good and bad points, including reception, dining, housekeeping, privacy and security.

It’s our feeling that the reception on the second floor is in a less than ideal position, as guests whose rooms were on the first floor have little need to pass the reception area and therefore the staff miss an opportunity to engage with guests, and obtain feedback etc.

Our stay was on a package that included breakfast on the first day which gave us freedom to choose to either have breakfast in the hotel or go out to the many local cafes.

The breakfast was in our opinion poor, a buffet style, in a cramped area at the end of the dining room. There was a selection of traditional ham and cheese, pastries, cereals, fruit along with hot servings of bacon and scrambled eggs. We noted that the hot food was not being touched by any of the other guests and it didn’t look particularly appealing, the rest of the food was left uncovered.

We had a simple breakfast of fruit, coffee, and pastry on the first morning and that was the only occasion we took breakfast in the hotel preferring to use some of the local cafes for brunch.

Following a long day and a trip to Venice we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel dining room, we wish we hadn’t. The food was mediocre and very poor value, I had linguini with langoustines in a cream sauce (there were two small langoustines certainly not of a size I would get in Scotland for less money) for €14 and my partner had a marinara pizza which was in her opinion bland. The only saving grace was the good bottle of Chianti.

The hotel really needs to up its game here, we cannot recommend dining in the hotel with so many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance that serve significantly better food and invariably are cheaper too.

Added to the disappointment with the food we felt that the dining room was no place for staff to be watching a football game on TV! This was in our opinion extremely rude, the staff are there to work not watch TV. Having said that we were only the second couple to be in the dining room which says it all really. We did not use the dining room again. They would benefit from a visit from Gordon Ramsay that’s for sure. At one point we watched a member of staff help himself to a beer, now in the UK that would be frowned upon for a variety of reasons.

Now we come to housekeeping, the staff were friendly enough but we felt that they needed to be better managed. The rooms may have been ‘tidied’ with a brief vacuum but we could still see dust accumulating on the wood panel floor along the bottom skirting boards. Towels were only changed once during our stay and in room refreshments comprised of tea, sugar but no milk and not necessarily replenished on a daily basis. We did notice that whilst housekeeping staff were going about their business it was common to see rooms open with nobody around and there were implications later in our holiday.

When it came to privacy, all we can say is that the walls offer no sound proofing; we could hear every word spoken by the couple next door and the footsteps along the corridor.

The real disappointment of our stay was the loss of a pair of Ray-Ban sunglasses belonging to my partner. We were heading off on a day trip to Pisa, San Gimignano, and Siena, the weather was very inclement with a huge thunderstorm early in the morning so my partner decided not to take her glasses and left them on the small table. On our return later that night, the glasses were gone other stuff (nothing of particular value) was left. We cannot say who took them, but we had noticed that rooms were left open as stated previously so it could quite easily have been another guest who sneaked in.

Don’t get me wrong this hotel has a lot going for it, the reception staff are lovely, the beds are comfortable and the location is brilliant. It’s just the hotel could be so much better with relatively minor adjustments. We would still recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Florence, but eat elsewhere for better value, and use the room safe.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with views to Bobili Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for the exaustive review. We are glad that you enjoyed some aspects of our Hotel and we would like to thank you also for the complain that for sure will help us to improve our service and if you’ll be back to make your next stay better than this one.

I inform you that because the Hotel is located in a XV century Palace it’s not possible, for the Italians laws, to put the reception on the ground floor. The new rooms on the 1st floor were not part of the Hotel at the beginning but I’m glad to inform you that we’ll put in the next days a monitor next to the lift, so people will ring the bell and we’ll send them without bags directly at the room level.

We understand that it’s nicer to see a person every time that you come back from your day trip in Florence or Tuscany but we thought also that was not a good thing for guest, that have a room on the 1st floor, to go every time to the reception desk to get the room key.

Breakfast: we understand that for sure there are others Hotels where breakfast is better than ours but for € 7 per person you have a buffet breakfast with a good choose of things to eat, hot and cold things, including the fruit salad of fresh fruit (In some 4/ 5 stars Hotel it’s served a packaged fruit salad) Anyway we’ll try to improve it as well.

Restaurant is a new service of the Hotel so of course we still have to improve the quality of dishes and the linguine that you had is part of the new menu. All the review are a good change to improve. About the part of the staff that was watching TV we agree with you it’s not their work and they don’t have to do it during the working time.

We’ll do a staff meeting so we’ll explain to everybody which are the things that can be done and which must not be done like leave the doors open of the rooms.
About your sun glasses we apologize for the inconvenience but I don’t think that another guest or staff member stole them.

Hope to see you again and drink a glass of wine on the roof.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A bit uncomfortable. Reception is on the top floor.
Elevator is not big enough for two people and their luggage.
The worst part is their staff. Grumpy waiter and disrespectful maids in the hall way making all kinds of noise in the morning and conversing aloud not taking in consideration people are still sleeping. I even warned them about it and they kept talking as if I hadn't said anything.
If you get a room near the stairway's door you'll get all the terrible noise coming from people entering and exiting slamming it.
For the price I paid I expected a bit more professionalism.
Wifi in your room doesn't work and even at the reception area is no that good.
Otherwise Good location, and clean rooms.

Thank Adhemar M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs. A.,

Thanks for the review. Are you sure that you're talking about our Hotel? You stayed with us only 1 night at your arrival (12.00) rooms were not ready because check-in time is at 02.00 p.m. and you left our bags in our deposit. Asked information at the reception desk and they gave us all the informations requried. When you came back we showed you the rooms then we saw you again the next morning and everything was ok. You didn't tell us nothing about the problem tat you wrote in the review. You were happy so it's strange that now you wrote about all this problems.
We are sorry if you had this incovenience but if you don't dvise the reception that therea are problems for us means that everything is ok.
All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located. Our room was lovely. I still don't understand why Italians don't believe in Kleenex and clocks. Be forewarned: there are 97 steps to reception, and only one lift that fits two. The hotel terrace is really nice - make sure you go all the way to the top! The walls are too thin; noises carried from other rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank s209travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs. S.,

Thank you for the review! I promise you that we'll put some Kleenex in the bathrooms.
Hope to see you again in the future.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at La Scaletta for two reasons -- They have a chat room where the very helpful staff ladies answer every question you might have prior to your booking with them. They even helped me learn Italian, gave us the names of places where they eat and get gelato, and were exceptionally helpful. The second reason is their marvelous location, about 75 meters from Ponte Vecchio and just down the street from Pitti Palace. We easily walked to all the sights. We had a room overlooking the Boboli Gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor at the back of the hotel. We let the staff pick the room, #42. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oprah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr.&Mrs. G.,

Thanks so much! It has been a pleasure welcome you and help you with suggestions and Italian words.
Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Hotel offers serveral kinds of rooms. We stayes in new and modern one - not in a Suite...it was tranquil because it faced the BOBOLI GARDENS.
It is very close to Ponte Vecchio. So the most interesting things are in walking distance. It is clean and has a lovely breakfast terasse. The breakfast is also good. The rooms are nothing special but for a short city visit o.k.
I recommend this location

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naplesmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs.N.,

Thank you for your kind review.
We'll try to improve our rooms to make them perfect and we hope to welcome you again in the future to show you the difference.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We picked this great little place without really knowing what to expect - and so glad we did!Originally a 'Palazzo', it is in the Oltrarno, so away from - but easily walkable to - the crowds, the shopping and the Duomo, Accademia etc. The roof terrace bar serves great cocktails which we best enjoyed on the higher terrace, from where there is a fab panoramic view over the City. We were 2 but could only get a 4-bed room (no.32 if you're planning a trip!) but reckoned the extra price was worth the larger space - terra cotta floor, high ceiling, large windows and wonderful old wardrobe.
We ate only breakfast in the hotel - described as "American" but in reality a hotplate with eggs, bacon and sausage - as the restaurant menu did not compare with all the other wonderful establisments available.
Very helpful, friendly and English speaking staff. We would certainly choose it again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr. R.,

Thanks so much! It's a pleasure know that you enjoyed your stay and you loved our rooms.
I'm glad to inform you that we are going to restore them in November so we hope to welcome you back in the future to enjoy again a stay with us.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 411 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 411 in Florence
849 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#89 of 411 in Florence
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $82 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing