We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
915
498
92
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
498
92
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boboli gardens pitti palace rooftop terrace ponte vecchio great location small elevator third floor the hotel staff your luggage family room exploring florence wonderful hotel gelato reception area junior suite hotel is situated room was large
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

La Scaletta isnt a hotel per se but a lodge but its USP is the location. The rooms & bathrooms are functional and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Location - Next to Academia
Walking distance from all the sites of Florence
F&B - There is one restaurant and that seems to be enough as one is always out of the hotel
Rooftop - The top of the terrace gives you a panoramic view of Florence and has almost reached a cult status on its own.
Wifi - Free but does not work in rooms for some strange reason
Safety isnt a concern here as the hotel is made in a way that rooms are not accessable by non-residents
Word of advise - if booking a triple occupancy room, please avoid the room which has one small bathroom and faces the road. It is a cupboard for a bathroom and very uncomfortable. I had the misfortune of staying there over sold out dates and i could not do much except swallow it down like a jagged pill and enjoy the vacation.
Go for the hotel and have a good time.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the lobby level
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delhigirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcofa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thanks for all your compliments, but also for the advice which we will definitely consider
In fact we are already planning to renovate some rooms and bathrooms to make them more comfortable ..
We expect that the next time you will find even more satisfaction in our hotel
My Best Regards
Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day stay at La Scarletta. This is one of the most amazing hotels I have stayed in when on a city trip - a charm within the hub of the city - yet so quiet and tranquil on the top of the terrace. Plus really exceptional value for money.

The main event is really the terrace and the top terrace which gives the most amazing panoramic of the city. Christina is the most attentive bar manager and extremely helpful for - well just about anything - her cocktails are great and if you are looking for a small glass of house red - you will exceptionally surprised about, what looks to be, a half bottle of Montepulciano in one glass - as standard!!! Can I also say the food served in the evening is traditional Italian - and truly excellently cooked - to get you straight into the Italian way of eating - this is perfect.

There were 5 in our party 1 double and 1 triple - however the rooms are so spacious with tall ceilings and modern bathrooms - the triple was not cramped at all. Our room looked out to the road and with secondary glazing there is no noise at all. Although we didn't need it there is air conditioning too. A lovely touch is free water and coke in the minibar.

Also the beds are amazingly comfortable - firm memory foam and huge!!!

I would recommend this hotel for the situation, in terms of its location (it is a little tricky to find!) to all things stationery related, leather (handbags, purses and shoes) and food... and of course the odd super charged coffee! You can't be better placed.

10/10 in my view - would definitely go there again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcofa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Actually many, many thanks for all the good things we did!
we just hope not to create too many expectations for our future customers who will read this review ... thanks for everything you and greetings from Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Hotel La Scaletta was perfect for our stay in Florence. The hotel is in a great neighborhood near the Pitti Palace. It was wonderful to stay in a calm, quiet area of Florence and still be so excessible to everything. Nice restaurants, shops, and the walk to the center of town takes literally minutes. Our room was very well appointed and extremely clean. The staff was overly accomadating, warm and friendly. The view from the roof top deck/restaurant is outstanding! We will absolutely stay here again when in Florence!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcofa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Scaletta, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you for being our guests having chosen our hotel
Best wishes from all over the reception staff: Silvia, Sara, Monica and Edoard and Bars: Cristina ..
See you soon bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It's a little difficult to find, but it's a great place to stay. Sara our receptionist and first contact wiht the hotel was a great help. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from the rooftopis amazing. I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone. It's close to the center of town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The staff at hotel La Scaletta were amazing, friendly, personable and went out of there way to please us and make our stay in florence extra special. We felt like we were guests at a wonderful tuscany villa. The rooms were clean, large, warm and inviting. The beds were comfortable and although the hotel was filled we did not hear any noises from other rooms. The hotel is located just steps away from the ponte vecchio , we felt it was the perfect location for all our site seeing and shopping needs. Shouts out to Christinia the rest of the staff for their knowledge and guidance for day trips and sites around florence. We relied on trip advisor to plan our trip and so happy that we were able to confirm what others felt was a hidden gem! Thanks again, Donna and Barry M.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews