We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #52 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great Place to Stay in Florence”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great experience in Hotel Scaletta. Sara at the front desk was especially helpful - but everyone was cheerful and accommodating. The breakfast is tasty and reasonable and the view from the terrace is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay!
We hope that you'll be back soon and maybe during the Spring time so you can enjoy the view and a glass of wine from our terraces!
All the best to you and your families!
A big:" Ciao e Grazie!" from Sara and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    448
    83
    32
    21
See reviews for
291
728
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel has plenty of character and is well situated. It is just over the Ponte Vecchio on the road to the Pitti Palace. Yes, it is up 70 or so stairs however there is a small efficient lift that takes 2 people max. Once up stairs it was like an oasis of calm, with corridors heading up and down and round corners. We had 2 rooms at the back overlooking the Boboli Gardens, and it was very peaceful. Staying in January we didn’t use the upstairs terrace other than for a quick look – and can understand why it’s a highlight for so many. The views are breathtaking. The front desk staff were the most responsive and helpful of any we have come across (thanks Sara and the rest). The breakfast was average, however it cost more to have only a coffee and pastry in the local cafe. All in all we would love to come again. We were also very fortunate to be In Florence in early January when there weren't many "tourists" (for example we walked straight into the Uffizi and the following day into the Accademia without any queues whatsoever). There was a major fashion show on at the same time so hotels may have been busy but not with tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austraveller1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Family Woodhouse,
Your right! Our Hotel is exactly how you described it, simple, full of character and not the standard Hotel.
We are so happy that you enjoyed rooms, terraces and staff.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
“Arrivederci” from Sara, Silvia, Monika and all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were in february 2013 in the lovely hotel La Scaletta, service and room were immaculate and
well heated because unfortunately is was very cold in Florence during our stay.
So when your visiting Florence book La Scaletta because it s really worth it !!!
The view from the top terrace is fantastic and we saw that there is a little cocktailbar as well
which of course is only opened in summer.

Rolf de Winter & Andrea Becker
From Essen ; Germay

Room Tip: Room 28 is were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Mr.&Mrs .Becker,
we are so happy! Thank you so much for your kind words.
We really hope to welcome you again when bar and restaurant will be open on the terraces so you’ll enjoy the amazing view and a drink on it.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a couple of day in Florence mid February 2013 and stayed @ La Scaletta. We couldn't be nothing less than SATISFIED. Being just a few steps from Ponte vecchio we were right in the heart of the city... prices are honest and rooms big and well furnished. Breakfast well served and Hotel staff does his job properly. If you are travelling by car is really easy to walk the distance (15 minutes) from piazza Michelangelo free parking. Couldn't ask for more.

PS we did not experience the terrace... it was too cold. But I can bet this is another A+ detail during summer and mid seasons

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99apes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thanks so much for all your kind words! We hope to welcome you again during the summer period to enjoy all together a glass of house wine!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eger, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is 1 min walk from Ponte Vecchio. It is in a beautiful area. Unfortunately parking is impossible but we could find a garage not far from there.
Breakfast is good but not very diverse. Rooms are local style. Bathroom was in our room very-very small so it was a little bit comfprtable. From the restauratnt you can go to the roof top terrace where you can see a beautiful city panorama. It is very close to the historic city center.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malnaimado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sirs

Yes, it’s true some rooms have small bathroom but we are happy to inform you that we are restoring the Hotel and building bigger bathrooms. We hope to welcome you back so we’ll show you the difference.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice hotel ! Nice service ! Simpatetic staff ! Quiet and relax place to stay just some steps from Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti ... I recommend ! Nice view from the balcony on the Top ! Good value . Backing soon ;) !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoltanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much!

We hope to welcome you back soon as you write, it’s always a pleasure!!!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Don't look for a "standard" hotel or just a nice location. La Scaletta (we are talking only about the hotel side) is a nice place with excellent quality/price rooms but overall it has a very friendly personnel and a real stunning view of the city from a roof terrace and, remember, you are absolutely in the center of the city! strongly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquilone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Well, thanks!
Your words say exactly how and who we are, a simple but characteristic Hotel, not a “standard” one. A unique experience in a XV century Palace.
All our staff send you a warm “Ciao e Grazie Mille!.
We hope to welcome you again soon in the future and I kindly ask you to send us your e-mail address to send you a special offer for your next stay.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#44 of 412 in Florence
2,088 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
#45 of 412 in Florence
1,071 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing