We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a great rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
Ranked #56 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in May. The hotel is centrally located just a block from the Ponte Vecchio and a ten minute walk to Palazzo Vecchio. It is a three star property which is clearly stated (and priced) on the hotels website. I choose to book through their site as the rate was slightly lower than what could be found online at the time. Our room was large with a high ceiling and oversized windows that looked over an interior courtyard which made for a quiet night’s sleep.

Our rooms were cleaned and tidied each day and the hotel overall was clean and decorated with ceramic tile floors and rustic furniture. The staff were friendly and accommodating and gave us a wonderful restaurant recommendation. We ended each night up on the rooftop where we were served by two lovely ladies who poured a very generous glass of wine. From the roof you can see all of Florence, the Pitti Palace is down the block and the Boboli Gardens directly behind the hotel.

My mother who is in her sixties and in good health had no problems getting around the property but I would not recommend this hotel if you have mobility issues. The steps are unavoidable, there is an elevator but you will have to climb a flight of stairs to get to it. Inside the hotel there are steps to the rooms and to the rooftop as well.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and ask for a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrulil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

If you're looking for a true boutique Italian hotel as advertised by La Scaletta then boutique must mean the owner is making a killing due to the location. My friend and I made the fateful mistake of staying at La Scaletta recently and to say the least my Italian vacation nosedived. The tiny room was disgusting; clearly no attention or updating has been made to this room since the hotel opened in 1873. Scuffed, paper thin walls, bloodcurdling screams to interrupt your already fitful sleep, only sheets and flimsy bedcover provided; take your chances with the mothballed dirty blankets in the armoire, furniture and beds undoubtedly procured from a 1960’s flea market. So few outlets you’ll have to sacrifice lighting if you need to recharge your phone or computer, advertised view of gardens turned out to be that of dirty rooftops, don’t plan on watching any TV (only 1 English speaking channel) and you’ll want to spend the least amount of time possible in the tiny dirty room. Access is extremely poor - you must cart your own luggage from the plaza; clearly Italy has no laws governing anyone with disabilities – (if you have a car; also note you are charged 25 Euros per day to park), typical snotty Italian customer service, Dirty, dirty, dirty. The location close to the Uffizi isn't worth how crappy you feel after getting out of this craphole. Room rate of approx $240 US Dollars is not worth it (including parking). Stay somewhere else unless you want to line the pockets of the owner who is clearly ripping people off and will continue to do so.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank MiaMia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We found the hotel location good and our room was huge! However the staff were unfriendly and so although we really wanted to use the terrace and the restaurant, we were put off with the unfriendliness of the staff so only had 1 drink there during our 2 night stay. Instead we went to the Skybar in another hotel (Inter Continental Hotel). When checking out the staff were friendly! We didn't have breakfast there so cannot comment on this. Wouldn't stay there again. Also, far too many steps in the hotel - nightmare with suitcases!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

this hotel is very charming and basic. yes, there are some stairs to get over, and the lift is extremely tight. but i think it is well located as it is slightly away from the major tourist area, without being too far from them and is also walking distance to the railway station (10mins?). it's strongest point however, is the rooftop terrace (top section) on a balmy evening with a cheese plate, aperitif, and the perfect sunset. boboli gardens on one side, florence skyline on the other. one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I were vacationing in Italy for our anniversary and were meeting our four teenage children in Florence for five days. The staff at La Scaletta was extremely accommodating when making our reservations via e-mail and continued to be very helpful in booking tickets to the Academia (booked this prior to our arrival), Tuscany wine tour, and various restaurant around Florence. We had a family room, which was large and relatively comfortable. Mattresses were good, but pillows were a bit of a challenge to sleep on (hard). The family room needs a little TLC, but worked well for usl. The only downside was there was no comfortable common area to relax and chat with each other. The little lobby outside our room was in need of updated and comfortable furniture and lighting (uncomfortable). The breakfast (not included) was adequate for 7 euros...though better food right outside, three storefronts up. Our children left to head to Cinque Terre the last night and we moved to a double room.that was In much better shape...pillows still hard. We would definitely stay here again. It is a charming hotel (not 5 star) in a great location that can not be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSSSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We were unhappy with another hotel in Florence but had paid for 2 nights. After that, we wanted to continue to stay in Florence for a few more days and found this gem of a pensione! We kept asking to stay an extra night and we stayed 4! The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean, the staff was wonderful, and the rooftop is the most amazing place in the WORLD!!! The food at the restaurant was also excellent. We definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Arriving late in the day from Venice we were rather tired. What a wonderful surprise to find the rooftop bar and restaurant - our first night in Florence and we didn't have to go far for a relaxing evening. The food was truly excellent - we were thrilled that the restaurant only caters to hotel guests so we never had a problem getting a table on the terrace. The bar/restaurant/hotel service was excellent and the staff very efficient. We thought it was going to be noisy as it is on a main thoroughfare but once the windows are closed it is quiet. It was clean, room was on the small side but no more than any other hotel we stayed at.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms in different locations including one on the lower level. The lower level room was sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,176 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
818 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
402 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $114 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing