We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #47 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I loved the size of room. It was good enough for kids playing and for us, to be comfortable.
Also the size of bathroom was great!
The view from the terrace was terrific! It was amazing start the day with that view and a good breakfest.
Staff very helpful.
Very good location close to the main touristic points.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. C.,
Thanks so much! Customer satisfaction is the best gift for us. Hope to welcome you in the future and maybe drink a glass of wine on the terrace.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    427
    79
    32
    19
See reviews for
282
693
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and we found it to be a great location within walking distance to many top attractions..including the Accademia which looks pretty far on the map but it only took us about 15 minutes while even stopping to take pictures. Our main concern was with the layout with so many stairs. You have to be able to carry your luggage up quite a few stairs before getting to a tiny elevator that fits one person with 2 large suitcases. You have to be very careful as you step out of the elevator since there's a step almost immediately as you come off it. With all this said, I think I would still stay there given the price, location, cleanliness of the room, and most of all the must see view from the terrace of their rooftop restaurant. I didn't realize until after booking the hotel that it is listed in the book 1,000 Places to See Before you Die (because of the view from the terrace). If you read Rick Steves' books he also recommends it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lopezsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr. L.,
Thank you! Yes, the name of the Hotel means stairs so that why it’s full of it, we have a person that can help our guests with bags.
It’s true our lift is small but it works properly, better to walk upstairs for 97 steps...
We hope to welcome you back in the future, if you want we have some deluxe room that are on the ground floor so no stairs to do, a small tip for next time =)
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The staff is extremely nice and helpful. They have 2 terraces one of which (small) provides an astonishing 360 view on Florence- they are located in the center, everything interesting at walking distance. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable, the food is average. Globally a place providing a great experience, I will certainly return in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. N.,
thanks for your kind review we are happy that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed also the dinner on the roof.
We hope to welcome you back in the next future.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the hip Oltrarno area almost equidistant from the Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace. You can easily walk to any of Florence's historical attractions. You can't necessarily walk the 92 stairs up to the hotel - unless you're fit. There is however a rather small elevator to get you there. Once there, enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms and most importantly, the rooftop terrace. Spectacular views, wonderful drinks and atmosphere galore. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mr. D.,
thanks so much for your kind words. It’s a pleasure hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
Unfortunately we can’t have a bugger lift but it’s good that we have one and as you wrote you can fit and eat more gelato or pizza or pasta climbing the stairs =)
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two kids, ages 13 and 9. We had a lovely room, with a separate sleeping area for the kids. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was spacious and everyone enjoyed the stay. The restaurant on the terrace is amazing...we ate there twice! Breakfast was great too...and one morning was included. Would have been nice if all three mornings had breakfast included, but all in all this wasn't a big deal. The welcome drinks on our first night were a nice touch too. Location was ideal. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz2013601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. L.,
thanks! It has been really a pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future and drink a glass of wine on the terraces.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes, the hotel is perfectly located. I wish I'd confirmed which room we will be staying in before booking. I believe there is a newly renovated wing but unfortunately we were sent to the dungeons. Don't stay here if you have luggage and your intention is holidaying. It was arduous getting 6 bags of luggage up and down the stairs inside the "hotel". Not to mention the 4 trips up and down the elevator to transport these 6 bags and the 4 people. There is only enough space for 1 person and 2 bags, 3 bags or 2 people. After getting all the luggage and kids to the room and visiting a chiropractor, things improved. I certainly can't agree with the breakfast review - "great food" as I found the breakfast disappointing. Maybe if I'd stayed in one of the refurbished suites, I would have a different opinion of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawry-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr. M.,

It’s a pity that your stay hasn’t been so good as you want but our Hotel is located in a XV century building and for this reason we can’t have a big lift like a 5 stars Hotel, our lift is small but works and it’s good to have it instead of climb 97 steps to reach the reception.
The Hotel name means “stairs” and it’s a characteristic of it to have inside, it’s not a classic Hotel where all the rooms look the same and there’s a long corridor where all the rooms are, we understand that not everybody like an Hotel like ours.
Our web site but also the web agencies web sites there are photos of each room typ.
At the moment of the reservation just ask for which kind of furniture the room book has, we answer you.
About breakfast I agree with you that we have to improve it and we are working on it, the quality is not low, we need only to figure out how the space that we have at disposal and how to present things.
Anyway we hope to welcome you back again in the future to show you our improvements.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we arrived they gave us drink tickets for the first night and there were a couple of water / soda type drinks free in the mini bar. One nights breakfast was included in our room rate and it was really good. Great food, replenished regularly and brilliant espresso coffee. They have three levels of seating in the eating area for breakfast and the evening restaurant. The first is on the reception level. Stairs up to the terrace level with the bar and another set of stairs up to the roof for a 360 degree view of Florence. Spectacular.

A tip is you really need to use the elevator from the door to reception. The 97 steps are about 5 stories of stairs to climb. The elevator looks small and not very secure, but it is. Use it.

There seemed to be a mosquito problem and the window in our bathroom didn't lock, or stay closed. A tip is to leave the bathroom light on all night to try to attract the bugs into there instead of the bedroom. Also the chairs in the room seemed a little rickety and maybe are just for decoration.

We loved the location and could walk to the sights and the central train station easily. We did take a taxi from the airport to get there and it was scary and cost 35 Euros. That's more than the27 Euro fixed rate because we came from the rental car location rather than the airport taxi stand. Or so he said. Oh well, you can't expect a good deal all the time.

On check in they offered a 10% discount if we paid cash. So we went to the ATM and got the cash. They also asked for payment the night before we left which I think is because they are a B&B and we left early. I got a receipt just in case.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mr. P.,
Thanks! And thanks for making the reservation directly with the Hotel, that why you had the welcome drink and late check-out and the discount for cash payment.
Lift is small but secure and it’s the biggest one that we could have for a XV century building.
Hope that next time will improve our Hotel to get the 5 points review.
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#52 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#54 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing