We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
915
498
92
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
498
92
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boboli gardens pitti palace rooftop terrace ponte vecchio great location small elevator third floor the hotel staff your luggage family room exploring florence wonderful hotel gelato reception area junior suite hotel is situated room was large
Filter
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Florence was our first taste of Italy, and we could hardly believe our luck when we arrived at La Scaletta in this charming city. The location is just steps from the Ponte Vecchio and close to shops and restaurants. The hotel is situated in a beautiful old historic building, and our room was huge and felt authentically "Tuscan". The staff was very warm and helpful, and we particularly enjoyed chatting with Sara at the front desk. The rooftop patio and restaurant is by far the best part of the experience, though. We had two dinners up there and at least one drink every night. The views are incredible and the food was excellent. Christina at the bar was also wonderful and helped make the experience special. She also introduced us to Limoncella--a must in Italy! We're sending my parents in a few months, and would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thanks Melanie
waiting for your parents, thank you for the kind words which you described our hotel and us.
Greetings from the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at La Scaletta and were very happy - our room was comfortbale with an enormous bed - the bathroom was a tad small but we managed (after all one does not sleep in the bathroom!!) - the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were welcoming and knowledgeable. We found the location to be superb - right by the Ponte Vecchio; the Palazzo Pitti is right next door, St Mark's Anglican Church for Opera/Musical Performances is just down the road and we found 2 excellent restaurants within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. What more could you ask for. The Hotel has a splendid roof top terrace and it is a wonderful place to have sundowners and view the skyline of Florence. If I visited Florence again I would definitely stay at La Scaletta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thanks .... I'm happy .. also because the your put the previeus two shots review behind :) hihihihi ... We are happy to hear your kind words and it's a pleasure know that you had a great stay in our Hotel in particular because in the previous review there were not spent good words about our Hotel.
Customer satisfaction is our primary focus and we always work to make them feel as good as home also miles away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Been to florence several times and the location (right next to ponte vecchio) is fantastic, but that's where this ends. If it was cheaper than 150eur/night I would still avoid but perhaps not write a scathing review. However, for the cost this is a complete rip off. The pictures are misleading. The "suites" are ok, but they are detached from the hotel (Blue Room is good). The standard rooms are badly lit, bathrooms below average and in a hole. The solo lift is horrible if you have luggage and the hotel is completely inaccessible by car. They offer a private car service to pick your car up from a random location and then return it to you but offer no help as all the roads have access restrictions. The rooftop bar is decent at night but I doubt you'll be spending your evenings on top of a hotel rather than exploring the city especially when you're in the heart of it. The ONLY redeeming feature is the location, but I would definitely NOT go here again, ever.

Room Tip: only the "suites".. blue or purple rooms.. but they are MORE expensive.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Let's start by saying that "Lying will get you nowhere"
The Guests paid 114.00 € (not 150) for the room that they criticized (#30) and 169.00 € for the Blue Suite that they appreciated. In a direct comparison the Suite wins on all fronts because it's a new room and for this reason it's sold with a promotional price.
The Guests that slept in room #30 broke the shower box with their shoulder (maybe that's the reason that will let them think that bathroom was too small) and the morning of the check-out they left the room without advise the reception desk about it. The waiter noticed that immediately and advised the receptionist that spoke with the manager. He decided to don't charge them for it.
That's what happened!
The rest is all true: small lift not so comfortable with bags but the biggest solution for a 15th Century building; Hotel located close to Ponte Vecchio (less than 100 mt), not so easy to reach by car but that's the price one has to pay for choose an Hotel in the heart of Florence; Panoramic terrace, one the most beautiful of all Florence and one of the reason why people choose our Hotel, relax, charming atmosphere and Florence all around you the perfect way to relax yourself after a sightseeing day .... but there are also people that prefer to be out in the street (gustibus non disputandum est).
Hotel La Scaletta is not an Hotel for "everybody"...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Didn't mean to stay at this hotel but I'm glad I did! Excellent location literally less than 200 meters away from the Ponte Vecchio, close walk to duomo and other center spots. I stayed in a single double room and it was pretty big. Beautiful sky light in the bathroom bigger than most hotels I stayed at. Staff was helpful and not a problem with anything. Only problem is if you stay downstairs your wifi connection isn't great I had to go upstairs to receive service. AMAZING view from the roof restaurant/bar you could see all of florence, better book reservations early if you want a spot! Over all very pleased with stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Another good tribute to our hotel and our staff
...not so much for the wi-fi that we will improve thanks to the suggestions and complaints from customers...

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My reservation was made for La Scaletta but we were put in The Uffizi Guesthouse which is part of the hotel and easily accessed without needing to use the very small elevator or climb many stairs. Our room was spacious and comfortable with an incredibly comfortable mattress and huge bathroom. The Uffizi rooms appear to have been recently renovated and we had an issue of water draining through the ceiling from the air conditioner. The staff of La Scaletta was fabulous...they came immediately and did not rest until the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. And, by the way, the a/c was fantastic---and especially necessary since, during our stay, Florence sweltered under an oppressive heat wave.

We enjoyed a couple of delicious meals up on the amazing roof deck and were treated like family by the warm and friendly staff.The location of La Scaletta is perfect...steps from both the Pitti Palazzo (a must see) and The Ponte Vecchio which conveniently leads to the many wonders of the beautiful city. We can't wait to return and hope there will room for us at La Scaletta when we do. Thanks to the staff for a great visit.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid stairs. ask for the Uffizi Guesthouse.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestAssesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

I am very sorry for the inconvenience of air conditioning overflowed
But we are glad that you enjoyed our new rooms of the Uffizi Guesthouse. We always work to grow and improve our hotel to have satisfation and customers happy with how they spent their money (in the world, in Italy, in Florence..)
Today, with this global crisis is really needed to "inject confidence" and we need never stop. We live only once ... (on earth)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews