We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs and more stairs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #56 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the hip Oltrarno area almost equidistant from the Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace. You can easily walk to any of Florence's historical attractions. You can't necessarily walk the 92 stairs up to the hotel - unless you're fit. There is however a rather small elevator to get you there. Once there, enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms and most importantly, the rooftop terrace. Spectacular views, wonderful drinks and atmosphere galore. The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Mr. D.,
thanks so much for your kind words. It’s a pleasure hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
Unfortunately we can’t have a bugger lift but it’s good that we have one and as you wrote you can fit and eat more gelato or pizza or pasta climbing the stairs =)
Hope to welcome you back in the future.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two kids, ages 13 and 9. We had a lovely room, with a separate sleeping area for the kids. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable beds. The bathroom was spacious and everyone enjoyed the stay. The restaurant on the terrace is amazing...we ate there twice! Breakfast was great too...and one morning was included. Would have been nice if all three mornings had breakfast included, but all in all this wasn't a big deal. The welcome drinks on our first night were a nice touch too. Location was ideal. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz2013601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Mrs. L.,
thanks! It has been really a pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future and drink a glass of wine on the terraces.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes, the hotel is perfectly located. I wish I'd confirmed which room we will be staying in before booking. I believe there is a newly renovated wing but unfortunately we were sent to the dungeons. Don't stay here if you have luggage and your intention is holidaying. It was arduous getting 6 bags of luggage up and down the stairs inside the "hotel". Not to mention the 4 trips up and down the elevator to transport these 6 bags and the 4 people. There is only enough space for 1 person and 2 bags, 3 bags or 2 people. After getting all the luggage and kids to the room and visiting a chiropractor, things improved. I certainly can't agree with the breakfast review - "great food" as I found the breakfast disappointing. Maybe if I'd stayed in one of the refurbished suites, I would have a different opinion of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawry-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Mr. M.,

It’s a pity that your stay hasn’t been so good as you want but our Hotel is located in a XV century building and for this reason we can’t have a big lift like a 5 stars Hotel, our lift is small but works and it’s good to have it instead of climb 97 steps to reach the reception.
The Hotel name means “stairs” and it’s a characteristic of it to have inside, it’s not a classic Hotel where all the rooms look the same and there’s a long corridor where all the rooms are, we understand that not everybody like an Hotel like ours.
Our web site but also the web agencies web sites there are photos of each room typ.
At the moment of the reservation just ask for which kind of furniture the room book has, we answer you.
About breakfast I agree with you that we have to improve it and we are working on it, the quality is not low, we need only to figure out how the space that we have at disposal and how to present things.
Anyway we hope to welcome you back again in the future to show you our improvements.
All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we arrived they gave us drink tickets for the first night and there were a couple of water / soda type drinks free in the mini bar. One nights breakfast was included in our room rate and it was really good. Great food, replenished regularly and brilliant espresso coffee. They have three levels of seating in the eating area for breakfast and the evening restaurant. The first is on the reception level. Stairs up to the terrace level with the bar and another set of stairs up to the roof for a 360 degree view of Florence. Spectacular.

A tip is you really need to use the elevator from the door to reception. The 97 steps are about 5 stories of stairs to climb. The elevator looks small and not very secure, but it is. Use it.

There seemed to be a mosquito problem and the window in our bathroom didn't lock, or stay closed. A tip is to leave the bathroom light on all night to try to attract the bugs into there instead of the bedroom. Also the chairs in the room seemed a little rickety and maybe are just for decoration.

We loved the location and could walk to the sights and the central train station easily. We did take a taxi from the airport to get there and it was scary and cost 35 Euros. That's more than the27 Euro fixed rate because we came from the rental car location rather than the airport taxi stand. Or so he said. Oh well, you can't expect a good deal all the time.

On check in they offered a 10% discount if we paid cash. So we went to the ATM and got the cash. They also asked for payment the night before we left which I think is because they are a B&B and we left early. I got a receipt just in case.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mr. P.,
Thanks! And thanks for making the reservation directly with the Hotel, that why you had the welcome drink and late check-out and the discount for cash payment.
Lift is small but secure and it’s the biggest one that we could have for a XV century building.
Hope that next time will improve our Hotel to get the 5 points review.
See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was only a few yards from the famous Ponte Vecchio bridge and a few minutes stroll to all the sights of Florence. We stayed in a Suite which I would recommend as the suites are ultra-modern with all the furnishings and facilities of a 5 star hotel in this ancient building. The normal bedrooms are in more modest style but looked clean and very presentable. The reception is on the 2nd floor, 97 steps to climb, so best use the small 2 people lift. Staff very friendly and all had very good English. We would stay here again

Room Tip: chose one of the suites, a little dearer but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mr. A.,
Thank you! Your satisfaction is the most important thing for us. Hope to welcome you back soon I send you our Best regards
From all the staff a Big “Ciao!!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location and absolutely great service. Wonderful matresses which are hard to find in Toscana! Fare value.
Nevermind the 94 stairs and the tiny elevator to reach the hotel as the location and service make up for it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mrs. T.,
Thanks for your kind words. If you want we can give you the contacts for the mattress, they ship it also abroad…
Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. It could not have been more convenient. Also, the staff is fantastic. Everyone was so helpful, especially Dino! For the cost, it is a great value. The only thing to know, there are a lot of stairs, hence the name "La Scaletta". I didn't mind, but if someone has difficulty with stairs it would be a problem. There is a small elevator that will hold 2 people.
The roof top terrace is amazing. We had dinner there on our last night and the service and food held up to the view!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhvogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs. D.,
Thank you so much! It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We wait you for the next visit a big “Ciao e Arrivederci!” from all the staff and from Dino too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,225 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,204 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,825 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#47 of 410 in Florence
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $78 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing