We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$657
$634
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$258
$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$331
$303
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$418
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$357
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$329
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$189
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
$340
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveler rating
868
480
87
35
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
480
87
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboboli gardenspitti palacerooftop terraceponte vecchiogreat locationsmall elevatorthird flooryour luggagefamily roomexploring florencecharming hoteljunior suitegelatoroom was largemajor sitesloved this hotelold building
Filter
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and we found it to be a great location within walking distance to many top attractions..including the Accademia which looks pretty far on the map but it only took us about 15 minutes while even stopping to take pictures. Our main concern was with the layout with so many stairs. You have to be able to carry your luggage up quite a few stairs before getting to a tiny elevator that fits one person with 2 large suitcases. You have to be very careful as you step out of the elevator since there's a step almost immediately as you come off it. With all this said, I think I would still stay there given the price, location, cleanliness of the room, and most of all the must see view from the terrace of their rooftop restaurant. I didn't realize until after booking the hotel that it is listed in the book 1,000 Places to See Before you Die (because of the view from the terrace). If you read Rick Steves' books he also recommends it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lopezsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Mr. L.,
Thank you! Yes, the name of the Hotel means stairs so that why it’s full of it, we have a person that can help our guests with bags.
It’s true our lift is small but it works properly, better to walk upstairs for 97 steps...
We hope to welcome you back in the future, if you want we have some deluxe room that are on the ground floor so no stairs to do, a small tip for next time =)
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The staff is extremely nice and helpful. They have 2 terraces one of which (small) provides an astonishing 360 view on Florence- they are located in the center, everything interesting at walking distance. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable, the food is average. Globally a place providing a great experience, I will certainly return in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ntfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs. N.,
thanks for your kind review we are happy that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed also the dinner on the roof.
We hope to welcome you back in the next future.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the hip Oltrarno area almost equidistant from the Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace. You can easily walk to any of Florence's historical attractions. You can't necessarily walk the 92 stairs up to the hotel - unless you're fit. There is however a rather small elevator to get you there. Once there, enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms and most importantly, the rooftop terrace. Spectacular views, wonderful drinks and atmosphere galore. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Mr. D.,
thanks so much for your kind words. It’s a pleasure hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
Unfortunately we can’t have a bugger lift but it’s good that we have one and as you wrote you can fit and eat more gelato or pizza or pasta climbing the stairs =)
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two kids, ages 13 and 9. We had a lovely room, with a separate sleeping area for the kids. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was spacious and everyone enjoyed the stay. The restaurant on the terrace is amazing...we ate there twice! Breakfast was great too...and one morning was included. Would have been nice if all three mornings had breakfast included, but all in all this wasn't a big deal. The welcome drinks on our first night were a nice touch too. Location was ideal. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz2013601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Mrs. L.,
thanks! It has been really a pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future and drink a glass of wine on the terraces.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes, the hotel is perfectly located. I wish I'd confirmed which room we will be staying in before booking. I believe there is a newly renovated wing but unfortunately we were sent to the dungeons. Don't stay here if you have luggage and your intention is holidaying. It was arduous getting 6 bags of luggage up and down the stairs inside the "hotel". Not to mention the 4 trips up and down the elevator to transport these 6 bags and the 4 people. There is only enough space for 1 person and 2 bags, 3 bags or 2 people. After getting all the luggage and kids to the room and visiting a chiropractor, things improved. I certainly can't agree with the breakfast review - "great food" as I found the breakfast disappointing. Maybe if I'd stayed in one of the refurbished suites, I would have a different opinion of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawry-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Mr. M.,

It’s a pity that your stay hasn’t been so good as you want but our Hotel is located in a XV century building and for this reason we can’t have a big lift like a 5 stars Hotel, our lift is small but works and it’s good to have it instead of climb 97 steps to reach the reception.
The Hotel name means “stairs” and it’s a characteristic of it to have inside, it’s not a classic Hotel where all the rooms look the same and there’s a long corridor where all the rooms are, we understand that not everybody like an Hotel like ours.
Our web site but also the web agencies web sites there are photos of each room typ.
At the moment of the reservation just ask for which kind of furniture the room book has, we answer you.
About breakfast I agree with you that we have to improve it and we are working on it, the quality is not low, we need only to figure out how the space that we have at disposal and how to present things.
Anyway we hope to welcome you back again in the future to show you our improvements.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews