We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$258
$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$331
$303
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$418
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$357
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$329
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$189
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
$340
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$657
$634
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveler rating
868
480
87
35
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
480
87
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboboli gardenspitti palacerooftop terraceponte vecchiogreat locationsmall elevatorthird flooryour luggagefamily roomexploring florencecharming hoteljunior suitegelatoroom was largemajor sitesloved this hotelold building
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

La Scaletta, as our unfailingly helpful staff told us as we stumbled down a narrow staircase after stumbling up the 97 from the street (yep I counted them) means "stairs". At least truth in advertising. However on the bright side it means views and especially from the roof top restaurant/bar. Although no service in winter we could buy a bottle of chianti and sit outside and enjoy the ambience- of which there is loads. It overlooks the Boboli Gardens and gives an all round view of Florence. The rooms are quirky and comfortable although the shower is small and breezy. Great location 100m from Ponte vecchio and the location is away from the centre tourist hub. Lots of great cafes nearby and Leather shops makes it an escape. Easy access to all the tourist spots and an easy taxi ride from eye stazione. Good prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks as always ...
We waiting for you again, the next year, to discover our new rooms that we are creating .....
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked a suite at La Scaletta and were not let down. The room was massive and the bathroom was huge, with a large bath/spa and a huge shower. We checked in, went to room, looked out into the street, went straight back to reception and changed our stay from 4 nights to 7.

Room Tip: The suites are on the lower floors
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoot E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thanks Scott for your kind review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your room! You've been a very kind guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
All the best to you and your Family and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

hotel staff were very helpful. the roof top restaurant had real Tuscon cooking and a million $ view.
We would eat there even if not staying at hotel. We will do both on our next visit!! The staff help with restaurant reservations and bus routes. the house wine was great with dinner and after.

Room Tip: get a room face the gardens
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you! It's a pleasure to hear that you liked our Restaurant not only for the view but in particular for food and service. The wine is Vecchia Cantina di Montepulciano" in case you'll find a bottle where you live, otherwise we wait you to drink it again.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

hotel la scaletta was recommended by friends, with the caution it was small,high up off the street, but an excellent value...we were more than satisfied with the hotel...the rooms had sufficent space and newly renovated baths...the staff was friendly and accomodating...and we thoroughly enjoyed a glass of wine at the roof top bar with a grand view of florence...located about a block from the ponte vecchio the location made up for the minor inconvenience of a small elevator to the hotel...an excellent value...we had a fun stay....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Word of mouth works
The best advertisement for us
Thanks to your friends and you
Always fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a hard time finding an affordable place in the heart of Florence for 6 nights in September - lots of very expensive hotels or cheap ones that look like dumps, but this place was great!
When you get there, be sure to NOT drag your suit cases up the huge flight of stairs you first come across. This is not the hotel. The hotel is accessed through the next doorway. You go up 3-4 steps and onto a tiny elevator that holds two people, or one person and one suitcase. Alternatively, you can climb 97 steps. Not so bad on the way down.

Our room was right off the lobby area and didn't require any other steps to get to, which was nice. It was a quad room -a king and two twins. Italian tile floor, bright cheery yellow walls, and antique furniture. Very large bathroom with a window, toilet, bidet, tiny shower, and sink.

There was air conditioning you could adjust yourself which was very nice. We didn't turn on the TV. The room was clean, but if you walked across the tile floor in socks for awhile, they did get dirty. Not too big of a deal but if you need 100% cleanliness, just FYI.

The only real complaint I had may not apply to many people. I have extremely, annoyingly aute hearing, especially for high-pitched noises. There is an electronic key-card scanner in every room and out in the hallway which is for the maids. These make a steady, very high-pitched noise. Apparently no one else could hear them, but if you have super senses like I do, just be aware. I found that if I slept in the bed farthest from the door and put on my white noise machine, I couldn't hear it at night.

We did the breakfast twice. It was ok. Not that good. The coffee maker didn't work and another guest had to show us how to use the espresso maker. We ended up gettting a pastry, coffee or hot chocolate from one of the many nearby cafes, and grabbing a yogurt at a nearby grocery store for some extra protein.

The location is wonderful. Couldn't get any better. Steps from Palazzo Pitti and Ponte Vecchio. Within walking distance to everything, from the train station to San Marco to the Brancacci Chapel. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area.

The people were very friendly and helpful and made us our Brancacci chapel reservation and recommended restaurants.

This may be able to go without saying, but this place is not Wheelchair accessible! Even with the elevator, there will still be stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trippedytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

All in all it is a positive comment though some things are not to your liking
The old terracotta floors of the building (the floor will have perhaps 100 years) is cleaned and then treated with wax so maybe with white socks becomes dirty on a bit.
Of steps it is true that there are a lot of, are a feature Hotel Facts that ... not surprisingly .. is called "La Scaletta" (the Ladder)
Sorry for the coffee machine was not working that day, for the rest also we have good yogurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews