We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
915
498
92
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
498
92
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boboli gardens pitti palace rooftop terrace ponte vecchio great location small elevator third floor the hotel staff your luggage family room exploring florence wonderful hotel gelato reception area junior suite hotel is situated room was large
Filter
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stumbled on this place whilst out tramping the sites of Florence.It was only 20 Euros per night more expensive (for two people) than the bit of a dump 1 star we were staying in,up eighty odd stairs,no lift and with one toilet to share with a few bedrooms!!
The breakfast included in the price at La Scaletta alone was worth the extra cost.
The view from the top of the terrace was just jaw dropping,360 degree of Florence viewed from up high.
We loaded our plates at breakfast and took the food and coffee up there to have the most fantastic breakfast room in Florence. It's certainly VERY false economy to scrimp on prices of hotels in Florence.Paying for a cheapy room with no breakfast then paying crazy prices in cafes for coffee,orange juice,croissants etc,to start the day is just madness at the prices La Scaleta charge inclusive of breakfast.
The rooms are lovely too,though four oldish U.S. citizens were complaining loudly at breakfast that the furniture and fittings in their room was "very old". No kidding,in Florence?

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms available across the road in a posh appartment block,you use all the Hotels facilities,breakfast there etc. and it's quite a bit cheaper,with same standards,no brainer really.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yammidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you so much because with your kind words you reply to the guest before you showing the truth to the other people.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Not too good location. Useless Terrance. Terrible breakfast and you have to pay 7 euro per person!! Stay away. Many other hotels offer FREE breakfast. The coffee machine in the cafeteria is a joke!it fills only 1/3 of a little coffee cup. And my friend I am telling you I wasn't drinking espresso. Find some other hotel in the north area above the river. Many closed to Santa di Maria palace. Oh yes. They take the key away when u go out during the day. Weird weird people!stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aki1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Luckily a lot of other guests and also the your next say the opposite so all the other people know that what you're saying is not the truth. We are sorry that your stay has not been so good as you thought and as we wish that it was, but you can't say that the Hotel is not in a great position: we are in the heart of Florence in an area where you can still find some original artisan shops, restaurants not so turistic and Florentine people that work and leave here.
The view from our terraces is one of the best view of all Florence and most of our guests choose our Hotel for that.
I'm sure that there are breakfast better than our but for 7 euros per person you have a complete buffet with scrambled eggs, wurstel, bacon, yogurt, cereals, cakes, ham, cheese, salame, marmelades, honey, bread, a FRESH fruit salade, hot chocolate, the, american coffee, cappucino and espresso, juices and it's good value for the money that we ask.
Most of the hotels serious demand the keys when you go out for security reasons and we also do so; sorry about that ..
I hope that this information clarify you why we work in this way
Finally, we want to clarify that the credit card is only a guarantee of the reservation we don't charge it in advance also because we need the authorization by the guest, we charge the credit card only in case of no show, late cancellation or if the guest reservation is a not refundable prepaid double room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel recommended by friends who had stayed a month previous.
It does have a very small elevator to get to the main desk and you may have to haul your luggage through some steps to get to your room. Italy makes few consessions to handicapped people in hotels or general sight seeing, so be prepared if you have trouble walking.
The room was of adequate size, with the typical small bathroom. The shower was so small, I could barely fit and I am not a large man.
Some tiles on the floor were loose in our room #22, which pinched my foot a couple of times.
Those are where the complaints end. They have a wonderful breakfast and their restaurant is very good and not unreasonable for Florence.
The location, 1 block from the Ponte Vecchio is great. A complete grocery store (Sapori Dintorini Conrad) is just around the corner and has everything you need from wine to meats, cheeses, fresh bread, vegetables and fruit. Go there even if you don't need anything to look around.
When they call a taxi, it us there in just minutes.
Now a word about the front desk. It was absolutely the best I have encountered anywhere. From suggestions of restaurants, to arranging tours and where the closest laundry is. I found this to be the case on all shifts, without exception. We actually left a tip for them upon departure. The same can be said for their wait staff. Though they are limited on help, and you might wait a bit, they are always at work and always smiling.
Don't miss a chance to rent a Segway, across from the Pitti Palace. Of the four of us travelling, the youngest was 63 and oldest 70. Two had never ridden one before and were old pros after 5 minutes. You get scant instructions, so I took the beginners to a small area whre there were few people and got them comfortable. We used them for two hours, going up the hill to Piazza Micheangelo and back down the far side. Be carfeful, as you will be with traffic part time, but it is a hoot.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Ciao!!! And see you next time!!!

Thank you for your kind words!

Sara, Silvia, Monica and all the staff of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for three days this summer. Really nice hotel. The room was large and comfortable. The furniture is pretty basic and old, but it gets the job done. The bathroom was also very large. Wi-Fi was terrific, best we used in a week in Italy. The staff was helpful, straightforward and calm. You do have to walk across the river to get to almost all the attractions, but nothing is very far away. Breakfast was nice and the terrace upstairs is fantastic; if it isn’t raining (which it was for two of the mornings we were there!) it’s a great place to take your breakfast and enjoy the view. It is in an old, rambling building and the one elevator is tiny so if stairs are a big problem this might not be the hotel for you. We felt very cared for and comfortable here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKMomNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you so much!
Customer satisfaction is the best gift that we can receive!
We hope to welcome you again in a sunny period..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at La Scaletta almost for one week and we love it! especially the roof top where you can seat and relax and enjoy the unique view of the city and of the Boboli Gardens.
The hotel is located in a really nice and characteristic area where you can still find some artisans shops and good trattorias.
Monica, Sarah and Sylvia was always prompt to answer our questions and they helped us a lot with museum and tours reservation, they make us feel like home.
We loved Florence and if we come back we will definitely choose La Scaletta again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review, it's always a pleasure to know that our guest had a great stay in our Hotel!
Look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews